ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-23-2013, 09:04 PM   #3856
SoilSampleDave
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: The Delta Ghetto, GA (aka PTC)
Oddometer: 1,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bengt Phorks View Post
If this is happening while street riding then raise the front tire pressure to about 18 pounds.
Balance the wheels. On the front, take off the tire and stick about 2.5 ozs of stick on wheel weights under the rim strip and hammer them down to fit in the rim contour and cover them with duct tape. Put the tire on and go ride.
Put on a Dunlop 606 or something similar on the front. In the summer I use them front and rear.
I'm still using the stock front springs and I weigh about 250.
I assume you meant to add "opposite the rim lock". On a related note, I balanced my wheels for the first time on any DS I have owned and all I can say is that I was an idiot for not doing it before! I swapped to the Motion Pro Lite Locks and took the wheels to Cycle Gear for the free balancing. I figured they would stick for a while. Interestingly enough, it still took 4 oz on the rear and 3.5 on the front, even with the lite locks. I wouldn't think the slightly longer radius created by mounting the weights on the other side of the rim would make up for the lower weight. I wonder if just getting close is good enough? I do like the mounting location for longevity, and will go that route on my next tire change.

PS. CG will only balance a tire up to 4oz max, so I don't think they would do it with the stock rim lock. They said it was a "safety" issue when I asked if I could pay for the extra weights if I had a wheel that was beyond 4oz.
__________________
Don't drive like my brother!

'13 350EXC-F
SoilSampleDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 11:11 PM   #3857
snackdaddy
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: The Coq BC
Oddometer: 45
Sicass bar switch ?

So whats up the resistors/electrical/printed circuit board conected on the outside of the switch? Seems like it would be easy to break/damage?

Image for you all who do not know what I am talking about.



http://www.aviciouscycle.ca/mainpage...productid=2708
snackdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 06:15 AM   #3858
Capp
Resident
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Long Island (NY)
Oddometer: 87
This is the second bike I have installed that switch on and never had any problems with it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by snackdaddy View Post
So whats up the resistors/electrical/printed circuit board conected on the outside of the switch? Seems like it would be easy to break/damage?

Image for you all who do not know what I am talking about.



http://www.aviciouscycle.ca/mainpage...productid=2708
__________________
2013 KTM 350 EXC-F
Capp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 06:58 AM   #3859
woodzrider
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Choctaw, Okla., anywhere I happen to be
Oddometer: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by snackdaddy View Post
So whats up the resistors/electrical/printed circuit board conected on the outside of the switch? Seems like it would be easy to break/damage?

Image for you all who do not know what I am talking about.



http://www.aviciouscycle.ca/mainpage...productid=2708
That little circuit board is the turn turn sig/high beam indicator LED.
No problem with mine yet.
__________________
Woodzrider AKA vetracer1
"If it can't kill ya-it's not a sport"......It ALMOST killed me tho.....
Check out my crash report:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=500314
Baja report http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=641219
woodzrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 08:59 AM   #3860
fasteddie23
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Oddometer: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJG2 View Post
page 235 of this thread has few pics
I was looking for pics of the new dummy plug setup that was mentioned in post #3506 - not the plug on the bike. Thanks
fasteddie23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 09:49 AM   #3861
Colemanfu
King of all manfu
 
Colemanfu's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: DAYTONA USA
Oddometer: 3,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoilSampleDave View Post
+1 on the springs. These things come with very soft spring rates. If you are over probably 160 in street clothes, you need heavier springs.
Dave - looks like the rear spring has 3 options. Wonder which one comes stock on the bike? I would guess the middle but you guys are talkin like it's the smallest of the 3 - one for little fellas? Anyone know for sure which rear spring is stock?

Thanks for the servic tip BP!
__________________
Guns keep society safe.
Colemanfu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 11:39 AM   #3862
psyco
Motard Madness
 
psyco's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Florida
Oddometer: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colemanfu View Post
Dave - looks like the rear spring has 3 options. Wonder which one comes stock on the bike? I would guess the middle but you guys are talkin like it's the smallest of the 3 - one for little fellas? Anyone know for sure which rear spring is stock?

Thanks for the servic tip BP!
Just noticed your from the Daytona area , where do you normally ride ? Ocala ?
psyco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 12:37 PM   #3863
Bengt Phorks
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Oddometer: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoilSampleDave View Post
I assume you meant to add "opposite the rim lock". On a related note, I balanced my wheels for the first time on any DS I have owned and all I can say is that I was an idiot for not doing it before! I swapped to the Motion Pro Lite Locks and took the wheels to Cycle Gear for the free balancing. I figured they would stick for a while. Interestingly enough, it still took 4 oz on the rear and 3.5 on the front, even with the lite locks. I wouldn't think the slightly longer radius created by mounting the weights on the other side of the rim would make up for the lower weight. I wonder if just getting close is good enough? I do like the mounting location for longevity, and will go that route on my next tire change.

