ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS Tracks - Rockies
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2011, 02:46 PM   #1
Jaqen H'ghar OP
Valar Morgoulis
 
Jaqen H'ghar's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 198
Zumo/Mac route for the CDR needed.

I've been trying to get a route onto my Zumo 550 using my Mac and the "Roadtrip" program, (Garmin says Mapsourse is for PC's only) everybody else I talked to says the Zumo 550 can't save tracks so that's not good to hear after spending a shit load of $$$ on getting the unit, then getting it all on my KTM 990 Adv. wired up and ready with all the Touratech set-up on the dash, I'm into this now so there's no turning back, have a CDR ride next summer and I would like to be ready and confident that I'm not going to lead my friends into trouble out there, I don't think that's asking too much is it?
Spent 2 hrs on the phone with Garmin/Mac specialist and he got B/D's CDR route loaded onto my Roadtrip map on my Mac but when he saw all the waypoints on B/D's route he said "this is not going to fit" seems I can only have 250 waypoints on my Zumo (called via's in a Zumo) and B/D's route has a lot more then that.
So I think I need a route with less then 250 waypoints that somebody else has used using a Mac and a Zumo. Am I the only inmate with a Mac and a Zumo that's ever wanted to ride the CDR?
__________________
"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats" H.L. Mencken
_____________________________________________

2014 R1200 RT
Jaqen H'ghar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 02:56 PM   #2
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,084
Lots of people have done it but I am clueless about MAC software.

Do you know any one with a PC and Mapsource?

Bottom line, I have tracks ready to load that you can find on GPSXchange.com.

Using a PC just download the tracks, your Zumo should say it found new data and do you want to convert the tracks to routes, say yes and it should do it for you.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 02:57 PM   #3
AKASY
Noob
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Hopefully on a bike
Oddometer: 2,151
I don't currently use Garmins--I'm a Delorme user--but many times I have just stripped the Waypoints off of a .gdb leaving only the tracks and used them sucessfully--normally take them to a .gpx and then import to my Delorme. I like tracks much better than routes so I'm in the minority but following a red line works for me. Rode the CDT that way and will do the TAT this summer the same way.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Numnuts View Post
I've been trying to get a route onto my Zumo 550 using my Mac and the "Roadtrip" program, (Garmin says Mapsourse is for PC's only) everybody else I talked to says the Zumo 550 can't save tracks so that's not good to hear after spending a shit load of $$$ on getting the unit, then getting it all on my KTM 990 Adv. wired up and ready with all the Touratech set-up on the dash, I'm into this now so there's no turning back, have a CDR ride next summer and I would like to be ready and confident that I'm not going to lead my friends into trouble out there, I don't think that's asking too much is it?
Spent 2 hrs on the phone with Garmin/Mac specialist and he got B/D's CDR route loaded onto my Roadtrip map on my Mac but when he saw all the waypoints on B/D's route he said "this is not going to fit" seems I can only have 250 waypoints on my Zumo (called via's in a Zumo) and B/D's route has a lot more then that.
So I think I need a route with less then 250 waypoints that somebody else has used using a Mac and a Zumo. Am I the only inmate with a Mac and a Zumo that's ever wanted to ride the CDR?
__________________
Don't make the mistake of believing everything you think.
AKASY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 03:06 PM   #4
RozzyCat
Bleeds orange
 
RozzyCat's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Down by the river
Oddometer: 440
My approach

I use Zumo550/Mac/Basecamp. Yes - the Zumo limits you to 250 via points in a route. Here's my workaround:
1) open route in Basecamp
2) choose View in GoogleEarth
3) save as Place in GEarth
4) then go to www.GPSVisualizer
5) translate file to .gpx
6) import .gpx into Basecamp, optimize, add key waypoints
7) save in Basecamp (it will show up as a track)
8) send to GPS
9) no more 250 point limitation :-)

You'll loose via point labels during this process but you can edit add waypts where helpful. Hope this works for you.
__________________
KTM 990, 300XC-W, 500EXC
RozzyCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 03:55 PM   #5
Jaqen H'ghar OP
Valar Morgoulis
 
Jaqen H'ghar's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
Lots of people have done it but I am clueless about MAC software.

Do you know any one with a PC and Mapsource?

Bottom line, I have tracks ready to load that you can find on GPSXchange.com.

