Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-25-2011, 01:26 PM   #1
AlpineGuerrilla OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 369
Springtime in the Alps

Hello folks

I've taken two trips to the Alps this months and would like to share some impressions with you. This is my first attempt at a ride report and it's propably gonna be boring. So get off my lawn!

For those who are still here, let me begin with the first trip (April 2-3), which took me in two days through the Swiss and Italian Alps.

After some 100 miles on the Autobahn and a few on rural roads I was finally ready to hit the first pass this year, the Julier Pass. As this pass is an important route for the region, it's opened year round, in winter time only with snow chains of course. But I was asthonished how far away winter has already gone.

On the way to the Summit you ride through a village with the melodious sounding name Cunter.

Another beautiful name for this frozen lake: Lai da Marmorera.

What's better after a nice ride on the lonesome pass than a warm meal with a view? Well I thought so.

On my way to the next Pass was St. Moritz with an interesting pattern on the frozen lake.

There were still some skiers on the Bernina Pass, who looked at me like I was an alien. Well, 5°C (about 40 Fahrenheit) is too hot for skiing and ok for biking, so who want some?

Further on, I was able to witness some workers who detonated an avalanche and I had to wait for the road to be cleared again. The explosion echoed for multiple times from every side, amazing.

Crossing the border to Italy was interesting. As soon as I was in Italy, I was the slowest on the road. 20km/h speed limit because of road construction? 70km/h does it for them. Time to blend in and enjoy the warm weather.

Lonesome road near Porlezza at Lago di Lugano

Snack time and enjoying the sunset on the swiss side of Lake Lugano