ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-10-2011, 11:19 AM   #1
NorCal.matt OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Oddometer: 27
Eek Garmin Nuvi 500 Crashes

Hi all,
I recently got a GPS (first one I've owned) and am trying to get it to make a custom route for a coastal trip. The problem happens when I go to "My Data", "Import Route from File", and select the files to import. The Unit goes blank at this point. I have given it a lot of time to do it's voodoo, but it appears that it just shuts down. I should note that I am using Garmin BaseCamp for Mac. Also, I do NOT have any additional memory in the Unit itself, which is what I assume the problem is... just wanted to make sure. Thanks for any help!
NorCal.matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 02:02 PM   #2
kelly1
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2010
Oddometer: 14
Does anyone know of this issue. I just got one of these and I'm having the same issue and can't find anything about it online ??
kelly1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 02:49 PM   #3
TRZ Charlie
That's MR. Asshole
 
TRZ Charlie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Oddometer: 14,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorCal.matt View Post
Hi all,
I recently got a GPS (first one I've owned) and am trying to get it to make a custom route for a coastal trip. The problem happens when I go to "My Data", "Import Route from File", and select the files to import. The Unit goes blank at this point. I have given it a lot of time to do it's voodoo, but it appears that it just shuts down. I should note that I am using Garmin BaseCamp for Mac. Also, I do NOT have any additional memory in the Unit itself, which is what I assume the problem is... just wanted to make sure. Thanks for any help!
The Nuvi 500 takes up to 250 via points. Do you have more than that in the route? If so, split the route up into a couple of routes not exceeding 250 via points. The Nuvi 500 can only store 10 routes, so check that as well. If you have 10 or more export some to your pc or mac via mapsource.

You if these ideas don't pan out you may have to do a hard reset. To do this:

Hard Reset Procedure: (All except the 8x0/8x5/37xx series units):
1. Power the unit off.
2. Press and hold (and continue to hold) the bottom-right corner of the screen while powering the unit on.
3. Continue to hold the screen until the "Do you want to erase all user data?" prompt appears.
4. Press "yes" and the unit will reboot.
Reset all your location settings and user preferences. Also restore your favorites using the method outlined at the end of this post.


Note*** Doing this will likely delete your favorites so back them up beforehand: From the nuvi drive, copy x:/Garmin/GPX/current.gpx to your backup location. After the hard reset, copy current.gpx back to the same folder on the nuvi but rename it temp.gpx (important). On the next power cycle, the favorites will be read from temp.gpx into the non-user accessible memory area on the nuvi where they are actually stored (current.gpx is only a shadowed backup of your favorites) * Note that this procedure will clear all user selected settings under Tools>Settings like map view mode, navigational settings, selected vehicle, selected voice, etc. These settings will need to be re-configured afterwards. It will also clear out your Recent Finds so make sure you save these as favorites or archive them in another way. Maps, vehicles, voices and user-loaded custom POI's stored on the unit will not be
TRZ Charlie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 08:27 PM   #4
eakins
Butler Maps
 
eakins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Oddometer: 17,660
mine was also crashing but at a different time
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=701373
hard reset and then i used webupdater and redid the latest firmware and now no problems.
__________________
Butler Maps - motorcycle maps for riders by riders -
Alaska
AZ map COBDR AZBDR IDBDR South East map
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=598717
Butler Maps website:
http://www.butlermaps.com
eakins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 08:29 PM   #5
eakins
Butler Maps
 
eakins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Oddometer: 17,660
is that 10 routes when you copy over a .gpx directly to the unit?

if i use mapsource to import one, i create i get 1 only at a time that comes in.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRZ Charlie View Post
The Nuvi 500 takes up to 250 via points. Do you have more than that in the route? If so, split the route up into a couple of routes not exceeding 250 via points. The Nuvi 500 can only store 10 routes, so check that as well. If you have 10 or more export some to your pc or mac via mapsource.

You if these ideas don't pan out you may have to do a hard reset. To do this:

Hard Reset Procedure: (All except the 8x0/8x5/37xx series units):
1. Power the unit off.
2. Press and hold (and continue to hold) the bottom-right corner of the screen while powering the unit on.
3. Continue to hold the screen until the "Do you want to erase all user data?" prompt appears.
4. Press "yes" and the unit will reboot.
Reset all your location settings and user preferences. Also restore your favorites using the method outlined at the end of this post.


Note*** Doing this will likely delete your favorites so back them up beforehand: From the nuvi drive, copy x:/Garmin/GPX/current.gpx to your backup location. After the hard reset, copy current.gpx back to the same folder on the nuvi but rename it temp.gpx (important). On the next power cycle, the favorites will be read from temp.gpx into the non-user accessible memory area on the nuvi where they are actually stored (current.gpx is only a shadowed backup of your favorites) * Note that this procedure will clear all user selected settings under Tools>Settings like map view mode, navigational settings, selected vehicle, selected voice, etc. These settings will need to be re-configured afterwards. It will also clear out your Recent Finds so make sure you save these as favorites or archive them in another way. Maps, vehicles, voices and user-loaded custom POI's stored on the unit will not be
__________________
Butler Maps - motorcycle maps for riders by riders -
Alaska
AZ map COBDR AZBDR IDBDR South East map
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=598717
Butler Maps website:
http://www.butlermaps.com
eakins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 09:47 PM   #6
TRZ Charlie
That's MR. Asshole
 
TRZ Charlie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Oddometer: 14,897
No, it only holds ten max. They transfer one at a time to the unit.
TRZ Charlie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 10:02 PM   #7
kelly1
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2010
Oddometer: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRZ Charlie View Post
The Nuvi 500 takes up to 250 via points. Do you have more than that in the route? If so, split the route up into a couple of routes not exceeding 250 via points. The Nuvi 500 can only store 10 routes, so check that as well. If you have 10 or more export some to your pc or mac via mapsource.

