ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-16-2013, 06:34 AM   #10771
Marki_GSA
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Scotland
Oddometer: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelerider View Post
Anyone figure out how to mount an iPhone5 to the new GSW?
Looking for a nice clean install or mount that is close to the outlet on the right hand side of the dash. I know RAM has a bunch of stuff, what did you do?
Pics would be great!!
Don't do it unless it's in a big padded and waterproof bag. The vibration will kill your expensive phone if you mount it hard. Been there and done that I am afraid. Clear pouch in the top of a tank bag is perfect or you can buy padded bags with clear covers to go on the bars. Far from a clean install but your phone will live.
Marki_GSA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 07:32 AM   #10772
ctramp
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Boston
Oddometer: 18
i tried putting my iPhone in my tankbag's clear plastic map pouch this summer and cooked the phone in the desert heat. It recovered, but I kept it in my pocket after that (except at night).
ctramp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 07:55 AM   #10773
Marki_GSA
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Scotland
Oddometer: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctramp View Post
i tried putting my iPhone in my tankbag's clear plastic map pouch this summer and cooked the phone in the desert heat. It recovered, but I kept it in my pocket after that (except at night).
Yes keeping it in your pocket is probably the best idea of the lot. I rarely consider heat damage living in Scotland, waterproof is more a priority lol.
Marki_GSA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 08:28 AM   #10774
JetSpeed
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KNZY
Oddometer: 2,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelerider View Post
Anyone figure out how to mount an iPhone5 to the new GSW?
Looking for a nice clean install or mount that is close to the outlet on the right hand side of the dash. I know RAM has a bunch of stuff, what did you do?
Pics would be great!!

I use one of these SlipGrip handlebar mounts for a RAZR Maxx HD, have used for over a year.
They make them for an iPhone5 to fit if you have the phone in a waterproof case (like a LifeProof): http://www.slipgripcarmounts.com/Usi...s_c_27768.html

I've not had any problem with vibration, I don't use a waterproof case because my phone is water resistant and withstands rain no problem.
They make a couple of different models that attach to the bars and you can spin the phone any direction you want.


__________________
2013 R1200GSW

Breakfast first, lunch second and safety third.
I'm a staunch believer in MTGMTT, don't take unnecessary chances too often.
JetSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 09:32 AM   #10775
steelerider
Southafricanamerican
 
steelerider's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Lancaster, PA.
Oddometer: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetSpeed View Post
I use one of these SlipGrip handlebar mounts for a RAZR Maxx HD, have used for over a year.
They make them for an iPhone5 to fit if you have the phone in a waterproof case (like a LifeProof): http://www.slipgripcarmounts.com/Usi...s_c_27768.html

I've not had any problem with vibration, I don't use a waterproof case because my phone is water resistant and withstands rain no problem.
They make a couple of different models that attach to the bars and you can spin the phone any direction you want.


This is perfect! Thank you.
steelerider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 10:54 AM   #10776
Jarvis
DC GSer
 
Jarvis's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Washington DC
Oddometer: 10,365
Thanks...

What is the bar diameter on the new 2013/14 LC GS?
__________________
Support DC voting rights.
Jarvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 02:53 PM   #10777
duffs
It's been useful
 
duffs's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Battersea (London) UK
Oddometer: 1,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrownn View Post
Because it's a long ride and a wasted day to take it to the dealer if it's something simple. That's why.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrownn View Post
Turned out to be an unplugged switch that took 10 minutes to fix.
Never a wasted day, just another reason to get out and ride!

Glad to hear it's fixed.
__________________
Ride reports: Europe 2014 | Alps 2013 | Fryslân 2012
2012 F 800 GS Trophy 2014 R 1200 GS TE

Blog: Gelände Straßetastic! Facebook Tumblr
Ride reports, photos, tips, experiences, general twaddle
duffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 03:39 PM   #10778
sbrownn
SlowMo
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Oddometer: 457
2 hours

Quote:
Originally Posted by smithdt View Post
SO how far away from the dealer are you?

just curious....for me it will be approx 6 hours so I REALLY hope mine doesn't have too many issues.
No matter how you shake it out it's a wasted day.
sbrownn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 03:41 PM   #10779
sbrownn
SlowMo
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Oddometer: 457
or sit at the dealers

Quote:
Originally Posted by duffs View Post
Never a wasted day, just another reason to get out and ride!

Glad to hear it's fixed.
Most of the day would be spent sitting at the dealers shop and then feeling like a stupid fool for bothering them with something so trivial.
sbrownn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 03:42 PM   #10780
sbrownn
SlowMo
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Oddometer: 457
1.25 inches

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarvis View Post
Thanks...

What is the bar diameter on the new 2013/14 LC GS?
1.25 inches although it is probably expressed better in millimeters.
sbrownn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 03:44 PM   #10781
sbrownn
SlowMo
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Oddometer: 457
Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by EJ_92606 View Post
Hmm, any idea where the plug is?
It is inside the switch housing.
sbrownn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 08:18 PM   #10782
pauljm
R1200GS WC
 
pauljm's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Cronulla NSW Australia
Oddometer: 55
BMW LED auxiliary headlights mounted with Touratech Crash Bars Extns

Has anyone come up with a good way to mount the genuine BMW LED auxiliary headlights with the Touratech Crash Bar extensions. Got mine yesterday then mounted the Bars last night & realized they mount where the BMW mount for the LEDs is so I had to remove the mount. I just rigged them up temporarily & the dealer will look at a solution but if someone already has a good solution it may save some time & swearing.
__________________

R1200GS LC
pauljm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 10:04 PM   #10783
mefly2
Beastly Adventurer
 
mefly2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Big Sky Country
Oddometer: 1,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by pauljm View Post
Has anyone come up with a good way to mount the genuine BMW LED auxiliary headlights with the Touratech Crash Bar extensions. Got mine yesterday then mounted the Bars last night & realized they mount where the BMW mount for the LEDs is so I had to remove the mount. I just rigged them up temporarily & the dealer will look at a solution but if someone already has a good solution it may save some time & swearing.
Try PIAA bracket 602-74000 7/8" to 1.25" univ light mount. It works well for me on my TT upper CBs.
__________________
----------------> jer-
30+ years with RTs...then to F/GS; now *Finally*
the BMW: R1200GSW, factory low seat & lower crash bars;
Touratech: Upper Crash Bars, big foot, pannier rack, ZegaPro panniers;
Fuzeblock, Rigid Dually D2 + yellow covers; Wunderlich bar risers w/ Q-adjust
mefly2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 06:12 AM   #10784
IB1
Studly Adventurer
 
IB1's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Brussels
Oddometer: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by smithdt View Post
SO how far away from the dealer are you?

just curious....for me it will be approx 6 hours so I REALLY hope mine doesn't have too many issues.
30 min to the dealer (on foot), or 5 min by bike
IB1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 06:20 AM   #10785
IB1
Studly Adventurer
 
IB1's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Brussels
Oddometer: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by NLS View Post
Actually the only one that can tell us something real about the dumper is an '13 owner that either switched to '14 (yes there are such consumer nuts or filthy rich people out there) or a '13 owner that has test-rode a '14 with exactly this test in mind.

Anybody out there?
No difference in riding them normally.

And no, I haven't switched to an '14. the dealer is keeping the 13 as a test bike atm. But 14's heve been delivered for clients.
IB1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014