ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2014, 09:03 PM   #1
quickstang87 OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Oddometer: 14
Montana temp sensor??!!

I was playing with my new montana 600 and found an option for temperature. For about $30 I can add a wireless temp sensor and display temps on my Montana!

Has anybody done this on their bike, and did it seem fairly accurate and reliable?

I have wanted a thermometer on my bike for quite some time so this would be awesome if it worked okay and was durable.

Thanks
quickstang87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 08:53 AM   #2
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,096
Ahhh n00b's...searching would have provided you with almost a hundred entries on the tempe™ and it's use with the Montana.

It works fine.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 10:26 AM   #3
Riteris
Dessert Runner
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: A place many ADV Riders fear: The Nation's Capital
Oddometer: 2,858
At least he filled out his profile.

I have a Tempe and yes, it works fine. You just need to keep it out of the sun.
__________________
Chris

I am taking the advice of all those people that told me, "Hey kid, why don't you go play in traffic!"
Riteris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 05:43 PM   #4
quickstang87 OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Oddometer: 14
How about you do a search for "montana temperature sensor" and tell me what you find?

I had no idea it was called a "tempe"
quickstang87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 06:58 AM   #5
Mastery
Mr. Funny Man
 
Mastery's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Hoosier Daddy?
Oddometer: 1,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by quickstang87 View Post
How about you do a search for "montana temperature sensor" and tell me what you find?

I had no idea it was called a "tempe"
Don't let him get under your skin. Not everybody is endowed with all-ever knowledge of every subject.

Hell, if we all started using search, then there would be hardly any new posts to read.
__________________
Lighten up, Francis. If you can't take some sarcasm, an Internet forum is the last place you should be.

Free Cash Back for Online Purchases.....One More CashBack Site
Mastery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 07:35 AM   #6
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by quickstang87 View Post
How about you do a search for "montana temperature sensor" and tell me what you find?

I had no idea it was called a "tempe"
Sorry to offend you. The running joke on ADVrider is "search". It doesn't work very well at all.

Since you knew that the tempe cost $30, I concluded you knew the products name and therefore could have looked in the Montana thread.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 07:47 AM   #7
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,878
I have heard that the temp sensor interferes with the ability to transfer between tracks between units. True?

(And I have no intention of searching the megathread post by post for the answer.)
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 07:13 PM   #8
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbbnm View Post
I have heard that the temp sensor interferes with the ability to transfer between tracks between units. True?
False.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 05:20 PM   #9
shu
...
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 979
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbbnm View Post
I have heard that the temp sensor interferes with the ability to transfer between tracks between units. True?

(And I have no intention of searching the megathread post by post for the answer.)
I've not experienced the temp sensor interfering in any way with the operation of the Montana. It just does what it's supposed to do.

...................shu
shu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 07:39 AM   #10
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,878
Thanks. I will inform the guy who told me that that he is FOS.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014