ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2012, 10:10 PM   #1276
dmac57
Beastly Adventurer
 
dmac57's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 2,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVonBaden View Post
Actually, the bike will stay running until you shut it off. This is typical of these kinds of "keys".
This is correct. You get a "key out of range" warning.
__________________
"Everybody's got to believe in something.
I believe I'll have another beer."
- W. C. Fields
dmac57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 11:15 PM   #1277
EJ_92606
Rider
 
EJ_92606's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Oddometer: 1,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dorian View Post
Stop for gas. Unlock gas cap. Set key on pump. Fill bike and close gas cap. Start bike (without key it's still on the gas pump). Ride off. Miles/hours later stop for fuel. Hmmm... now where's that damn key?!

Well, that's what I'd probably do.

- Dorian
Yeap, It's actually happened on the Multistrada....although the bike can also be started with a password on the display which is nice, but it doesn't help you find your $200 high tech fob.....
EJ_92606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 11:16 PM   #1278
EJ_92606
Rider
 
EJ_92606's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Oddometer: 1,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmac57 View Post
This is correct. You get a "key out of range" warning.
No warning on the Multistrada from what I hear.
EJ_92606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 11:40 PM   #1279
tallguy-09
Smile 4 Miles
 
tallguy-09's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Vancouver
Oddometer: 1,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by EJ_92606 View Post
No warning on the Multistrada from what I hear.
OK, let's forget about keyless ignition then :-)
I'm sure we'll need something else. Cruise control analog K1600GT?
We're already using the same handlebar controls and ride by wire > Easy.


tallguy-09 screwed with this post 01-05-2012 at 11:50 PM
tallguy-09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 04:37 AM   #1280
Poolside
Syndicated
 
Poolside's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Oddometer: 11,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by McFuryMcNugget View Post

Since what we know is that Canbus is NOT just 2 wires...
2 wires is exactly what it is.

Its a System wire. Wired for a computer that can make it do anything.

It has limitless potential and uses.
It only transmits and receives data over 2 wires, that's the extent of it's potential.
Say you have a PC or Mac, and it's hooked to a printer via a USB cable. When you print a document, do you imagine that the USB interface did the printing? Or, are you clear that the printer did the work, and the USB interface merely carried data?

That's how a CAN interface works. It doesn't turn on a headlight, any more than it prints a document. The CAN interface merely carries data to and from complex devices. The CAN interface is unaware of the data it's carrying. The CAN interface is no more aware of what type of data it's sending than a USB interface is.




The smart money says that the explanation will prove pointless. You know, because everybody knows that the CAN interface powers and controls everything.

__________________

IICE Air Hotrod your GS  Fuel Injection  Tech Info  Buy  Order List  Installation

Poolside screwed with this post 01-06-2012 at 04:51 AM
Poolside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 05:23 AM   #1281
Spyker
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Planet Earth
Oddometer: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poolside View Post
Say you have a PC or Mac, and it's hooked to a printer via a USB cable. When you print a document, do you imagine that the USB interface did the printing? Or, are you clear that the printer did the work, and the USB interface merely carried data?

That's how a CAN interface works. It doesn't turn on a headlight, any more than it prints a document. The CAN interface merely carries data to and from complex devices. The CAN interface is unaware of the data it's carrying. The CAN interface is no more aware of what type of data it's sending than a USB interface is.




The smart money says that the explanation will prove pointless. You know, because everybody knows that the CAN interface powers and controls everything.
So this is something similar to the 1-Wire technology from Dallas we use for real time clock and temperature switches? The wire is only the physical layer and it's unaware of what data its carrying?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottie boy
If you calculated the money spent versus time actually used, vaginas cost more per hour than the space shuttle.
Spyker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 05:44 AM   #1282
Poolside
Syndicated
 
Poolside's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Oddometer: 11,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyker View Post

So this is something similar to the 1-Wire technology from Dallas we use for real time clock and temperature switches? The wire is only the physical layer and it's unaware of what data its carrying?
In the same way that an Ethernet network for your computer is unaware of what data it's transporting, only that it gets it from point A to point B unchanged.

