ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2010, 09:24 AM   #46
nevermind
sLOW Rider
 
nevermind's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Lost then Found
Oddometer: 2,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gluaisrothaí
This forum should encourage debate rather than outright assertions of "I'm right, you're wrong

agreed...
nevermind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 09:58 AM   #47
PowerCell
Manufacture
 
PowerCell's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Southern Kalifornia
Oddometer: 2,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gluaisrothaí
This forum should encourage debate rather than outright assertions of "I'm right, you're wrong, it's my ball and I'm going home" ...

I'm not interested in debate. I'm prefectly happy to be wrong on all things. I'm satisfied to build cables and quietly watch from a distance.

It's your ball, play nice...


.
__________________
~ Ken


www.powercellperformance.com
PowerCell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 10:06 AM   #48
PowerCell
Manufacture
 
PowerCell's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Southern Kalifornia
Oddometer: 2,270
To anyone interested in one of my programing cables for the TuneECU software, the first and second round of production have sold out, and I'm current putting together a third round. If you want one for yourself, don't hesitate to send me a PM with your full shipping information, and I will send you payment details. Cost is $34.75 delivered here in the US, or $42.78 for international shipping. I'll try and respond to your inquiries as quickly as possible, but remember that this is a not for profit offer so give me a little bit to follow up.


__________________
~ Ken


www.powercellperformance.com
PowerCell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 04:47 PM   #49
PowerCell
Manufacture
 
PowerCell's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Southern Kalifornia
Oddometer: 2,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerCell
To anyone interested in one of my programing cables for the TuneECU software, the first and second round of production have sold out, and I'm current putting together a third round...

Wow! Third round is now sold out, so I'll just keep building more. It's great to see so many getting involved in this. I can only immagine the knowledge base for FI solutions on the 990 will grow exponentially. And now everyone can participate... most excellent!


.
__________________
~ Ken


www.powercellperformance.com
PowerCell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 07:56 PM   #50
twodollardoug
the calimesa kid
 
twodollardoug's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: southern california (IE)
Oddometer: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerCell
Wow! Third round is now sold out, so I'll just keep building more. It's great to see so many getting involved in this. I can only immagine the knowledge base for FI solutions on the 990 will grow exponentially. And now everyone can participate... most excellent!


.
I totally agree! hopefully people will share there experiences. good and bad, with the changes they make.
__________________
"I don't give it a name, but I always speak with it. I don't know if other riders do the same. This is not only a piece of metal - there is a soul" -Valentino Rossi
twodollardoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 08:02 PM   #51
UngaWunga
Mosquito bait
 
UngaWunga's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: NH
Oddometer: 7,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerCell
Wow! Third round is now sold out, so I'll just keep building more. It's great to see so many getting involved in this. I can only immagine the knowledge base for FI solutions on the 990 will grow exponentially. And now everyone can participate... most excellent!


.
Cool. Has anyone been able to resolve the touchy throttle?
__________________
"There isn't any secret," he said. "It's all very obvious."
UngaWunga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 08:15 PM   #52
tahoeacr
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by UngaWunga
Cool. Has anyone been able to resolve the touchy throttle?
Not a problem . I don't know squat about TuneEcu but if it works as well as Tuneboy there are two different ways to "Get er Done" depending on your tuning abilities. At least it has a better name .
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 08:16 PM   #53
Gluaisrothaí
Feckin' gobshite
 
Gluaisrothaí's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Alameda, CA
Oddometer: 547
Touchy throttle

I have a map in my -09 A that's based on an -R map modified for Akra pipes and with some extra fuel low down in the L1 and 2 maps. It works reasonably well for me, I get a very consistent 37.5 US MPG running 75-85, and I've been happy enough for the last 10K not to mess with it more.

I'm happy to share, although I wouldn't try this in anything other than an -09 or newer due to some problems I've seen with immobilizer settings and the fact that the -09s on have different heads and cams- if anyone wants to try it, or at least look at it I can forward it on. I'm glad to see that TuneEcu and Powercell's cables have made this stuff more accessible.

