ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2005, 05:57 PM   #1
Grad OP
Wannabe
 
Grad's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Athens, GA and Blairsville, GA
Oddometer: 2,256
StreetPilot III or the new Quest?

Hey folks,
I am about to buy a new GPS for my bike and I have spent countless hours researching all of the units on this site and on others. I think I have it narrowed down and want some custom opinions now. I want a color screen, I want it to be easily readable while riding my bike (so it needs to be a decent size), and I need it to have batteries so I can easily use the unit for many different applications. The 2610 is hard-wire only so I have ruled it out. I am down to the Quest and the SPIII, I am finding them for very similar prices and they both seem to be pretty nice units. Am I missing anything else? I don't really want to spend more than $500-600 on a unit, and I need it to include the City Select mapping software. Just wanted to hear your opinions since many of you have used these units and it will be the first time for me. Thanks a lot!
Grad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 01:45 AM   #2
BurnieM
Nipple boy
 
BurnieM's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 4,104
SPIII has bigger screen

Quest has a faster processor and will calculate routes and redraw the screen faster.

US Quest has 115MB for mapping (European Quest has 243MB) whereas the SPIII can use 256MB max data cards.

SPIII will last about 3 hours on batteries.
Quest will last up to 20 hours (backlight off).
Only really an issue if you are going to do hiking or geocaching etc.
Both have enough battery life to let you do trip planning in a cafe or hotel.

SPIII comes with City Navigator.
Quest comes with City Select.
Both provide good autorouting instructions and identical visual mapping.

SPIII is not available new so may have older mapset.

BurnieM screwed with this post 01-08-2005 at 05:08 AM
BurnieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 04:37 AM   #3
NJ_Bob
Occasional Adventurer
 
NJ_Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: EM12 (DFW)
Oddometer: 2,501
Quote:
Originally Posted by f4igrad
Hey folks,
I am about to buy a new GPS for my bike and I have spent countless hours researching all of the units on this site and on others. I think I have it narrowed down and want some custom opinions now. I want a color screen, I want it to be easily readable while riding my bike (so it needs to be a decent size), and I need it to have batteries so I can easily use the unit for many different applications. The 2610 is hard-wire only so I have ruled it out. I am down to the Quest and the SPIII, I am finding them for very similar prices and they both seem to be pretty nice units. Am I missing anything else? I don't really want to spend more than $500-600 on a unit, and I need it to include the City Select mapping software. Just wanted to hear your opinions since many of you have used these units and it will be the first time for me. Thanks a lot!
If you need a hand-held unit, you need to look at the smaller units - there are several from Garmin. They even list the 276 in this category since it has batteries.

If you are looking at something to use on your bike, or in a vehicle, the two you should be considering are the 276 and the 2610. You've ruled out the 2610 already, so the 276 is probably what you should focus on. The SPIII is old technology and very slow in comparison to the 276 or 2610.

I use the 2610 in the car(s) and on my GS for paved routes only. I don't find the "hard-wire only" to be an issue. It works so fast, I don't need to have it off the bike or out of the car to work on the route.
__________________
Bob Naumann - W5OV - Sachse, TX - K1300GT - IBA #19100
NJ_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 09:03 AM   #4
SteveW
Adventurer
 
SteveW's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Southern California
Oddometer: 85
New models coming out in a month or two !!

As with all things technology - two new models are right around the corner:

http://www.garmin.com/products/sp320/

and

http://www.garmin.com/products/sp330/

I haven't even read all of the info yet - but my first guess is that the 330 has an inbuilt HDD - and the 320 takes memory cards... Also seems that they both have a new "3D View" - I've seen that in friends' cars - kinda neat.
SteveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 10:17 AM   #5
Ogre_fl
Beastly Adventurer
 
