ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2012, 10:24 AM   #1756
knobbyjoe
knobbyjoe
 
knobbyjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: N by NW of The Biggest Little City
Oddometer: 478
Zuber's suggestion is good

Zuber is right on!

A wiki for TuneECU is vital for most of us. I for one have enough mechanical skills to follow instructions and get most jobs done. I also have enough experience to believe tuning using TuneECU is best left to someone that is a professional. That is for getting the tune done correctly and avoiding a time consuming trial and error exercise.

+1 for Zubers suggestion for a TuneECU "how to" and a "data base of professionals" using TuneECU (with dyno).
Thanks KJ
__________________
KTM 400 XCRW with Thumper Racing 450 kit and 450 cam 2007
KTM 450 XCRW with Christini AWD and Plated 2008 now has 520 Thumper Racing kit
KTM 990 Adventure 2008
knobbyjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 04:28 AM   #1757
MotorOlly
Sand basher
 
MotorOlly's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Oddometer: 32
"
I've also downloaded a copy of MotorOlly's map...
From his initial descriptions when he first posted up about it, he said he just trimmed the stock F tables by 10% from (i think it was) 2000k to 6000k. Now looking at the downloaded version, it looks like there has been some other changes as well. MotorOlly, perhaps you could elaborate? It looks like you've also changed the idle. Why? Your map notes state this, but I'm having a little trouble deciphering what it means. Forgive my ignorance, but if you could elaborate on exactally what shifted that would be great! "
Sorry for the cryptic talk!
It's like the coordinates of the map to define the areas, as another poster says, hope that makes sense. the idle was lowered so the bike just felt better, maybe a new tight engine needs the higher idle but not mine. I would always turn oof secondary air and o2s if remapping, secondary air might give false readings and closed loop with o2s will counteract your good work. Closed loop means its monitoring the o2s and trying to set fueling for a particular target lambda, usually on during steady state. If u can't change the target then best turn it off. I suspect KTM set it pretty rich! Typed on a smart phone on tour in France, please excuse any typos :)
Ps don't forget to reset the adaptions after download and if you want response even smoother change 2ndary butterflies as discussed about a month ago, good change I reckon! Yesterday I got 450 miles on a 44 litres tank :)
MotorOlly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 01:33 PM   #1758
croceye
n00b
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Sweden
Oddometer: 5
Is there a way to log data while running the engine?
croceye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 01:38 PM   #1759
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,148
Quote:
Originally Posted by croceye View Post
Is there a way to log data while running the engine?
With a wide band logger you can capture a bunch of info.
Like this one http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/products/lm1.php

I have one that I'm going to part with.
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 02:18 PM   #1760
croceye
n00b
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Sweden
Oddometer: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikyto View Post
With a wide band logger you can capture a bunch of info.
Like this one http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/products/lm1.php

I have one that I'm going to part with.

Thanks!

I got a Innovate LC-1 already and was hoping for a cheaper way though. :) If anyone know one please share it!
croceye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 03:40 PM   #1761
Gix
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: FL
Oddometer: 5
Base tune for wings 2 into 1 ?

First of all, thanks for an excellent thread and to all the contributors here. Here is a lot of good information but it is a bit overwhelming.

Is there somebody that has a good base tune for an 08 with wings 2 into 1 installed? Tried the acra which was ok-ish but I'm expecting a lot more power out of a 1 liter engine and the bike actually stalled a couple of times when upshifting. I ordered a rekluse but I don't dare to install that with a stalling engine. I tried Shootis (thanks Shootis!) modifed tune and it is pulling great on higher rpm's but has a flat spot just below 3500rpm and it is popping a lot on deccel. What I'm looking for is a good (non-stalling) safe, base tune that I can work from.
Gix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 05:32 AM   #1762
mattc
Gnarly Adventurer
 
mattc's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: New Waverly, TX
Oddometer: 416
The stalling and low rpm junk can be fixed by lowering the f-l switch points for the most part.

I tried turning my 02's off, and man, that made a huge difference too!
__________________
2000 XR650R
2001 CR250R
mattc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 06:06 PM   #1763
Gustavo.Ramos
Studly Adventurer
 
Gustavo.Ramos's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Accross the pond
Oddometer: 778
My '07 990 has been acting strange lately. First it would idle too low and stall when pressing the clutch. Now idles at 4-5k rpms and then drops to 2k, and ocasionally goes back to 4-5k...

