ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-14-2013, 02:37 PM   #3151
Nomad
High Speed Low Drag
 
Nomad's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Virginia
Oddometer: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Wolf View Post
without the eu mp, that switch doesnt work, thus why its still stalls on the wild setting. the eu isnt necessarily "more power", its just unrestricted and puts the bike at the AFR and ignition timing the bike was designed to run at. with it unrestricted, youll have access to the three setting in the ecu.
well damn I could swear there is a difference in the low end between the stock and wild setting but if what you say is true then I guess it's all in my head.

Quote:
Originally Posted by djhartm View Post
The bike would be 100% awesome without the popping & stalling. OK, the headshake at speeds >70 is a bit unnerving as well. :)
the scotts damper works wonders! pick one up and you'll be able to run 90+ on the highway with one hand. head shake is a problem of the past with this thing.
__________________
2012 KTM 500 EXC
NON SEMPER ERIT AESTAS
www.motoex.org


Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 07:06 PM   #3152
SoilSampleDave
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: The Delta Ghetto, GA (aka PTC)
Oddometer: 1,434
I swear that I read this entire thread before finally buying my EXC. I truly regret not making notes on what information was hidden where. Some kind of an index would rock...how to do it? Anyway, I plan on using the power wire for the radiator fan to power my heated grips. Before I pull the tank to access the connector, I am trying to find out if it is some specialized multi wire connector or as simple as two spade connectors. Can someone please advise? I would like to order a specialty connector ahead of time if needed. TIA.
__________________
Machete don't text!

'13 350EXC-F
SoilSampleDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 07:47 PM   #3153
garrett
Gnarly Adventurer
 
garrett's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Calgary
Oddometer: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Johnson View Post
Here is a fast drawing on installing diodes into the two wires that run into the turn signal indicator. Run both wires into tier own diode. I used 3 amp radio shack diodes. Cost 1.75. Then connect both diodes to one side of the turn signal indicator lamp. Ground the other side of the lamp. The colors may not be the same on you bike. But you get the idea. The diode has a stripe on one side of it. That side goes towards the indicator lamp. ( I refer to the indicator lamp as the one at the dash. Hope this helps


Sent with mind control...
Hey Thanks. I appreciate the effort.

Garrett
__________________
I like bikes...
garrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 08:19 PM   #3154
harcus
Beastly Adventurer
 
harcus's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Edge of the Wasatch
Oddometer: 1,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by djhartm View Post
I'm guessing the JD Tuner will not support the tri-map switch feature (stock/mild/wild); essentially it obviates the need I would think.

I wish the dealer told me I needed a different map to enable it, but they seemed kind of clueless about the whole thing.

The bike would be 100% awesome without the popping & stalling. OK, the headshake at speeds >70 is a bit unnerving as well. :)
Not sure what switch you dealer installed but...Sicass sells these switches. They try very hard to tell the buyer about the remapping requirements. Like this...

http://sicassracing.com/store/produc...h=105_35_2216&

If they won't install the EU map, make them refund the money on the switch since they are stupid.

The JD tuner works like all of the programmable tuner on the market by modifying the time that the injector is squirting fuel. It is a nice simple system that works. It is particularly nice because you can trail test the bike & if you feel that it might benefit from more fuel (or less) in a given rpm range, you just stop & push a few buttons & wa la, it is changed. Pretty much infinitely adjustable electronic jetting!

It works!
__________________
Want Creative Adventure Products? - See Globetrottin.com

Current rides - '14 KTM 1190 R Adv <2k, '07 990Adv 39k, '12 500EXC 7k, '09 GasGas 300 Raga
harcus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 08:47 PM   #3155
little squirt
Adventurer
 
little squirt's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Honolulu, HI
Oddometer: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stifdickerson2006 View Post

another angle

sumo set up

sumo set up w/bags on my way to carson city nv....

?



nice sumo setup, where did you get the caliper bracket and rotor?
little squirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 08:59 PM   #3156
bmgyver
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Oddometer: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoilSampleDave View Post
I swear that I read this entire thread before finally buying my EXC. I truly regret not making notes on what information was hidden where. Some kind of an index would rock...how to do it? Anyway, I plan on using the power wire for the radiator fan to power my heated grips. Before I pull the tank to access the connector, I am trying to find out if it is some specialized multi wire connector or as simple as two spade connectors. Can someone please advise? I would like to order a specialty connector ahead of time if needed. TIA.
I just did this last weekend.
There is a 2 circuit .093 molex connector for the power to the fan.
I bought the molex connectors at a frys electronics store and made a y pigtail so the power comes into the y and leaves with 2 connectors. One connector supplies power to the fan and the other connector goes to the grip heaters.
The power is only available when the key is on so you wont leave the grip heaters on accidentally.
http://www.frys.com/product/1651278?...H:MAIN_RSLT_PG
bmgyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 09:22 PM   #3157
little squirt
Adventurer
 
little squirt's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Honolulu, HI
Oddometer: 17
This thread needs ALOT more Pictures!
little squirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 09:37 PM   #3158
SoilSampleDave
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: The Delta Ghetto, GA (aka PTC)
Oddometer: 1,434
Thumb

