ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-14-2013, 02:42 PM   #4126
rensho
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: SJ,CA
Oddometer: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Humanbeingexpert View Post
Has anyone tried one of these LED bulbs? I tried buying it but my CC wont go thru...

http://www.hdbright.com/hi-power-ba2...ktm-p-438.html
Those little smd leds won't make 500 lumens. 500 lumens is less than your stock 35w so called headlight.

A real car 55w bulb is around 1300 lumens. Anything less than that would not be a real upgrade to stock headlight (which is a sad excuse for a headlight).

To put it in perspective, I mountain bike with 1000 lumens of front lighting.

A lot of folks here run this:
http://www.bajadesigns.com/ProductDe...mNumber=497041
4300 lumens spec. I'd say that's more like 2800 real lumens in front of your bike.

A cheap upgrade is to just stick a H4 bulb in place of your 'globe'. The H4 needs to go in upside down and then you need to wire/clip/tie in place. If you look at the back of your headlight, and have a H4 in hand, it is very obvious. Mine works great, and is a huge improvement over stock. I no longer worry about riding streets at night. It is totally insufficient for night dirt riding.
rensho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 05:15 PM   #4127
SRG
SRG
 
SRG's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia USA
Oddometer: 1,259
I just changed the front sprocket and chain on my 450FX. My bike ('10 450FX) just turned 150 hours, half of which has been 50/50 dualsport use by me. The first half was harescramble/enduro and some limited dualsport use by the PO.

I'm happy to report that the countershaft splines looked fine/undamaged/no visible wear.

I replaced the rear sprocket with one of these http://www.kushsprockets.com/sprockets a few days ago and it's working fine so far.
__________________
Lazy Traveler
SRG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 10:10 PM   #4128
Humanbeingexpert
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Santa Paula, CA
Oddometer: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by rensho View Post
Those little smd leds won't make 500 lumens. 500 lumens is less than your stock 35w so called headlight.

A real car 55w bulb is around 1300 lumens. Anything less than that would not be a real upgrade to stock headlight (which is a sad excuse for a headlight).

To put it in perspective, I mountain bike with 1000 lumens of front lighting.

A lot of folks here run this:
http://www.bajadesigns.com/ProductDe...mNumber=497041
4300 lumens spec. I'd say that's more like 2800 real lumens in front of your bike.

A cheap upgrade is to just stick a H4 bulb in place of your 'globe'. The H4 needs to go in upside down and then you need to wire/clip/tie in place. If you look at the back of your headlight, and have a H4 in hand, it is very obvious. Mine works great, and is a huge improvement over stock. I no longer worry about riding streets at night. It is totally insufficient for night dirt riding.
Thx..do u have link for the right bulb to fit?
Humanbeingexpert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 11:52 PM   #4129
galbo950
Studly Adventurer
 
galbo950's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: FNQ
Oddometer: 575
Starting question.

I'm finding with the 570 that once the bike is at running temps I need an extremely small amount of throttle to help it start easier. If I go no throttle it winds over for a bit before it finally starts. If I go to much throttle it just winds over. I've checked the valves and they're within tolerance. The fuel filter screen at the pump is clean. The bike runs fine and doesn't hesitate, stall, cut out or lose any performance. I've heard a few rumours that the 570 likes a bit of throttle to start, is this the case? The closest dealer is about 4 hours away, I spoke with them and they've suggested it could be the throttle position sensor and as such it may just need to be plug into the computer to check and sort it. Any ideas?
galbo950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 12:04 AM   #4130
rensho
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: SJ,CA
Oddometer: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Humanbeingexpert View Post
Thx..do u have link for the right bulb to fit?
http://www.amazon.com/Sylvania-Silve.../dp/B000AM8BN6