The nice function with TuneEcu vs. TuneBoy is the ability to download your own map and use it as a baseline (F6 toggle compare function) against any mods you want to make. Good for peace of mind and to go backward if you need.
__________________
2009 KTM 990 ADV
2006 DRZ400SM
1974 Aero Commander 112A (AC11/G)
2010 FJ Cruiser Trail Teams
2013 Tesla Model S 85kWh
Gluaisrothaí is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 08:30 PM   #54
twodollardoug
the calimesa kid
 
twodollardoug's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: southern california (IE)
Oddometer: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by tahoeacr
Not a problem . I don't know squat about TuneEcu but if it works as well as Tuneboy there are two different ways to "Get er Done" depending on your tuning abilities. At least it has a better name .
so whats secret tahoeacer? do tell....BTW you should download it (IT's FREE). and give er a peek.
__________________
"I don't give it a name, but I always speak with it. I don't know if other riders do the same. This is not only a piece of metal - there is a soul" -Valentino Rossi
twodollardoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 08:38 PM   #55
a$$hole
Studly Adventurer
 
a$$hole's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: DFW
Oddometer: 958
So let me get this straight. All I need to do is download TuneEcu and get a cable then I can remap my bike as many times as I see fit? Does the bike computer come out of the bike easy or do I need to relocate my desktop to the garage for this? My wife is going to hate you guys!
a$$hole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 08:46 PM   #56
cyborg
Potius Sero Quam Numquam
 
cyborg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pacific NorthWet
Oddometer: 5,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by tahoeacr
Not a problem . I don't know squat about TuneEcu but if it works as well as Tuneboy there are two different ways to "Get er Done" depending on your tuning abilities. At least it has a better name .
Hey Jeff, gives us another thing to try eh?

One thing to mention for folks new to ECU mapping, if you're not wired up for recording you bikes sensors for how the bike has changed after mapping and don't have handy access to a dyno, you're left with seat-of-the-pants impressions of the map changes. Have to be carefull not to go too lean.
cyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 08:50 PM   #57
twodollardoug
the calimesa kid
 
twodollardoug's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: southern california (IE)
Oddometer: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by a$$hole
So let me get this straight. All I need to do is download TuneEcu and get a cable then I can remap my bike as many times as I see fit? Does the bike computer come out of the bike easy or do I need to relocate my desktop to the garage for this? My wife is going to hate you guys!
no access to a laptop A-hole?
__________________
"I don't give it a name, but I always speak with it. I don't know if other riders do the same. This is not only a piece of metal - there is a soul" -Valentino Rossi
twodollardoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 09:22 PM   #58
a$$hole
Studly Adventurer
 
a$$hole's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: DFW
Oddometer: 958
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbubblehead
no access to a laptop A-hole?
Unfortunatly no. My desktop has been all I ever needed until now. Its only mission in life is for porn and other internet stuff. Maybe I can get a piece of shit one at a garage sale or something for super cheap.
a$$hole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 12:42 AM   #59
grinns
Semper Fi
 
grinns's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Rainy, Wa
Oddometer: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyborg
Hey Jeff, gives us another thing to try eh?

One thing to mention for folks new to ECU mapping, if you're not wired up for recording you bikes sensors for how the bike has changed after mapping and don't have handy access to a dyno, you're left with seat-of-the-pants impressions of the map changes. Have to be carefull not to go too lean.
I saw your little thing you had going on under the glove box thing. Did you wire directly to the sensors? I was going to investigate logging through the ECU itself to a laptop.
__________________
2012 300 EC Race
2010 690 R
2014 hypermotard sp

grinns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 01:20 AM   #60
cyborg
Potius Sero Quam Numquam
 
cyborg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pacific NorthWet
Oddometer: 5,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by grinns
I saw your little thing you had going on under the glove box thing. Did you wire directly to the sensors? I was going to investigate logging through the ECU itself to a laptop.
Yes, I had it hard-wired to 8 signals, in wires near the ECU. (Tach/RPM, both TPS, both MAP, Atmospheric P, both switching HEGOs) All 0-5v signals except the RPM, which was ~11V FM. Plus had the main wideband O2 sensor logger.

Used a borrowed Innovate wideband and 4 channel data logger from Tahoeacr to be a rolling dyno mule, while using Tuneboy maps Tahoeacr tweaked & tuned from my data runs. Worked pretty well. Ideal would be dual wideband logger (too much $$). I had to switch between front and rear cylinders. I still have the sensor harness in the glovebox if I ever get my hands on another data logger.

Not sure how many of those signals you can get from the ECU through the TuneECU OBD2 interface. Anybody know? I'll be trying it out in a month or so when I can ride again.
cyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014