Using a PC just download the tracks, your Zumo should say it found new data and do you want to convert the tracks to routes, say yes and it should do it for you.
Dude,
why didn't I think of that? (don't answer that).
1.) I will give this a try, just have to find a friend who uses PC, then convince him it will only take a minute or 2.
2.) The only problem is still the fact that the Zumo only takes up to 250 via's.
on a ride like the CDR I can expect a lot more via's on your file then 250.
please understand, I'm still trying to figure all this out still, thank you, Countdown!
__________________
"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats" H.L. Mencken
_____________________________________________

2014 R1200 RT
Jaqen H'ghar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 04:02 PM   #6
Jaqen H'ghar OP
Valar Morgoulis
 
Jaqen H'ghar's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by RozzyCat View Post
I use Zumo550/Mac/Basecamp. Yes - the Zumo limits you to 250 via points in a route. Here's my workaround:
1) open route in Basecamp
2) choose View in GoogleEarth
3) save as Place in GEarth
4) then go to www.GPSVisualizer
5) translate file to .gpx
6) import .gpx into Basecamp, optimize, add key waypoints
7) save in Basecamp (it will show up as a track)
8) send to GPS
9) no more 250 point limitation :-)

You'll loose via point labels during this process but you can edit add waypts where helpful. Hope this works for you.

Thanks for your help here R/C,
I have a question, when I called Garmin about all these problems I was encountering, they said that since I was using a Mac, that I had to use "Roadtrip", not "Basecamp"? What is the difference? Can I do your method in "Roadtrip"?
__________________
"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats" H.L. Mencken
_____________________________________________

2014 R1200 RT
Jaqen H'ghar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 04:06 PM   #7
mrmagoolin
Studly Adventurer
 
mrmagoolin's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: God's Country
Oddometer: 514
I have never used a Zumo, but reading the specs, is it 250 vias per route? If that is the case your Zumo will hold 50 routes, so split the whole CDR into 25 routes of 250 vias (don't know what it really would work out to)
mrmagoolin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 04:16 PM   #8
RozzyCat
Bleeds orange
 
RozzyCat's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Down by the river
Oddometer: 440
Roadtrip and Basecamp

I've never used Roadtrip but I'm guessing if you can "view in GoogleEarth" and import a .gpx file - then you can do it. Basecamp is available on the Garmin website and is free. I use it and the Mapsource Topo maps.

I forgot to mention but this is my method for laying out new rides for myself. I pick a destination then layout a route on GoogleEarth for the most remote roads to get there. It's been fun...we'll not as much fun as riding them.
__________________
KTM 990, 300XC-W, 500EXC
RozzyCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 04:29 PM   #9
Jaqen H'ghar OP
Valar Morgoulis
 
Jaqen H'ghar's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmagoolin View Post
I have never used a Zumo, but reading the specs, is it 250 vias per route? If that is the case your Zumo will hold 50 routes, so split the whole CDR into 25 routes of 250 vias (don't know what it really would work out to)
That was exactly what I asked of the Garmin Rep, why not just break down this extensive waypoint/via route into 2 or more routes? Then when I get to the end of route 1 just switch over to route 2 etc.
He didn't want to go there. I think I used up too much of the allotted time.
Thanks though mrmagoolin, I will also pursue this option.
__________________
"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats" H.L. Mencken
_____________________________________________

2014 R1200 RT
Jaqen H'ghar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 04:34 PM   #10
Jaqen H'ghar OP
Valar Morgoulis
 
Jaqen H'ghar's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by RozzyCat View Post
I've never used Roadtrip but I'm guessing if you can "view in GoogleEarth" and import a .gpx file - then you can do it. Basecamp is available on the Garmin website and is free. I use it and the Mapsource Topo maps.

I forgot to mention but this is my method for laying out new rides for myself. I pick a destination then layout a route on GoogleEarth for the most remote roads to get there. It's been fun...we'll not as much fun as riding them.
R/C, I just went and looked at the "Roadtrip" map with the extensive CDR route that I have on it, I do not see any option to view in Google Earth.
Maybe I should just download "Basecamp".
__________________
"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats" H.L. Mencken
_____________________________________________

2014 R1200 RT
Jaqen H'ghar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 05:20 PM   #11
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by Numnuts View Post
Dude,
why didn't I think of that? (don't answer that).
1.) I will give this a try, just have to find a friend who uses PC, then convince him it will only take a minute or 2.
2.) The only problem is still the fact that the Zumo only takes up to 250 via's.
on a ride like the CDR I can expect a lot more via's on your file then 250.
please understand, I'm still trying to figure all this out still, thank you, Countdown!
These guys are all giving you lots of work for a very simple job in Mapsource.

