ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Beasts
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-02-2012, 05:12 PM   #1
CANNONMAN OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Grand Mesa, CO
Oddometer: 40
Super Tenere Error Codes???????????

This is the first problem I have ever had with anything Yamaha. My S-10 ran fine on Sat., has about 1600 miles and I forgot to turn the key off, just hit the switch on the bars and on Sun. the battery was dead. Charged battery and now it won't start. It seems to pop slightly but won't go. Now an Error code of Er-1 is showing up. Anyone know what this code is for? All dealers around here are closed Sun. and Mon. It has to be something simple I hope.
CANNONMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 05:28 PM   #2
sscol
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Oddometer: 18
Try starting it with WOT. I have heard that works for the Tenere.

Not sure about the code.
sscol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 06:08 PM   #3
Anticyclone
Ride more worry less
 
Anticyclone's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Columbus, MS
Oddometer: 5,242




Hope that helps.
__________________
Later,
Michael
"If I can't pass at a reasonable speed I do it unreasonably." - jdmetzger
Anticyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 06:46 PM   #4
dejr2000
Gnarly Adventurer
 
dejr2000's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Haslet,TX
Oddometer: 347
Sounds like you popped a fuse when you charged it. Check fuses and battery voltage.
dejr2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 06:58 AM   #5
tremor38
Beastly Adventurer
 
tremor38's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Japan
Oddometer: 1,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by dejr2000 View Post
Sounds like you popped a fuse when you charged it. Check fuses and battery voltage.
The fault code is probably still there from when the battery was low. Try a WOT start as that often succeeds. You are probably dealing with a flooded engine at this point. If a WOT start doesn't work, an even better way to clear the flooded condition is to pull the EFI fuze and just crank over the engine at WOT for awhile to draw more air though the engine and kinda dry things up. Then you can replace the fuze and try another WOT start. If you're still nervous about it being flooded, you can insert and extract the fuze as the engine is spinning to give it leaner mixture until it's started.
__________________
2011 Yamaha XT1200Z
tremor38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 07:41 AM   #6
Gooner
DC 43
 
Gooner's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Rocket City
Oddometer: 122
WOT = Wide Open Throttle?

Just curious...
Gooner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 02:35 PM   #7
CANNONMAN OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Grand Mesa, CO
Oddometer: 40
Tested battery at 13.2 volts. Checked all fuses and they are fine. This morning it now has no power even to the gauges. Acts just like the main fuse is blown but it looks fine as do all the othere fuses. I at first thought it was just flooded and tried the wot with no results. Dropped it off at dealer today. We'll see what happens. Glad it happened in the parking lot and not 15 miles off the beaten path!!!!!
CANNONMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 04:31 PM   #8
tremor38
Beastly Adventurer
 
tremor38's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Japan
Oddometer: 1,420
LOL!..yeah, WFO in other circles. You won't actually get WFO on the throttle bodies because of the ECU programming controlling the fly-by-wire throttle, but more air will flow through then if you didn't.

Sent from my F-05D using Tapatalk 2
__________________
2011 Yamaha XT1200Z
tremor38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 06:43 PM   #9
dejr2000
Gnarly Adventurer
 
dejr2000's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Haslet,TX
Oddometer: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by CANNONMAN View Post
Tested battery at 13.2 volts. Checked all fuses and they are fine. This morning it now has no power even to the gauges. Acts just like the main fuse is blown but it looks fine as do all the othere fuses. I at first thought it was just flooded and tried the wot with no results. Dropped it off at dealer today. We'll see what happens. Glad it happened in the parking lot and not 15 miles off the beaten path!!!!!
Keep us posted on the outcome.
dejr2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 07:07 PM   #10
CANNONMAN OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Grand Mesa, CO
Oddometer: 40
BATTERY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Never seen this before. The battery tested out fine at the dealer also until put under a load and then it dropped immediately to 0.00. Dealer installed new battery and life is wonderful again. Grand Mesa Motorsports in Delta, CO is awesome.
CANNONMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 02:21 AM   #11
Tee Dee Mmm
Beastly Adventurer
 
Tee Dee Mmm's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Karalee
Oddometer: 1,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by CANNONMAN View Post
BATTERY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Never seen this before. The battery tested out fine at the dealer also until put under a load and then it dropped immediately to 0.00. Dealer installed new battery and life is wonderful again. Grand Mesa Motorsports in Delta, CO is awesome.
Hmmm an open circuit Battery - if a battery goes open circuit while the engine is running they can do a lot of damage I have heard of radios and all bulbs being blown and other electronic systems fried, that is why vehicle breakdown companys are not suppose to just jump start they are suppose to charge the battery with the donor vehicle and then allow the vehicle to start from its own battery - if the battery wont start it you get a choice of being towed or fitting a new battery.
Tee Dee Mmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:55 PM   #12
Gooner
DC 43
 
Gooner's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Rocket City
Oddometer: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by tremor38 View Post
LOL!..yeah, WFO in other circles. You won't actually get WFO on the throttle bodies because of the ECU programming controlling the fly-by-wire throttle, but more air will flow through then if you didn't.

Sent from my F-05D using Tapatalk 2
Thanks for the info
Gooner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:57 PM   #13
Gooner
DC 43
 
Gooner's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Rocket City
Oddometer: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by CANNONMAN View Post
BATTERY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Never seen this before. The battery tested out fine at the dealer also until put under a load and then it dropped immediately to 0.00. Dealer installed new battery and life is wonderful again. Grand Mesa Motorsports in Delta, CO is awesome.
Congrats on a problem (hopefully) solved! I had a 98 VFR do something similar once. Like with your S10, replacing the battery solved the problem.
Gooner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 05:00 AM   #14
NY-KLR-Joe
Gnarly Adventurer
 
NY-KLR-Joe's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Palm Harbor, Fl
Oddometer: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by tremor38 View Post
The fault code is probably still there from when the battery was low. Try a WOT start as that often succeeds. You are probably dealing with a flooded engine at this point. If a WOT start doesn't work, an even better way to clear the flooded condition is to pull the EFI fuze and just crank over the engine at WOT for awhile to draw more air though the engine and kinda dry things up. Then you can replace the fuze and try another WOT start. If you're still nervous about it being flooded, you can insert and extract the fuze as the engine is spinning to give it leaner mixture until it's started.
D
Thank you for this info. My tenere was flooded yesterday & would not start. Was about to undergo major surgery pulling the plugs but a search brought me to your info, & the fuse trick go the bike started. I am also thinking I have a bad battery. I bought the bike 11 months ago. It tests 12.8 volts but think I need to load test because it cranked slow the other day, causing flooded engine, I think.
NY-KLR-Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:15 AM   #15
pluric
Gimpy Adventurer
 
pluric's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Salt Lake
Oddometer: 15,912
Had a quad do this yesterday. Kid was riding it around and we put in the
garage for the night. Next day no starter. Battery showed a charge.
Put in a new battery and all is well.

Glad your bike was a simple fix. For a minute there I thought we
might have our first real Tenere issue, damn no such luck.
pluric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014