any autoparts store has an H4 bulb. Don't buy anything that is colored blue or tinted, those will cut down on the output.
rensho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 12:19 AM   #4131
rensho
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: SJ,CA
Oddometer: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by galbo950 View Post
I'm finding with the 570 that once the bike is at running temps I need an extremely small amount of throttle to help it start easier. If I go no throttle it winds over for a bit before it finally starts. If I go to much throttle it just winds over. I've checked the valves and they're within tolerance. The fuel filter screen at the pump is clean. The bike runs fine and doesn't hesitate, stall, cut out or lose any performance. I've heard a few rumours that the 570 likes a bit of throttle to start, is this the case? The closest dealer is about 4 hours away, I spoke with them and they've suggested it could be the throttle position sensor and as such it may just need to be plug into the computer to check and sort it. Any ideas?
Mine needs no throttle to start hot or cold. You might try looking at the inline filters. Careful with the hose fitting at the injector, the oring is easily screwed (I wouldn't pull it off actually). Just pull the hose and leave the fitting on the injector to check the filter in the hose.
You might also try turning the idle knob. Try 2 clicks and later try it the other way.
Richen the TPS might make sense as well. I think you turn it counter cw to richen. Not sure if our bikes have a slotted TPS sensor already.
rensho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 07:09 AM   #4132
woods wizard
Studly Adventurer
 
woods wizard's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Welcome to No.Va...expect delays
Oddometer: 810
Quote:
Originally Posted by galbo950 View Post
I'm finding with the 570 that once the bike is at running temps I need an extremely small amount of throttle to help it start easier. If I go no throttle it winds over for a bit before it finally starts. If I go to much throttle it just winds over. I've checked the valves and they're within tolerance. The fuel filter screen at the pump is clean. The bike runs fine and doesn't hesitate, stall, cut out or lose any performance. I've heard a few rumours that the 570 likes a bit of throttle to start, is this the case? The closest dealer is about 4 hours away, I spoke with them and they've suggested it could be the throttle position sensor and as such it may just need to be plug into the computer to check and sort it. Any ideas?
Mine was hard to start as well, I found if the idle is too high they wont start easily. Idle spec is 1700 -1800 rpm ,with this setting it seems too lean on start up. I lowered the idle to around 900- 1000 rpm & it starts right up ..no throttle needed. Dont get it too low or it may flame out on large impacts .. large log hops or jump landings. This is free & easy to try, Idle adjustment is on the left side on the T/body , kinda hard to get to.. YMMV
__________________
Husaberg 570FE Tagged & Tarded / KTM 250 EXC
woods wizard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 07:15 AM   #4133
woods wizard
Studly Adventurer
 
woods wizard's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Welcome to No.Va...expect delays
Oddometer: 810
Broken seat latch pin

I broke my seat latch pin & was wondering if anyone had a stock or aftmkt seat they would like to sell.? .
__________________
Husaberg 570FE Tagged & Tarded / KTM 250 EXC
woods wizard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 08:28 AM   #4134
Cruz
Lost but laughing.
 
Cruz's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Northside Brisbane, Qld Australia
Oddometer: 5,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by galbo950 View Post
I'm finding with the 570 that once the bike is at running temps I need an extremely small amount of throttle to help it start easier. If I go no throttle it winds over for a bit before it finally starts. If I go to much throttle it just winds over. I've checked the valves and they're within tolerance. The fuel filter screen at the pump is clean. The bike runs fine and doesn't hesitate, stall, cut out or lose any performance. I've heard a few rumours that the 570 likes a bit of throttle to start, is this the case? The closest dealer is about 4 hours away, I spoke with them and they've suggested it could be the throttle position sensor and as such it may just need to be plug into the computer to check and sort it. Any ideas?
That was the re flash they did on mine and it has never been a problem since. Pity KTM up there can't do it for you.
__________________
"I reckon it would be good getting a heap of XR's in the one spot and watching a heap of blokes kicking fuck out of there bikes and swearing."

xronly
Cruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 09:57 AM   #4135
RememberTheFallen
Gnarly Adventurer
 
RememberTheFallen's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: North Georgia
Oddometer: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruz View Post
That was the re flash they did on mine and it has never been a problem since. Pity KTM up there can't do it for you.
Anyway to check and see if the flash/ re mapping has been done? My 570 has been un impressive in the power department ever since I got it. It is also a pain to start cold. I argued with the dealer about whether he flashed the comp map or not and he got pissy. He stated that my bike has a lack of power because of the restrictive exhaust.