PS. CG will only balance a tire up to 4oz max, so I don't think they would do it with the stock rim lock. They said it was a "safety" issue when I asked if I could pay for the extra weights if I had a wheel that was beyond 4oz.
Yes, opposite the rim lock. I forgot to add that.
I weighed the rim locks and added a little more weight for the tire valve. That balanced the wheels without the tires. I put the tires on and went for a test ride (65+ mph) and there wasn't any vibration so I didn't do any more balancing for the tires.
For me, close was good enough.
Bengt Phorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 01:40 PM   #3864
boostracer
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: California
Oddometer: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colemanfu View Post
Dave - looks like the rear spring has 3 options. Wonder which one comes stock on the bike? I would guess the middle but you guys are talkin like it's the smallest of the 3 - one for little fellas? Anyone know for sure which rear spring is stock?

Thanks for the servic tip BP!
Mine had the middle, I bought the soft one for mine.
boostracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 01:54 PM   #3865
Lulu7404
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Just north of Big D
Oddometer: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capp View Post
This is the second bike I have installed that switch on and never had any problems with it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodzrider View Post
That little circuit board is the turn turn sig/high beam indicator LED.
No problem with mine yet.
Thank you gentlemen. Just received mine in the mail and was wondering the same. Not sure I'm a fan, but if it hasn't had any issues I'm ok with it.
__________________
14 Triumph Tiger 800
13 KTM 350XCF-W -- new hotness
13 KTM 250XCF-W -- hers
Lulu7404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 02:07 PM   #3866
Lulu7404
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Just north of Big D
Oddometer: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bengt Phorks View Post
Check the valves and keep changing the oil every 15 - 20 hrs depending how hard you ride. Keep the air cleaner clean and keep grease on the countershaft sprocket splines. I haven't done much else. I am at 230 hours and 5000+ miles.
Awesome! I just hit 100 hours with 2000 miles.... JEALOUS!! That should go up this summer though.. my maintenance is the same. air filter to conditions, oil and filter every 20 or so, valves were fine at 60 hours.
__________________
14 Triumph Tiger 800
13 KTM 350XCF-W -- new hotness
13 KTM 250XCF-W -- hers
Lulu7404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 03:40 PM   #3867
MJG2
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Oddometer: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by fasteddie23 View Post
I was looking for pics of the new dummy plug setup that was mentioned in post #3506 - not the plug on the bike. Thanks
you can see it in those pics being plugged in
also- the link to the website where to buy it show the plug
buy the connector and the cavity plugs -slip them in and you have a clean install plug that is weatherproof
__________________
13 KTM 500 EXC
09 KTM 250 SX
05 KTM 300 EXC
09 Kawasaki KLX250S
07 Ducati Multistrada 1100 S
MJG2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 03:41 PM   #3868
MJG2
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Oddometer: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by fasteddie23 View Post
I was looking for pics of the new dummy plug setup that was mentioned in post #3506 - not the plug on the bike. Thanks
you can see it in those pics being plugged in -its in my hand
also- the link to the website where to buy it show the plug
buy the connector and the cavity plugs -slip them in and you have a clean install plug that is weatherproof
__________________
13 KTM 500 EXC
09 KTM 250 SX
05 KTM 300 EXC
09 Kawasaki KLX250S
07 Ducati Multistrada 1100 S
MJG2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 10:05 PM   #3869
PatrickM
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Zephyr Cove, NV
Oddometer: 352
Slim multi-function switch

Did anyone install this thing without butchering the wiring? I picked one up a while back and was disappointed that it wasn't a plug-n-play affair.

Curious what the "usual" installation route folks picked. Hacking up the stock wiring isn't something I like to do, and if there is/was a plug-n-play option, I'd be interested in hearing about it!
PatrickM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 06:27 AM   #3870
KrustyKustom
Lets Go....
 
KrustyKustom's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Desert-away from people...
Oddometer: 631
2013 500 exc

Dirt Rider magazines Bike of the Year runner up.....says they are going to do a article in an upcoming issue on the bike,
__________________
Krusty Kustom,
Houston Texas
2013 KTM 500exc
KrustyKustom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014