Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-04-2011, 11:12 AM   #1
BrokenR80RT OP
But I'll fix it.

Oddometer: 157
Carburetor Rebuild - Is it worth sending out?

I guess I am need of advice again. I was removing one of my carburetors and out fell a little broken piece of a metal pin...... Now I'm thinkin' I had better rebuild the carbs. I'll add a picture, but it's about 1-1.5 mm dia x 1/4" length.

I am mechanically inclined by trade, but I am wondering for a first time rebuild if I should risk doing it myself or ship them to someone like Bing.

Did anyone try this for a first time and have a lot of issues or is this a straight forward process?

Also, any reviews on Bing's updated float and bowl...Is it really a 4-7 mpg improvement + improved torque? Responses will be considered data on this one.

Thanks a bunch!
BrokenR80RT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 11:30 AM   #2
Renner
combustophile

Oddometer: 1,873
DIY and save a bundle. It's not a 2,000 piece jigsaw puzzle.
No need to update the bowls/floats.
OTOH the Bing catalog is handy but not absolutely necessary.

If you have access to a small ultrasonic cleaning tank use it, your carbs will sparkle like new.
In fact use the money saved to buy yourself one if you haven't already.
Old 02-04-2011, 11:32 AM   #3
The Raven
Banned

Oddometer: 4,813
1. Post photo of broken pin thing....you need an ID as hopefully nothing jumped into your engine

2. Not hard to rebuild, just make sure you do one at a time, do it carefully and systematically. Use Tom's r80g/s rebuild thread as a reference, as well as a couple different exploded views. Rebuild kits have everything you need.
EUBMW sells a good kit cheap

3. The independent floats from what I heard are not good. I have not used them

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrokenR80RT View Post