ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-15-2014, 07:50 AM   #4966
RallyRex
Adventurer
 
RallyRex's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: NoPo
Oddometer: 63
2000+ mile interval? How does one get away with that, given the recommended interval of 10% of that. . .?

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
__________________
2013 Husqvarna TR650 Terra
2010 Husaberg FE390
RallyRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 08:58 AM   #4967
mrt10x
Dumba$s Jarhead
 
mrt10x's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Woodland Park, CO
Oddometer: 3,207
my opinion on a few questions asked over the last 24 hours..

1. Yes you can use a KTM Cush hub from a 640.. I have one on mine.. I bought it from a guy using it on another Husa, so I dont know what he did to set it up.. I think new spacers?

2. Suspension.. go to Youtube .. well here.. http://www.youtube.com/results?searc...%20racing&sm=1 he shows you how to do your forks.. Slavens was the guru for KTM/Husa suspension and slavens racing sells everything you will need to do it yourself.. Not that I have done mine, but I intend to.

3. Plastics.. I got my spare set here.. .http://www.ktm-parts.com/SBMHUSPL.html sign up and you get 10% off... I buy most of my Husaberg stuff from them... they have some good sales on occasion.

4. If that 390 was maintained up at Cliff's I would jump on it.. those guys are the best.. and will take care of you.. they still take care of me even though I moved across the country, when I have questions I call them.. all the way from here in CO.

5. The Rekluse cups.. yes that was one of the things that seemed unclear on the instructions.. those cups.. and the different sizes of the spacers.. getting that gap exactly where they recommend it is key to getting the Z-Start to work properly in the tight ass Husa/KTM cutches.

6. Oil changes..not sure where 200 mile oil changes are recommended? Manual says every 15 hours.. or after every race. There are real world examples, Lukas, Beta, Lostrider.. who have put many many more miles on their Bergs between oil changes when used in a non race mode.. here is a good post http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...0#post19713500 as you can see Barton's bike certainly didnt live an easy life.

did I miss anything?
__________________
We are enmeshed in the cancerous discipline of "security." And in the worship of security we fling our lives beneath the wheels of routine - and before we know it our lives are gone.
mrt10x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 09:31 AM   #4968
RallyRex
Adventurer
 
RallyRex's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: NoPo
Oddometer: 63
Great answers 10x, thanks. The oil change recommendation came from my local dealer. I did some more reading here and see a lot of good examples of people running longer intervals. Good stuff!

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
__________________
2013 Husqvarna TR650 Terra
2010 Husaberg FE390
RallyRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 07:00 PM   #4969
1 lunger
Beastly Adventurer
 
1 lunger's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Bloomfield CT
Oddometer: 1,286
Just realized the rear wheel I got is a 2.50 not a 2.16 and I'd like to know how a 120/100/18 will fit before I try and mount it. Any ideas? It's laced with HD spokes to a Cush hub.


Life is good!
1 lunger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 07:19 PM   #4970
The Letter J
lost in the 690 mega
 
The Letter J's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Oddometer: 999
I ran a trials tire (4.00"/ 100mm width) on a 2.5" rim before, I know it isn't the ideal rim width, but I had no issues. The 120 should be no problem.
__________________
I can ride my bike with no handlebars, no handlebars, no handlebars - Jamie Laurie
The Letter J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 07:25 PM   #4971
1 lunger
Beastly Adventurer
 
1 lunger's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Bloomfield CT
Oddometer: 1,286
I got the set used and I'd love to know what the 2.5 is off or typically used for? An sumo wheel is 4.5 or 5" right?


Life is good!
1 lunger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 09:00 PM   #4972
Knobbiethrower
ADV in ADK
 
Knobbiethrower's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Where I am
Oddometer: 1,316
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1 lunger View Post
I got the set used and I'd love to know what the 2.5 is off or typically used for? An sumo wheel is 4.5 or 5" right?