You if these ideas don't pan out you may have to do a hard reset. To do this:

Hard Reset Procedure: (All except the 8x0/8x5/37xx series units):
1. Power the unit off.
2. Press and hold (and continue to hold) the bottom-right corner of the screen while powering the unit on.
3. Continue to hold the screen until the "Do you want to erase all user data?" prompt appears.
4. Press "yes" and the unit will reboot.
Reset all your location settings and user preferences. Also restore your favorites using the method outlined at the end of this post.


Note*** Doing this will likely delete your favorites so back them up beforehand: From the nuvi drive, copy x:/Garmin/GPX/current.gpx to your backup location. After the hard reset, copy current.gpx back to the same folder on the nuvi but rename it temp.gpx (important). On the next power cycle, the favorites will be read from temp.gpx into the non-user accessible memory area on the nuvi where they are actually stored (current.gpx is only a shadowed backup of your favorites) * Note that this procedure will clear all user selected settings under Tools>Settings like map view mode, navigational settings, selected vehicle, selected voice, etc. These settings will need to be re-configured afterwards. It will also clear out your Recent Finds so make sure you save these as favorites or archive them in another way. Maps, vehicles, voices and user-loaded custom POI's stored on the unit will not be
I created three different routes in Base Camp pc version, all with less then 80 via points. Did the hard reset and it still crashes after I try to "Import Route fro File" ?????
kelly1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 07:26 AM   #8
TRZ Charlie
That's MR. Asshole
 
TRZ Charlie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Oddometer: 14,897
Have you updated the unit lately on Garmins site?
TRZ Charlie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 07:32 AM   #9
kelly1
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2010
Oddometer: 14
The sight tells me that it has the latest software..
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRZ Charlie View Post
Have you updated the unit lately on Garmins site?
kelly1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 07:40 AM   #10
TRZ Charlie
That's MR. Asshole
 
TRZ Charlie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Oddometer: 14,897
I'm thinking it's time to spend some quality time with the Garmin Support folks, googling around I find nothing that will help you (you've done what you should have done), I think its time to call Garmin.
TRZ Charlie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 11:29 AM   #11
xymotic
Beastly Adventurer
 
xymotic's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Federal Way, WA
Oddometer: 8,366
Sounds like an issue I had and they told me that you could not route road data in basecamp.

I've had twenty people tell me this is resolved/non-issue. (I got rid of the 500 because it ticked me off so bad) Try exporting your route, import it into RoadTrip and then use Roadtrip to export it to the Nuvi and it should work.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just_Sean
Oh for ***k's sake Aaron. Please link us to my fascist, racist or homophobic posts.
"Anyone who doesn't take truth seriously in small matters cannot be trusted in large ones either."
Albert Einstein


Baja trip to the tip
6:10 to Yuma
trials and tribulations in the Mojave
Baja Blitz Yard sale
View Current Location via Spot Tracker
xymotic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 12:19 PM   #12
GlenInk
Adventurer
 
GlenInk's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Elliot,South Africa
Oddometer: 84
Thumb I have a solution for you !

All you need are two basic tools and follow instructions and you Zumo500 will never ever give you another problem !

The pic below is the tools needed, and the faulty Zumo500 the before fix !
Attached Images
 
__________________
Put brain into gear before opening mouth !
GlenInk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 12:21 PM   #13
GlenInk
Adventurer
 
GlenInk's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Elliot,South Africa
Oddometer: 84
Laugh I have a solution for you !

Below is the after the fix pic. I promise your Zumo500 will never give you another days trouble !

Attached Images
 
__________________
Put brain into gear before opening mouth !
GlenInk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 01:07 PM   #14
xymotic
Beastly Adventurer
 
xymotic's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Federal Way, WA
Oddometer: 8,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlenInk View Post
Below is the after the fix pic. I promise your Zumo500 will never give you another days trouble !

Nuvi 500, not a zumo! Lol, that's seriously crazy. Do you often use 20's to light your BBQ and hundreds to wipe?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just_Sean
Oh for ***k's sake Aaron. Please link us to my fascist, racist or homophobic posts.
"Anyone who doesn't take truth seriously in small matters cannot be trusted in large ones either."
Albert Einstein


Baja trip to the tip
6:10 to Yuma
trials and tribulations in the Mojave
Baja Blitz Yard sale
View Current Location via Spot Tracker
xymotic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 08:54 PM   #15
eakins
Butler Maps
 
eakins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Oddometer: 17,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by kelly1 View Post
The sight tells me that it has the latest software..
choose the option to redo it.
__________________
Butler Maps - motorcycle maps for riders by riders -
Alaska
AZ map COBDR AZBDR IDBDR South East map
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=598717
Butler Maps website:
http://www.butlermaps.com
eakins is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014