My tracks are set with 500 tracks points each. I think there are 18 of them or comething.

I am not sure what the Zumo does, but worst case cut each of my tracks in half and have 250 tracks points per track.

BTW Routes can be very dangerous, I would at least buy a cheap $200 hand held that takes Tracks as a back up.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 05:38 PM   #12
Jaqen H'ghar OP
Valar Morgoulis
 
Jaqen H'ghar's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
These guys are all giving you lots of work for a very simple job in Mapsource.

My tracks are set with 500 tracks points each. I think there are 18 of them or comething.

I am not sure what the Zumo does, but worst case cut each of my tracks in half and have 250 tracks points per track.

BTW Routes can be very dangerous, I would at least buy a cheap $200 hand held that takes Tracks as a back up.
Yep, I'm going to pick up a 60 series as a main unit and just use the Zumo for the Mini-van.
I had no idea of the time involved in getting this done. I thought I did my homework before buying it but if you don't know what to ask, then you pay big time to learn that its not what I thought it was, hope this all helps somebody else who's looking to buy a Garmin Zumo, just be aware of the way they promote it, for motorcycles yes, but do not plan on going on a trip that requires routing. My bad.
__________________
"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats" H.L. Mencken
_____________________________________________

2014 R1200 RT
Jaqen H'ghar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 05:46 PM   #13
Twohondas
Beastly Adventurer
 
Twohondas's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 1,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Numnuts View Post
Yep, I'm going to pick up a 60 series as a main unit and just use the Zumo for the Mini-van.
I had no idea of the time involved in getting this done. I thought I did my homework before buying it but if you don't know what to ask, then you pay big time to learn that its not what I thought it was, hope this all helps somebody else who's looking to buy a Garmin Zumo, just be aware of the way they promote it, for motorcycles yes, but do not plan on going on a trip that requires routing. My bad.
Zumo will route with the best of them ...tracks are the issue.

Be aware that a track downloaded into a Z550 may contain 250 pt but the Zumo conversion routine may actually reduce that number so there may be less than 250 points in the new off road route. If there is a actual road (in mapset) involved there will be a lot less points. If there is a real road involved you can convert thousands of points to a route ...no problem. For pure off road after 250 converted points you jump to the last point in the track. I have converted 1000 off road track points to a perfect 250 via point route but of course it depends on the nature of the tracks.

While there is a limit to how many routes you can load into the ZUmo the real number in unlimited as you just put them on the SD card or unit drive and then import them when you need them. I used to load all my routes for a tour now I just load the first couple days and then import the rest ...if it all happens like planned.

Important - Make sure Zumo set to off road mode and recalc off.
Twohondas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 05:56 AM   #14
Pantah
Red Sox Nation
 
Pantah's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: India Wharf
Oddometer: 10,068
Using RoadTrip on Your Mac

Hi - I have an approach you might try.

I have a MAC and new Roadtrip Software I am just learning. I am preparing to do this same trip in Sep, but I am using tracks. I am pretty sure you can simply make a 'route' on your Roadtrip software and transfer it to your Zumo. Here is how I would do it:

Go to BigDog's CDR thread here and download his tracks to your RoadTrip. You do this by downloading the tracks to your 'Downloads' file on your Mac. Then open your Roadtrip software:

1. Go to File tab at the top and click on 'Import'. Your 'downloads' storage file should pop up on your screen.
2. Scroll down the 'downloads' pop up until you see BigDogs file. It will be in bold black lettering.
3. Click on the file and hit import. In a flash you'll have the tracks on your Mac.
4. On the left of your RoadTrip window click on 'latest imports'. Scroll over to the Rockies at a high level and you should see BigDog's tracks overlayed on the map.

Now you have the CDR route as represented by BigDog's tracks. If you zoom in to .2 miles, you will reveal the actual road names followed by the tracks for the entire trip. if you are zoomed to .3 you see no roads, only tracks. You need the roads so you can recreate the route using your routing tools on RoadTrip, and you have to zoom to .2 miles to see them.