The Tune Ecu cable is on its way but for now i have a few concerns, mostly about TPS

Voltage should be set up warm 0,6v idle and 3,6v full throtle.

Today i set the idle to 0,6v, but when twist the throttle full it will show 3,98v which seems a bit high.

Also noticed that if the multimeter is left measuring the tps voltage and start back the engine, it's values drop to 0,49-0,50v... does not seem right..

Nevetheless i just ordered a new battery just in case... 12,7v ignition off, 13,5v engine on.
__________________
Growing old is mandatory... growing up is optional!

Raid de L'Amitié 2011 RR (link)
690R
Gustavo.Ramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 09:20 PM   #1764
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,846
The 0.6v at warm idle is the most important value.

Low voltage during start up doesn't matter, unless the battery drops below 8v, then you'll see the ECU turn off and the speedo reset.

Full throttle doesn't matter either, the ECU will learn what your bike's throttle ranges are.

Stalling and fast idle can be due to wrong throttle cable clearances. Make sure the return cable is always loose.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 10:07 AM   #1765
Gustavo.Ramos
Studly Adventurer
 
Gustavo.Ramos's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Accross the pond
Oddometer: 778
After 118 pages of reading, some very usefull information gathered... but i'm tired!

Replaced the battery, adjusted the TPS, it shows 0,63v warm. High idel, low idle, no idle problems, gone.

TuneECU cable arrived!

Run diagnostics, erased 2 DTC's, one for the airbox sensor, and another for TPS low voltage.

Test tab:

almost everything is greyed out. Except for Tachometer, Fuel Pump, Idle Speed Control and another ones.

Everything else (all sensors and a few tests and adjustment not mentioned above) is greyed, even double clicking won't do anything, like if it is not available. - Maybe later i can post a screenshot

Even if starting the engine, the tuneecu tach in Tests tab does not move. If switching to Diagnostics tab, its working.

Diagnostics tab:

TPS range: throttle closed 0%, full open 100%, shouldn't it be 96%?



Checked cables and both have sufficient play.

There is comunication between bike and laptop, already read the map information, and already loaded stock 06 map. Total crap!

Any hints?
__________________
Growing old is mandatory... growing up is optional!

Raid de L'Amitié 2011 RR (link)
690R
Gustavo.Ramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 03:31 PM   #1766
Tom-Hamburg
Adventurer
 
Tom-Hamburg's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Hamburg
Oddometer: 84
Update September-17-2012, TuneECU 2.3.5 now Released

Update September-17-2012, TuneECU 2.3.5 now Released

Note:

* Adding "Reset Adaption" command for KTM 990/1190, F7 graphic mode enabled in L, A/F tables.

BR, Tom
__________________
TuneECU
-----------------
Triumph Speed Triple 1050
Triumph Rocket Roadster
Tom-Hamburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 04:05 PM   #1767
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom-Hamburg View Post
Update September-17-2012, TuneECU 2.3.5 now Released

Note:

* Adding "Reset Adaption" command for KTM 990/1190, F7 graphic mode enabled in L, A/F tables.

BR, Tom
Awesome!
Thank you guys
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 11:39 PM   #1768
jconly
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jconly's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: NYC
Oddometer: 390
Just downloaded the latest version tonight.
Will try to connect to the bike within the week to make some changes.

Has anyone had a chance to use the new Reset Adaptation implementation ?
Will this eliminate the 15min idle procedure?
jconly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 01:54 PM   #1769
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,846
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconly View Post
Just downloaded the latest version tonight.
Will try to connect to the bike within the week to make some changes.

Has anyone had a chance to use the new Reset Adaptation implementation ?
Will this eliminate the 15min idle procedure?
NO, it will CREATE the need for the 15min idle procedure. Previous versions of software can only create the Reset Adapt by reloading a map. Now we can do a Reset Adapt after changing valve clearances, changing plugs, changing TPS settings without reloading a map.

Thanks Tom! This is one update I've been looking for.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 03:43 PM   #1770
Gustavo.Ramos
Studly Adventurer
 
Gustavo.Ramos's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Accross the pond
Oddometer: 778
Just loaded a US specs bike map into a EU bike. After loading got DTC PO444 which is related to the cannister smog device. Since EU bikes do not have this, how can i work around this DTC? Already erased the DTC but it got back the FI light. Read somethng about disabling the SAI system, anyone else experienced this?

My tuneecu is still not working fully..
__________________
Growing old is mandatory... growing up is optional!

Raid de L'Amitié 2011 RR (link)
690R
Gustavo.Ramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014