Same 'data ignorance' say for, FireWire, Thunderbolt, SATA, PATA, HDMI, DVI, RS232, Parallel, HART, Modbus, Profibus, Fieldbus, etc., etc., as well as all the wireless data protocols such as WiFi, Bluetooth, and ZigBee.

The CAN network only moves data between a network of controllers. Hence the name Controller Area Network.



__________________

IICE Air Hotrod your GS  Fuel Injection  Tech Info  Buy  Order List  Installation
Poolside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 07:53 AM   #1283
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by tallguy-09 View Post
Did I mention it? I want it.
I want to be as happy as our Italian friend on the picture
Let's get rid of that key.
Well, and I want standard LED fog lights and HID (Xenon) lo-beam.

He and the bike have the same nose!
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 12:16 PM   #1284
tallguy-09
Smile 4 Miles
 
tallguy-09's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Vancouver
Oddometer: 1,436
Top Camel!

Who needs a 2013 if the 2012 is the "preferred choice for movie and rock stars"?
And how about the "6-speed transmission that's useful when driving in challenging terrain"?

Actually this makes me think that a dual clutch tranny similar to Honda Crosstourer would be nice, would it?


Vancouver Sun 2012-01-06
tallguy-09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 12:54 PM   #1285
Ducksbane
Quaaack!!!
 
Ducksbane's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Northern NSW
Oddometer: 1,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by EJ_92606 View Post
No warning on the Multistrada from what I hear.
Im pretty sure it does warn you ... up to the rider to notice I guess.

I think you would develop a system to check, like the one I have for my wallet and phone ... always check you have them before you go far from your last stop.
__________________
"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing." - Edmund Bourke Irish orator, philosopher, & politician (1729 - 1797)
Ducksbane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 01:55 PM   #1286
flightestman
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Oddometer: 178
Liquid cooled boxer has a good look to it or not?

So what do you think about the new liquid cooled boxer looks. Does it look good or doesn't look good?
Attached Images
 
flightestman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 02:40 PM   #1287
kiwiAdventure
Beastly Adventurer
 
kiwiAdventure's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Oddometer: 1,398
It would be nice for the 2013 to have an option for heated seats, speed control and bluetooth. Speed control would be most helpful in stopping some speeding tickets.
kiwiAdventure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 03:03 PM   #1288
bigdave-gs
Explorer
 
bigdave-gs's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Central Texas
Oddometer: 2,386
I would love to see cruise control with the new bike. It would help with my aging hands. Only thing I worry about is leg room with the new liquid cooled bike. It appears to have less and my 40" inseam can't handle less leg room.
__________________
I'd be unstoppable if not for Law Enforcement and Physics !
Inside every older person is a younger person wondering what the hell happened !

Ridden so many bikes I lost count ! ! !
bigdave-gs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 04:34 PM   #1289
marchyman
Cam Killer
 
marchyman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Oddometer: 7,192
OK, I'll play the blue meany.... I certainly hope it doesn't have cruise control. Or if it does that it is a stand-alone option, not one of those options that are part of package that you have to order in order to get the few things you really want.

If you want cruise control buy an RT or a GT.

Other things I don't want on a GS ... ESA ... radio ... bluetooth anything
marchyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 04:48 PM   #1290
ShaftEd
Beastly Adventurer
 
ShaftEd's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2001
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Oddometer: 3,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by marchyman View Post
OK, I'll play the blue meany.... I certainly hope it doesn't have cruise control. Or if it does that it is a stand-alone option, not one of those options that are part of package that you have to order in order to get the few things you really want.

If you want cruise control buy an RT or a GT.

Other things I don't want on a GS ... ESA ... radio ... bluetooth anything



I don't know, with "ride by wire" cruise control would be easy to add, and not really add any weight. It would just be software that point. As for ESA, it looks like they will try some type of active suspension. Not just electronic adjustment, but actual on the fly changes that monitor speed and other telemetry and change settings as you ride. Could be cool, or it could be a way to add serious $ to the MSRP, which is something BMW is always looking to do. They definitely have a need to up the options on each new model. Same with their auto's. They've done pretty good on all the electronics for the S1000R, so I'm hopeful all this tech will actually be useful on the new GS.
ShaftEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014