Love the bike other than it feeling weak. Buddy on a 2010 te510 smoked me in a drag race the other day.

Taking it out tomorrow to the local riding park with a trials tire. Pretty excited to try the expert trails!
RememberTheFallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 10:03 AM   #4136
rensho
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: SJ,CA
Oddometer: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by RememberTheFallen View Post
Anyway to check and see if the flash/ re mapping has been done? My 570 has been un impressive in the power department ever since I got it. It is also a pain to start cold. I argued with the dealer about whether he flashed the comp map or not and he got pissy. He stated that my bike has a lack of power because of the restrictive exhaust.

Love the bike other than it feeling weak. Buddy on a 2010 te510 smoked me in a drag race the other day.

Taking it out tomorrow to the local riding park with a trials tire. Pretty excited to try the expert trails!
Unless you have a KTM ecu tool, there's no way for us to check. Is there another dealer you can take to? They can read and check to see if your bike has been unlocked and the comp map loaded. If you're running a completely stock exhaust, then that is your first problem for sure. At a minimum cut the inside snorkel off to free it up a little. The bike will run better and cooler. Or, just buy a FMF Q pipe.

Also, for cold start, if you have an issue, have you tried pulling the choke? It works really well to help cold start.
rensho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 10:17 AM   #4137
Humanbeingexpert
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Santa Paula, CA
Oddometer: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by RememberTheFallen View Post
Anyway to check and see if the flash/ re mapping has been done? My 570 has been un impressive in the power department ever since I got it. It is also a pain to start cold. I argued with the dealer about whether he flashed the comp map or not and he got pissy. He stated that my bike has a lack of power because of the restrictive exhaust.

Love the bike other than it feeling weak. Buddy on a 2010 te510 smoked me in a drag race the other day.

Taking it out tomorrow to the local riding park with a trials tire. Pretty excited to try the expert trails!
My bike was a PIA to start until i got the comp map and a new exhaust, now it starts right up...the exhaust made a difference for sure.
Humanbeingexpert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 12:39 PM   #4138
B1
Carbon-based bipedal
 
B1's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Arse-trailer
Oddometer: 3,341
i don't know if the exhaust can be blamed. mine starts easily regardless of the stock or lexx exhaust fitted. the lexx isn't much lighter than stock but definitely less restrictive and not much louder either. very good quality for such a cheap pipe.
__________________
free enduro training vids for gumbies here
B1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 02:16 PM   #4139
galbo950
Studly Adventurer
 
galbo950's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: FNQ
Oddometer: 575
Looking through the previous owners paper work, the back has been remapped before. It does idle a little on the high side so I'll try dropping it down a little. Apparently to remap it the dealer would need the Husaberg program and I don't think e local KTM dealer would have it, but you never know seeing as he once were also the Husaberg dealer but that was per 570 era.
galbo950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 07:14 PM   #4140
RememberTheFallen
Gnarly Adventurer
 
RememberTheFallen's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: North Georgia
Oddometer: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by rensho View Post
Unless you have a KTM ecu tool, there's no way for us to check. Is there another dealer you can take to? They can read and check to see if your bike has been unlocked and the comp map loaded. If you're running a completely stock exhaust, then that is your first problem for sure. At a minimum cut the inside snorkel off to free it up a little. The bike will run better and cooler. Or, just buy a FMF Q pipe.

Also, for cold start, if you have an issue, have you tried pulling the choke? It works really well to help cold start.
No other dealer close. Have a highly modified stock exhaust. Removed the stock spark arrester and added a screen type. Also cut the outlet back a lot.

Ya, have to pull the choke out. It used to run the battery down trying to get it started. Bought a lithium ion so I don't have to worry about that now.

Bike has always felt gutless. Have posted on here before about it. Just doesn't sound strong when I get on it hard. Sounds choked up.

Found a used Leo Vinci online. Thinking about trying that out.
RememberTheFallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015