ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Hacks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-13-2013, 05:23 AM   #16
Cockney
n00b
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Oddometer: 5
How to get Ural and sidecar in transit van

Hi all

Just bought a 2010 Ural and sidecar and need to transport it a few hundred miles home.

Plan A is to transport it in a Ford Transit van (standard white van-man size) and was hoping that with unbolting the sidecar that it would fit? Anybody done this before? The Luton is the big box shape, I have the small standard type.

The van comfortably takes 2 dirt bikes side-by-side and will take a third slotted in-between.

Thanks

Andy
Cockney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 09:38 PM   #17
Ivan Rider
Studly Adventurer
 
Ivan Rider's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Bodega Bay & Galt. California
Oddometer: 535
It's been done before. Alex in L.A. hauled his home in a Mini-Van like that in two pieces. It will work and as Cob said it you do it right you will not mess up you alignment. Good Luck
__________________
'99 Ural Patrol '78 BMW R100/Ural sidecar
'03 BMW R1200CLC Solo & Ural sidecar Rig
'06 Honda Big Ruckus Solo & Sidecar Rig
'10 Ural ST Solo
http://www.flickr.com/photo s/ivanrider/
Ivan Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 10:52 PM   #18
Tarka
Doesn't wave back.
 
Tarka's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Across the pond.
Oddometer: 1,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cockney View Post
Hi all

Just bought a 2010 Ural and sidecar and need to transport it a few hundred miles home.

Plan A is to transport it in a Ford Transit van (standard white van-man size) and was hoping that with unbolting the sidecar that it would fit? Anybody done this before? The Luton is the big box shape, I have the small standard type.

The van comfortably takes 2 dirt bikes side-by-side and will take a third slotted in-between.

Thanks

Andy
Andy,

You should have got a Transit Luton box.
A complete Ural combo goes in one of those easily without any disruptions.
I transported one of my Urals from Taunton to Birkenhead in a Luton.
__________________
.

I'd only waste my money if I didn`t spend it on all my bikes......
Tarka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 07:31 AM   #19
villageidiot
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Orange County, CA
Oddometer: 1,305
Depending on Andy's location, the Luton box isn't available.

I know here in the states, we only have a watered down version of the transit, with a 2.0 liter gas engine only available.

In uk and rest of Europe the transit series is much more extensive
villageidiot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014