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmgyver View Post
I just did this last weekend.
There is a 2 circuit .093 molex connector for the power to the fan.
I bought the molex connectors at a frys electronics store and made a y pigtail so the power comes into the y and leaves with 2 connectors. One connector supplies power to the fan and the other connector goes to the grip heaters.
The power is only available when the key is on so you wont leave the grip heaters on accidentally.
http://www.frys.com/product/1651278?...H:MAIN_RSLT_PG
You are the man!
__________________
Machete don't text!

'13 350EXC-F
SoilSampleDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 04:20 AM   #3159
Colemanfu
King of all manfu
 
Colemanfu's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: DAYTONA USA
Oddometer: 3,290
Bling!

Quote:
Originally Posted by little squirt View Post
This thread needs ALOT more Pictures!

Stupid setting for the cam, but the other day when it was kind of nasty out I hit the bike with some of my Harley polish.
__________________
Guns keep society safe.
Colemanfu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 05:38 AM   #3160
crankshaft
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 13,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colemanfu View Post

Stupid setting for the cam, but the other day when it was kind of nasty out I hit the bike with some of my Harley polish.
No oil leaks yet
__________________
Just say'IN
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 11:42 AM   #3161
Nomad
High Speed Low Drag
 
Nomad's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Virginia
Oddometer: 244
does anyone know for sure if the ECU has to be installed in the bike for the EU map to loaded? if not I'm looking to just send my ECU off to my dealer back home.
__________________
2012 KTM 500 EXC
NON SEMPER ERIT AESTAS
www.motoex.org


Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 01:34 PM   #3162
Stifdickerson2006
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Stifdickerson2006's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Central Coast,Ca
Oddometer: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by little squirt View Post
nice sumo setup, where did you get the caliper bracket and rotor?
Got the whole kit from Motostrano.com, wheels(DNA racing laced with orange hubs),brake rotors(frt EBC& rear Moose racing) wasz suppose to be a ebc contour matching rear rotor, frt caliper relocator,rear sprocket, it was a complete kit they where selling for cheap but they took it off their internet site rite after I bought it. Was kind of a nightmare and had to return several parts and it took like almost two months in all. The frt caliper relocating brkt is a Motomaster. All and all the kit works great together and it only takes me 1/2 hr to make it a street bike or a dirt/dual sport bike. Go to ballinger one day and the next head up hwy 1 to Big Sur. this is by far the best bike i have ever owned.

__________________
No Matter Where You Go, There You Are.
Stifdickerson2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 09:49 PM   #3163
Bengt Phorks
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Oddometer: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomad View Post
does anyone know for sure if the ECU has to be installed in the bike for the EU map to loaded? if not I'm looking to just send my ECU off to my dealer back home.
Call Carson Motorsports in Nevada, they will have the answers that you want.
Removing the ECU is described here: http://www.omraoffroad.com/forum/vie...11373&start=45
This a good primer for working on your bike even if he has a 350.
2012 KTM 350 EXC-F: Building the perfect "Wee Beasty"
Bengt Phorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 10:06 PM   #3164
Nomad
High Speed Low Drag
 
Nomad's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Virginia
Oddometer: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bengt Phorks View Post
Call Carson Motorsports in Nevada, they will have the answers that you want.
Removing the ECU is described here: http://www.omraoffroad.com/forum/vie...11373&start=45
This a good primer for working on your bike even if he has a 350.
2012 KTM 350 EXC-F: Building the perfect "Wee Beasty"
wow talk about an awesome write up! thanks for posting that!
__________________
2012 KTM 500 EXC
NON SEMPER ERIT AESTAS
www.motoex.org


Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 05:10 AM   #3165
Harley Beemer
Adventurer
 
Harley Beemer's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Oddometer: 91
Yep, Carson Motorsports knows what to do. Carsonktm.com

Stock exc ECU modules just get reflashed to EU spec. Then mapping switches work no problem and bike runs awesome.

On 500 anyway.
__________________
12' KTM 350 xcfw
09' Genuine Blackjack
Harley Beemer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014