Life is good!
Usually spec'd for a bigger bike I think and more TAR oriented. ( ie Ktm 640 )
Knobbiethrower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 05:41 PM   #4973
dentvet
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: hunt country virginia
Oddometer: 1,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by woods wizard View Post
WOW...I would buy that just for a spare. If you don't buy it would you let us know ?

Yes get it for a spare, then I could ride it and you wouldn't have to inhale 2 stroke fumes any more

dentvet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 07:03 PM   #4974
Koko
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Dudley, MA
Oddometer: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by woods wizard View Post
WOW...I would buy that just for a spare. If you don't buy it would you let us know ?
Striking out all around today. Went to see a bike and it was bit too much. Then the owner of the FE390 emailed and said it sold. Ugh....

I thought this would be quick and easy.
Koko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 08:41 PM   #4975
pne
Studly Adventurer
 
pne's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Oddometer: 822
does anyone know where the connector for the brake light switch is located? I'm having a hard time finding this bloody thing.



Also, this is the strange thing going on with my kill switch. Yellow/black wire coming off of the handle bar switch does nothing when connected to either of these yellow/black leads.

The only way to get the kill switch functioning is to attach it to this mystery black lead with spade connector. Looks like it should be a horn circuit or something.

__________________
Touring USA on a KTM Superduke, I have no idea what I'm doing:
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=890358

pne screwed with this post 03-18-2014 at 09:38 PM
pne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 06:34 AM   #4976
woods wizard
Studly Adventurer
 
woods wizard's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Welcome to No.Va...expect delays
Oddometer: 845
Quote:
Originally Posted by dentvet View Post
Yes get it for a spare, then I could ride it and you wouldn't have to inhale 2 stroke fumes any more

Yeah we coulda had some fun with that.
__________________
Husaberg 570FE Tagged & Tarded / KTM 250 EXC
woods wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 08:23 AM   #4977
Ditch
Beastly Adventurer
 
Ditch's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: abq,nm
Oddometer: 1,113
I think the brake light connector is hidden up under the battery somewhere tied to the harness, think I had to drop my shock to get at it from the bottom.
__________________
Wendell
You will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy....we must be cautious.
Ditch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 08:41 AM   #4978
Seth S
Safari Scramble!!!!!
 
Seth S's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: sanity?
Oddometer: 4,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ditch View Post
I think the brake light connector is hidden up under the battery somewhere tied to the harness, think I had to drop my shock to get at it from the bottom.
Yes, there is a small white flat 3 or 4 pin connector hidden around the battery area where the brake light assembly plugs into.
__________________
Seth S

My intuition nearly makes up for my lack of good judgement. Just installed my new trolling motor
Seth S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:01 AM   #4979
vintagespeed
fNg
 
vintagespeed's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonger, CA
Oddometer: 1,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by pne View Post
..brake light switch is located?.... Yellow/black wire coming off of the handle bar switch does nothing when connected to either of these yellow/black leads...
well, you might not have any brake light switches at all. mine didn't. (and i only added the rear switch)

the front switch itself is mounted on the bottom of the front brake lever mount, has 2 wires and a small connector running down the bars behind the cowl.

the rear brake switch is mounted on the top of the rear master cylinder, typically replacing the banjo bolt on the rear brake line. this will have 2 wires on it and connect up to the harness under the seat area.

there are 2 kill switch wire connections. check by the radiator for the other pair of yellow/black wires. this spade connector is probably a jumper to that other set of wires fowling up the whole system.
__________________
530EXCR and a bunch of 2 strokes that you dont want to read about. :)

TAT-2013: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=913898
SoCal_NoDak-2012: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=829203

vintagespeed screwed with this post 03-19-2014 at 09:02 AM Reason: blah
vintagespeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 02:39 PM   #4980
1 lunger
Beastly Adventurer
 
1 lunger's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Bloomfield CT
Oddometer: 1,286
What are the pros or cons of a floating front disc.


Life is good!
1 lunger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015