ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-15-2012, 01:35 AM   #2731
frostyuk
Gnarly Adventurer
 
frostyuk's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: England
Oddometer: 274
lighting

dumb question guys but is there a mod you can do to have lights available when the engine isnt running? am thinking of the scenario where if you if you run out of fuel or the bike cuts out and its dark some lights would a usefull thing?
frostyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 02:52 AM   #2732
Indy Unlimited
Beastly Adventurer
 
Indy Unlimited's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Parker, CO
Oddometer: 1,449
My headlight turns on with the ignition key switch
__________________
Current Stable:

2013 Ducati Hypermotard SP, 2011 Husaberg FE570S, 2011 BMW S1000RR, 2010 BMW F800GS
2007 Husqvarna TE610 , 2003 KTM 525 MXC
Indy Unlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 03:29 AM   #2733
Cruz
Lost but laughing.
 
Cruz's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Northside Brisbane, Qld Australia
Oddometer: 6,189
UK is probably like Australia, we don't have ignition keys, just a start button to push.
__________________
"I reckon it would be good getting a heap of XR's in the one spot and watching a heap of blokes kicking fuck out of there bikes and swearing."

xronly
Cruz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 05:04 AM   #2734
frostyuk
Gnarly Adventurer
 
frostyuk's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: England
Oddometer: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruz View Post
UK is probably like Australia, we don't have ignition keys, just a start button to push.
yup correct, i've had an ignition switch put on at the dealers but it doesnt affect the lights only the ability to start the bike, but if the us bikes can do it there must be a way to set up the uk bikes to do that as well
frostyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 05:07 AM   #2735
frostyuk
Gnarly Adventurer
 
frostyuk's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: England
Oddometer: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostyuk View Post
thanks for the feedback guys, i run full nobblies on my xchallenge at 15 psi with rim locks and no issues at all and no balancing needed, different tyres tho. first thing i'll try is removing the rim locks and road ride and see if that is the issue, if i still have the problem am guessing its the tyres so i'll move to some others.
ok took the rim locks out and rode with 22/29, 18/20 and 15/15 tyre pressures front /rear and all is good in my world looks like motion pro rim locks here i come
frostyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 05:09 AM   #2736
frostyuk
Gnarly Adventurer
 
frostyuk's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: England
Oddometer: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by rensho View Post
From FE570S




From FE570S

is this secret compartment thing a sub tank thing ????
frostyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 06:35 AM   #2737
Cruz
Lost but laughing.
 
Cruz's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Northside Brisbane, Qld Australia
Oddometer: 6,189
No, they have an Anti pollution type canister mounted in there on US bikes.
__________________
"I reckon it would be good getting a heap of XR's in the one spot and watching a heap of blokes kicking fuck out of there bikes and swearing."

xronly
Cruz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 04:19 PM   #2738
rensho
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: SJ,CA
Oddometer: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostyuk View Post
is this secret compartment thing a sub tank thing ????
It is a good size compartment where they have the evap canister, some airpump looking thing, etc. The Husaberg toolbag fits in, with about 60% space left(by volume).
rensho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 11:52 PM   #2739
Blakduk
Just trying to get by.
 
Blakduk's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Cooroy
Oddometer: 1,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruz View Post
No, they have an Anti pollution type canister mounted in there on US bikes.
Where? I can't make it out. Would love to get the tools off my person and onto the bike. Bruce, tell me more you secretive bugger.
__________________
FE450.
XT660R
Blakduk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 01:40 AM   #2740
Cruz
Lost but laughing.
 
Cruz's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Northside Brisbane, Qld Australia
Oddometer: 6,189
Our bikes do not have it Paul. Put tools in a tank bag.
__________________
"I reckon it would be good getting a heap of XR's in the one spot and watching a heap of blokes kicking fuck out of there bikes and swearing."

xronly
Cruz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 02:06 AM   #2741
Mike_drz
Banned
 
Mike_drz's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: somewhere near the beach
Oddometer: 402
envy
Mike_drz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 08:22 AM   #2742
frostyuk
Gnarly Adventurer
 
frostyuk's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: England
Oddometer: 274
replacement rads

i managed to get some of the hardparts rad braces for a good price to protect my already damaged rads, unfortunately they have been bent too far out of shape for the guards to fit, has anyone had any experience of the chinese rads you see on ebay for about 120ukp a pair?
frostyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 09:16 AM   #2743
woods wizard
Studly Adventurer
 
woods wizard's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Welcome to No.Va...expect delays
Oddometer: 864
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostyuk View Post
i managed to get some of the hardparts rad braces for a good price to protect my already damaged rads, unfortunately they have been bent too far out of shape for the guards to fit, has anyone had any experience of the chinese rads you see on ebay for about 120ukp a pair?
IMHO , I would just send them to Mylers radiator repair. Cheap , quick, & they do a very good job. Assuming you are in the Conus.
woods wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 09:39 AM   #2744
Baja Dad
Beastly Adventurer
 
Baja Dad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Norco California
Oddometer: 2,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostyuk View Post
i managed to get some of the hardparts rad braces for a good price to protect my already damaged rads, unfortunately they have been bent too far out of shape for the guards to fit, has anyone had any experience of the chinese rads you see on ebay for about 120ukp a pair?

chinese rads you see on ebay for about 120ukp a pair are nice.
PSI check them when you get them then install them.
I have uesd them in the past
__________________
2015 support: Multitool,GPS IMS Aurora Rally Kriega, Raiden LS2, Helmets,
100Goggles,SIDI,Seat Concepts, Precision Concepts, MX1West,Dunlop
Baja Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 12:16 PM   #2745
guns_equal_freedom
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Oddometer: 5,594
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostyuk View Post
i managed to get some of the hardparts rad braces for a good price to protect my already damaged rads, unfortunately they have been bent too far out of shape for the guards to fit, has anyone had any experience of the chinese rads you see on ebay for about 120ukp a pair?
Reading the posts on KTM Talk and TL Planet the are hit and miss.
More miss than hit.
YMMV.
guns_equal_freedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015