ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-13-2011, 10:27 PM   #781
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michhub View Post
LM-2 is here and so I begin to get ready...confirmed, it will not read through the OBD-II interface.
Now to hard wire the inputs...I need TPS & RPM...easy enough, unit has 4 analog inputs.


As for RPM, would it be better to take the Tach signal or the Ignition coil?




The LM-2 has a direct tach signal input signal.
This input can be used to feed a signal from the negative lead of a coil, ECU, negative lead of an injector, or ignition box (i.e. MSD 6AL).
This tach signal can be feed to the RPM + (Black/White) wire.
The negative wire (Blue) can be connected to ground if a tach signal is not being registered.


If you guys could care less about this I'll stop with the techie posts
Good stuff, thanks for sharing... Hopefully someone will pop in with that last answer for you..
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 10:33 PM   #782
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sapling View Post
I took the Akra map and removed 2% over the F1 and F2 tables then compared them....... Could it be that simple?? I know its not perfect but... I am going to try it.

Off to have a beer! Good times in the garage today.
So easy to do with this software... That sounds like something i would try...
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 12:47 AM   #783
cyborg
Potius Sero Quam Numquam
 
cyborg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pacific NorthWet
Oddometer: 5,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michhub View Post
LM-2 is here and so I begin to get ready...confirmed, it will not read through the OBD-II interface.
Now to hard wire the inputs...I need TPS & RPM...easy enough, unit has 4 analog inputs.

My questions today...what is the second TPS...one for each throttle body?


As for RPM, would it be better to take the Tach signal or the Ignition coil?




The LM-2 has a direct tach signal input signal.
This input can be used to feed a signal from the negative lead of a coil, ECU, negative lead of an injector, or ignition box (i.e. MSD 6AL).
This tach signal can be feed to the RPM + (Black/White) wire.
The negative wire (Blue) can be connected to ground if a tach signal is not being registered.


If you guys could care less about this I'll stop with the techie posts
Michhub, I've been through the Tach and 4ch logging the hard way, hardwired, with an LM data cable over in this thread

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=328809

how I hooked it up

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...&postcount=180

I took the Tach right off the ECU and it was a Frequency Modulated signal that the Innovate data cable special Tach input was able to sync on. Worked great.

Tach signal looks like this on a scope, cycling the key and the tach going through it's diagnostics sweep on startup.

cyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 05:54 AM   #784
Michhub
Major Medical
 
Michhub's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Queen Creek AZ
Oddometer: 3,738
Thats dynamite stuff cyborg, thanks
__________________
Mike
Reinheitsgebot
'07 990ADV '08 530EXCR '04 XR650L
Bonsai Elephant - "
Life without a 990 is no life at all!"
Michhub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 06:25 PM   #785
nevermind
sLOW Rider
 
nevermind's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Lost then Found
Oddometer: 2,890
TuneECU quick update for y'all:

Bike: 2010 990A
Tune: KM601US0902002.hex for 2010 990R
Mods: Football secondary butterflies, 2 into 1 w/Wings NOS can+large baffle, Rekluse and throttle tamer.
TuneECU Options: no SAI, no 02 sensors
Gearing 16/45
Temp: 74* F
Application: 15 min idle trick

Very smooth partial throttle openings, smooth from closed to open and very easy to do 1st gear left turn/right turn tight circles. No lean stuttering at steady state throttle in 1st or 2nd gear at 4k rpms. Nice gurgle, no exhaust pops when chopping the throttle on decel.

I just got done burping the coolant system AGAIN after some motor fiddling with the clutch basket and my rekluse. The motor was running nice and cool and I think it's partially due to our low temps and the WW I have in the rad.

I've tried the latest Akro map I can find and it's not smooth off idle or very small throttle openings, so I backed it off and applied the 2010 990R map that got me 40+ mpg last time I ran it.

EDIT: Forgot to add the throttle tamer and Rekluse clutch and the 2 into 1 from CJ and the Wings can...

nevermind screwed with this post 05-16-2011 at 05:14 PM
nevermind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 09:57 AM   #786
Tom-Hamburg
Adventurer
 
Tom-Hamburg's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Hamburg
Oddometer: 84
Update TuneECU 1.9.4

05-15-11 TuneECUv1.9.4 now released

* Fixed a bug Sagem ECU.
* Limit value F KTM tables corrected.