At his point I think I would probably write the roads and have a set of Delorme or Benchmark maps to assist me get familiar with the CDR. With a couple days study you will know all you need to simply open your RoadTrip and start routing. Then you send it to your Zumo.

I am told the reason you want to use tracks is because you don't want the autoroute service of the GPS to go wonky on you and start taking you places you don't want to go. But after examining every mile of the route on my maps and software zoomed to .2 miles, I think there shouldn't be any autorouting issues, provided you are careful to waypoint at each intersection. Every road on the CDR is named or numbered and on your software.

As an example of a potential autoroute issue, I noted that some of the roads through the great basin parallel eachother, and all have the same name! Riverview Cutoff south out of Atlantic City is one of those. This could be confusing to the autoroute system, so I think it important to click your routing tool with short intervals along the path of BigDog's tracks.

I went to Amazon.com to buy my maps. Each state is about $20 for Benchmark, and $14 for DeLorme. The DeLormes have more detail, but maybe too much detail for efficient planning. The Benchmarks require good reading glasses, but the detail matches your RoadTrip software at the .2 mile zoom.

When are you going? I'll be on the CDR mid Sep. -P
__________________
Straight ahead and faster -Bo Weaver 1970
"There I was..." -Griffin Niner Three Hotel
"One day closer to a parade..." Jonny Gomes, spring training 2013
Pantah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 08:34 AM   #15
Jaqen H'ghar OP
Valar Morgoulis
 
Jaqen H'ghar's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pantah View Post
Hi - I have an approach you might try.

I have a MAC and new Roadtrip Software I am just learning. I am preparing to do this same trip in Sep, but I am using tracks. I am pretty sure you can simply make a 'route' on your Roadtrip software and transfer it to your Zumo. Here is how I would do it:

Go to BigDog's CDR thread here and download his tracks to your RoadTrip. You do this by downloading the tracks to your 'Downloads' file on your Mac. Then open your Roadtrip software:

1. Go to File tab at the top and click on 'Import'. Your 'downloads' storage file should pop up on your screen.
2. Scroll down the 'downloads' pop up until you see BigDogs file. It will be in bold black lettering.
3. Click on the file and hit import. In a flash you'll have the tracks on your Mac.
4. On the left of your RoadTrip window click on 'latest imports'. Scroll over to the Rockies at a high level and you should see BigDog's tracks overlayed on the map.

Now you have the CDR route as represented by BigDog's tracks. If you zoom in to .2 miles, you will reveal the actual road names followed by the tracks for the entire trip. if you are zoomed to .3 you see no roads, only tracks. You need the roads so you can recreate the route using your routing tools on RoadTrip, and you have to zoom to .2 miles to see them.

At his point I think I would probably write the roads and have a set of Delorme or Benchmark maps to assist me get familiar with the CDR. With a couple days study you will know all you need to simply open your RoadTrip and start routing. Then you send it to your Zumo.

I am told the reason you want to use tracks is because you don't want the autoroute service of the GPS to go wonky on you and start taking you places you don't want to go. But after examining every mile of the route on my maps and software zoomed to .2 miles, I think there shouldn't be any autorouting issues, provided you are careful to waypoint at each intersection. Every road on the CDR is named or numbered and on your software.

As an example of a potential autoroute issue, I noted that some of the roads through the great basin parallel eachother, and all have the same name! Riverview Cutoff south out of Atlantic City is one of those. This could be confusing to the autoroute system, so I think it important to click your routing tool with short intervals along the path of BigDog's tracks.

I went to Amazon.com to buy my maps. Each state is about $20 for Benchmark, and $14 for DeLorme. The DeLormes have more detail, but maybe too much detail for efficient planning. The Benchmarks require good reading glasses, but the detail matches your RoadTrip software at the .2 mile zoom.

When are you going? I'll be on the CDR mid Sep. -P


Thaks P,
I will am trying different suggestions and yours will be coming up soon, will let you know by PM how it comes out, I will be going S to N sometime in July or early Sept. it would be nice to meet up but probably not going to easy to set up as I will be with a bunch of yahoo's going full bore thinking they all know the way after briefly looking at a bicycle book on the CDR. Heaven help me.
__________________
"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats" H.L. Mencken
_____________________________________________

2014 R1200 RT
Jaqen H'ghar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014