Ogre_fl's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Cook Bayou, FL
Oddometer: 2,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveW
As with all things technology - two new models are right around the corner:

http://www.garmin.com/products/sp320/

and

http://www.garmin.com/products/sp330/

I haven't even read all of the info yet - but my first guess is that the 330 has an inbuilt HDD - and the 320 takes memory cards... Also seems that they both have a new "3D View" - I've seen that in friends' cars - kinda neat.
I cant be sure, but I guessing they are not waterproof
Ogre_fl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 10:50 AM   #6
NJ_Bob
Occasional Adventurer
 
NJ_Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: EM12 (DFW)
Oddometer: 2,501
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oger
I cant be sure, but I guessing they are not waterproof
Good guess. They're not. Check the specifications page:

"Case: Consumer grade/not waterproof"
__________________
Bob Naumann - W5OV - Sachse, TX - K1300GT - IBA #19100
NJ_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 01:41 PM   #7
Grad OP
Wannabe
 
Grad's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Athens, GA and Blairsville, GA
Oddometer: 2,256
thanks everyone. I guess I will rule out the SPIII. I am wondering if the Quest screen will be big enough to read easily while riding. The 276 looks great, but it is expensive and doesn't even come with City Select!
Grad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 02:13 PM   #8
BurnieM
Nipple boy
 
BurnieM's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 4,104
The GPSmap 276C is a great unit and definitely has the sharpest screen.
As it is not packaged you will end up paying a bit more for maps, mounts etc.

I would narrow it down to 2 or 3 units, check the specs and then go into a store and play with them.
Don't look at anything that you have not already researched and definitely don't buy anything on the first trip.
Then come home, re-read the specs and go back a week later and play again.

It is a learning thing with your first GPS.
The best units will cost you more but how many features do you need ?
And, of course, what is your budget ?

Don't worry, your second GPS will be perfect. And there will be a second GPS
BurnieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 03:18 PM   #9
kave
Gravel rules
 
kave's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Oddometer: 476
I would go with the 276 model. Good screen etc. 711$ with maps is quite cheap. In Sweden it's 1500$ with maps.
kave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 01:40 PM   #10
ThinAirThumper
Stuck in Traffic
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Oddometer: 229
Has anyone actually purchased and mounted the Quest?
Any photos of how it looks mounted-up on the bars?
Is there a solid way to mount it?

Thanks,
ThinAir
ThinAirThumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 02:38 PM   #11
dtop1
Beastly Adventurer
 
dtop1's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Oddometer: 1,305
Take a look at the Garmin 76C or CS - rugged, waterproof, AA batteries and a very readable screen. I have one and like it.
The Quest uses 5 volts and there still is no bike cable/voltage converter for it. Dan
__________________
2007 1200GS
dtop1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 03:52 PM   #12
BurnieM
Nipple boy
 
BurnieM's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 4,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThinAirThumper
Has anyone actually purchased and mounted the Quest?
Any photos of how it looks mounted-up on the bars?
Is there a solid way to mount it?

Thanks,
ThinAir
http://www.ram-mount-uk.com/

Look under 'Customer Galleries'
BurnieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 08:40 AM   #13
ThinAirThumper
Stuck in Traffic
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Oddometer: 229
Any updates on production-based options for hard-wiring the Quest to a 12 volt system?

Thanks,
ThinAir
ThinAirThumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 09:53 AM   #14
empedrado
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Central NM
Oddometer: 328
Garmin is supposed to have their quest motorcycle mount with integrated power out next month. If you can solder it is no big deal to make a powered system using inexpensive parts from Radio Shack and Garmins bycycle mount. That is what I am doing until garmins is available.

I have two different set ups - I use a Ram mount to attach to my 950 Adventure and a simple bracket on my 640 Adventure.

I haven't gotten around to setting up a smugmug account yet so if you want pictures let me know and I can email them to you.
empedrado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 03:12 PM   #15
Breck
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Breck's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Citrus Heights, California
Oddometer: 134
I just bought the Garmin 276c and it came with Mapsource city. I am useing touratechs mount.
__________________
2006 DL 1000 V-Strom Sold
2005 GS 1200 Dead
2003 GS 1150 Sold
2006 KLR 650 Fun
Breck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014