BR, Tom
__________________
TuneECU
-----------------
Triumph Speed Triple 1050
Triumph Rocket Roadster
Tom-Hamburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 01:52 PM   #787
teti
especie en extincion
 
teti's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: alejandro roca (cba) argentina
Oddometer: 143
test and tests

1 990 R 7600KM
2Nd 990R 7200km

1st map akra R, leo vince 2 1
2nd original map, then map akra, then map Otto (pp. tuneecu)

in all the accelerations a plus of difference for the 1st bike, started at 3000 rpm in 2,3,4,5,6
the moto 1 takes advantage of 30 meters or more

After loading the maps the reset of 15 minutes.

both with
Removed O2
Removed SAS
2 removed Accelerator
same weight of rider

where this difference?

------------------------------------------------------------
ensayo y pruebas
1 990 R 7600KM
2 990R 7200km
1 mapa akra R, leo vince 2 1
2 mapa original, luego mapa akra, luego mapa Otto (pag. tuneecu)
en todas las aceleraciones un plus de diferencia para la moto 1, arrancamos a 3000 rpm en 2,3,4,5,6
la moto 1 saca ventaja de 30 mts o mas
luego de cargar los mapas el reseteo de 15 min.
ambas con
O2 eliminado
SAS eliminado
2 acelerador eliminado
mismo peso de jinete
donde esta la diferencia ?
teti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 01:57 PM   #788
nevermind
sLOW Rider
 
nevermind's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Lost then Found
Oddometer: 2,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by teti View Post
test and tests

1 990 R 7600KM
2Nd 990R 7200km

1st map akra R, leo vince 2 1
2nd original map, then map akra, then map Otto (pp. tuneecu)

in all the accelerations a plus of difference for the 1st bike, started at 3000 rpm in 2,3,4,5,6
the moto 1 takes advantage of 30 meters or more

After loading the maps the reset of 15 minutes.

both with
Removed O2
Removed SAS
2 removed Accelerator
same weight of rider

where this difference?
What is the gearing?
nevermind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 03:19 PM   #789
teti
especie en extincion
 
teti's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: alejandro roca (cba) argentina
Oddometer: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevermind View Post
what is the gearing?
2
3
4
5
6


16-42 ambas
teti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 03:22 PM   #790
nevermind
sLOW Rider
 
nevermind's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Lost then Found
Oddometer: 2,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by teti View Post
16-42 ambas
Are you sure both run 16 front and 42 rear sprockets?
nevermind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 03:28 PM   #791
teti
especie en extincion
 
teti's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: alejandro roca (cba) argentina
Oddometer: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevermind View Post
Are you sure both run 16 front and 42 rear sprockets?

If Mr both series
teti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 06:59 AM   #792
Michhub
Major Medical
 
Michhub's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Queen Creek AZ
Oddometer: 3,738
Starting to hardwire the LM-2....


TPS is in the main harness thats gonna be harder to tap...

Tach signal was pretty easy to get to....
__________________
Mike
Reinheitsgebot
'07 990ADV '08 530EXCR '04 XR650L
Bonsai Elephant - "
Life without a 990 is no life at all!"
Michhub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 12:13 PM   #793
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,788
I checked differences between Akra maps.

KM601AK0704501 is AKRA US 2007-8 is identical with
KM601AK0702S01 is AKRA EU 2007-8

Also
KM601AK0704501 which is AKRA 2007-8 (see above) at TPS5%
seems to be close to 5% richer than the KM601EU0704501 EU normal exausts.

gefr screwed with this post 05-23-2011 at 11:29 AM
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 04:40 AM   #794
Kenbike
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: South of the big lake
Oddometer: 633
I am going to attempt to mod my 2007 990's mapping. I m not the best on computers but can't live with my bike current mapping. I had the Akro map loaded and it runs slight bit better but is getting 25 to 30 mpg and stalled 3 times yesterday around idle with the wife on back. I was looking for someone in the Cleveland, Ohio area that has experience with loading maps and tweaking that could help? Anyone out there?
__________________
Current Bikes: 2014 BMW GSA, 2010 Vespa 300 Super scooter ( hers), 2012 Vespa 300 Super (his)
Kenbike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 03:10 PM   #795
Michhub
Major Medical
 
Michhub's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Queen Creek AZ
Oddometer: 3,738
Out with the old sensor...

In with the new...


Uh oh....notice any difference between the two...new Bosch is fatter and it won't screw into the factory bung
...and I see why, factory didn't quite lineup the bung and welded it off center

Dremel to the rescue a few short minutes later all better...I didn't want a bunch of metal
particles in the exhaust so I used a magnet to get as much I could...

Route the cable...kinda tricky as it has a large connector on the end...

Glove box wiring complete ready to log some wide band data, Tach & TPS


Here's to using TuneECU to make my own custom map
__________________
Mike
Reinheitsgebot
'07 990ADV '08 530EXCR '04 XR650L
Bonsai Elephant - "
Life without a 990 is no life at all!"
Michhub is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014