ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2011, 04:18 PM   #1
The Raven OP
Banned
 
The Raven's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Off the map,
Oddometer: 4,813
Lining up the points can right?

I was wondering how to line up my points can. I recall back when I had points on my old CB450 that you had to hook up a light with alligator clips to the points and the other end to the + on a battery. Idea was that when the points closed the light would come on. I don't see why I can't do this with the G/S bean can?

Hook it up, turn the flywheel to S, and rotate the can till the lite comes on. In theory it would be perfectly timed, no?
The Raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 04:23 PM   #2
StephenB
G(/)S ... what else!
 
StephenB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 2,046
Yep!
__________________

Some of the above is fact, some is fiction, some is my personal imagination and some is just simple truth. [me]

... i'm not touring around the world, but neither are most of the guys i see running overloaded spam cans ... [bmwblake]

Stephen Bottcher
Ontario, Canada

'72 R75/5 The Blues

www.stephenbottcher.net
StephenB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 04:28 PM   #3
pommie john
Beastly Adventurer
 
pommie john's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Brisvegas, Australia
Oddometer: 1,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Raven View Post
Hook it up, turn the flywheel to S, and rotate the can till the lite comes on. In theory it would be perfectly timed, no?
I'd say it was adequately timed , ready to be strobed.
__________________
The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt.
Bertrand Russell
pommie john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 06:53 PM   #4
The Raven OP
Banned
 
The Raven's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Off the map,
Oddometer: 4,813
Quote:
Originally Posted by pommie john View Post
I'd say it was adequately timed , ready to be strobed.
I think this would give a more accurate time than a strobe?
The Raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 07:02 PM   #5
Wirespokes
Beemerholics Anonymous
 
Wirespokes's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Jackson's Bottom Oregon
Oddometer: 7,938
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Raven View Post
I think this would give a more accurate time than a strobe?
Not necessarily since things can be different when in motion.

Also, check the full advance since that's more important than the retarded setting, and that's difficult to set statically with the points-in-a-can system.
__________________
Wanted: Dead, smashed, crashed or trashed gauges
BMW GAUGE REPAIRS - TACH*SPEEDO*CLOCK*VOLT METER *PODs & LIGHT BOARD*
Wirespokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 08:57 PM   #6
bgoodsoil
Dare to be Stupid
 
bgoodsoil's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Washington, DC, USA
Oddometer: 4,293
I did that when I hooked up my can. Datchew called it 'statically timing'. We did that, then checked it with a strobe and it was right on.
__________________
'85 BMW r80G/S--Another G/S on the road--Central America on a Shoestring--Nova Scotia on a Shoestring--Never Leave a Man's Behind

Proud SmugMug User Support ADV: Don't give those cheap bums your discount code
bgoodsoil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 09:02 PM   #7
Anorak
Woolf Barnato
 
Anorak's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: OAK
Oddometer: 32,964
No, since the coil fires when the points open, it's correct statically when the light goes off.
__________________
'Gonna get me a six pack...push people off the highway!'

"they live off the carrion of our mutual distrust and bribe us with symbols that equate hatred with manhood."

"I mean at the end of the day, I was addicted to Starting Fluid for Christ's sake!"

"Yeah, that guy sure is terrible at touching moms"
Anorak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 12:04 AM   #8
LasseNC
XSessive!
 
LasseNC's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark, Danimarka, Danmark, Dänemark
Oddometer: 1,055
At idle or close to, yes. But worn advance mechanisms will change that fact. So when the engine spends most time at full advance, that is where you want the timing spot-on.

Edit:
Read your post incorrect Anorak.
LasseNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 05:24 AM   #9
mykill
odd
 
mykill's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Oddometer: 1,157
correct!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anorak View Post
No, since the coil fires when the points open, it's correct statically when the light goes off.
yes
__________________
Never underestimate the laxative properties of motorcycling.
mykill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 02:53 PM   #10
The Raven OP
Banned
 
The Raven's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Off the map,
Oddometer: 4,813
I installed the points can today and wanted to verify that the install was done correctly. As the bike is not ready to fire up yet, I used the static method.

This is what I did.

Ohm meter set to ohms. One lead on the can output, the other to ground

rotated engine until S was in the window timing mark. Then rotated the can until I lost continuity. Tightened it with no continuity and less than a millimeter to make contact again.

Is this right?
The Raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 03:07 PM   #11
StephenB
G(/)S ... what else!
 
StephenB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 2,046
Sounds right and will start the engine no matter what. But you need to check with a timing light once you have the engine running, at idle and full advance.
__________________

Some of the above is fact, some is fiction, some is my personal imagination and some is just simple truth. [me]

... i'm not touring around the world, but neither are most of the guys i see running overloaded spam cans ... [bmwblake]

Stephen Bottcher
Ontario, Canada

'72 R75/5 The Blues

www.stephenbottcher.net
StephenB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 03:11 PM   #12
The Raven OP
Banned
 
The Raven's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Off the map,
Oddometer: 4,813
I also ran a single wire up to where the coil will live. Probably 16ga. Is this where the wire is supposed to go?
The Raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 06:12 PM   #13
StephenB
G(/)S ... what else!
 
StephenB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 2,046
If you're talking points wire then yes. And originally it is a black wire.
__________________

Some of the above is fact, some is fiction, some is my personal imagination and some is just simple truth. [me]

... i'm not touring around the world, but neither are most of the guys i see running overloaded spam cans ... [bmwblake]

Stephen Bottcher
Ontario, Canada

'72 R75/5 The Blues

www.stephenbottcher.net
StephenB is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014