ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-02-2011, 06:18 PM   #1
inmate-n00b OP
Ciao, Marco
 
inmate-n00b's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Oddometer: 1,006
Cry Garmin Nuvi 550 cable no worky, tech support problems

I bought a garmin mounting cradle and the power cable stopped working.
My garmin unit is fine. I looked at the fuse and it didn't blow. I'm pretty sure that the transformer broke.
Here's the photo of the power cable here:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001CX4INE
I bought this thing in December 2010.
I thought that I would be able to replace it under warranty, since it didn't last long.

It doesn't look like Garmin wants to replace my power cable. Here's my email communication from Garmin tech support.
MY TEXT IS IN BLUE
GARMIN's TEXT IS IN YELLOW
Quote:
I bought a "Garmin Universal Mounting Cradle with Power Cable 010-11143-07 893" for my nuvi 550. It no longer gives power to my Garmin unit. I know the Garmin unit itself is ok I am able to power it from my computer. The power cable does not work. I checked the fuse it did not blow. I need a new cable.
...*snip*
Quote:
Thank you for contacting Garmin International, I am happy to assist you with this. The mounting cable you purchased comes with Bare wires so you can hardware your unit. If you are not getting power I would double check the connection of the wires to make sure they are getting a connection. If the car charger is not working, does the light come on. I know you said the fuse is not blown if this is the case then the charger would need to be replaced. You can get one through us for $25.00 or you can check Best Buy, Radio Shack, or Walmart and see if they have a cable.
Quote:

The car charger is fine. The bare wire cable is not. It is not the battery terminal connections. It is most likely the transformer.
This should be covered under warranty. I just bought the cable a few months ago.
Quote:

Thank you for contacting Garmin International, I am happy to continue assistance. What actual cable did you purchase from us? I tried looking up your name to find a work order and I don't find anything. What name do I need to be looking under? Was it purchased directly from us?
Quote:

I purchased the mounting kit from amazon.com.
It is here:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001CX4INE
I've attached a pdf of my order.
^^I went ahead and made a pdf copy of my amazon.com order.
Quote:

Thank you for contacting Garmin International, I am happy to help. Have you contacted Amazon if it is not working since it was not purchase directly from us but from Amazon?
Quote:

I have not tried that. I thought to go through Garmin, since that is the manufacturer.
I hope you are not blowing me off.
I checked on amazon.com. They only offer 30 day returns. Dang.
Quote:

Thank you for contacting Garmin International, I am happy to help. No I am not blowing you off. If that is where it was purchased it may still be within there warranty and would need to be replaced through them.
With Best Regards,

It looks like now I'm s.o.l because I bought the thing from amazon??!!
The only thing I can do is buy another cable, which means more of my money goes to Garmin. That sucks.
WTF should I do?

inmate-n00b screwed with this post 05-04-2011 at 01:23 PM
inmate-n00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 07:02 PM   #2
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,708
I have the Garmin cable you had problems with on my ST1100, but one of these on my Bonneville
http://www.gpscity.com/gilsson-bare-...wer-cable.html

Honestly the Garmin one is much more robust, this Gilsson one doesn't include a fuse either. I haven't had any problems with either of the cables so far though
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650, '07 Yam Majesty
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 07:52 PM   #3
inmate-n00b OP
Ciao, Marco
 
inmate-n00b's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Oddometer: 1,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbirdsp View Post
I have the Garmin cable you had problems with on my ST1100, but one of these on my Bonneville
http://www.gpscity.com/gilsson-bare-...wer-cable.html

Honestly the Garmin one is much more robust, this Gilsson one doesn't include a fuse either. I haven't had any problems with either of the cables so far though
i've heard of some folks having problems with their transformers.
it hasnt even been a year and it stopped working.
i haven't done any hardcore riding with it.
this is so hella-lame....
inmate-n00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 03:18 AM   #4
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMG_WTF View Post
i've heard of some folks having problems with their transformers.
it hasnt even been a year and it stopped working.
i haven't done any hardcore riding with it.
this is so hella-lame....
So did you contact the seller to see if they would warranty it?

But more importantly, did you take a voltmeter and check the connectivity and output at the connectors and fuse block to identify where the power ceases to flow? That would be the first thing to do.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 05:55 AM   #5
inmate-n00b OP
Ciao, Marco
 
inmate-n00b's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Oddometer: 1,006
The power cable is definitely getting power. I checked.
Also, the fuse didn't blow.
I haven't checked the micro usb with my multimeter. It was hard to get to the pins inside. I will try again.
Another thing is that the transformer gets kinda warm. This isn't the heat from the engine.

Amazon will only accept a 30 day return. So it's too late.
The thing was manufactured by Garmin. Should there be a manufacturer's warranty?
I think I'm screwed.
inmate-n00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 09:32 AM   #6
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,358
I have the same kit and so far it is working OK.
Garmin is usually very good about warranty items, I'm thinking the problem may be that at one time Amazon was a Garmin authorized dealer but may no longer be. If I remember correctly there was a notice about Amazons dealer status in the not to distant past. I just looked on Amazon at their listing for a Nuvi 500 and don't see a reference to any warranty that I can find.

I would contact Garmin again and in a very direct manner ask what the manufactures warranty is for this kit and why Garmin is not honoring that warranty. If they say you purchased it from a non dealer you may indeed be SOL, on the other hand how does Amazon have access to thousands of Garmin units if they are not a Dealer?

Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 09:33 AM   #7
inmate-n00b OP
Ciao, Marco
 
inmate-n00b's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Oddometer: 1,006
Ok. Thanks for the input, everyone.
I will replace the fuse, as well, and try again.
inmate-n00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 01:33 PM   #8
inmate-n00b OP
Ciao, Marco
 
inmate-n00b's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Oddometer: 1,006
Well I replaced the fuse and tried again and it still didn't work.
I asked Garmin about the manufacturers warranty.


Quote:

What is the manufacturer's warranty on this item?
Thanks,
Quote:
The mounting kit has a one year warranty. Please tell me was the mount working when you first installed it or has it never functioned. Also please send a copy of the receipt and a address where a replacement can be sent.
So that's nice! I wonder why they didn't tell me that to begin with. It was a different customer service rep this time, so maybe that's it.

I'm going to open up the transformer and see if there was a mechanical failure inside. If so, I need to rig a way to prevent this from happening again!!!! Maybe the vibrations or heat from the engine caused the thing to break.
The cable and transformer sit where the red arrow points to in the photo I attached (ignore the finger). It's between the airbox and battery. I was thinking of packing it in a plastic container with some styrofoam.

Any ideas? I guess I need to figure out what the problem was originally.
Attached Images
 
inmate-n00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 01:35 PM   #9
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,708
Did you see this?

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=683845
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650, '07 Yam Majesty
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 01:43 PM   #10
inmate-n00b OP
Ciao, Marco
 
inmate-n00b's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Oddometer: 1,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbirdsp View Post
I will clean the connections and try again.
I couldn't see any corrosion, but it's worth trying again.
I should cover the mini usb end, anyways.

Thx for the link.
Hopefully it's not the transformer.
inmate-n00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 01:06 AM   #11
Mike955i
Studly Adventurer
 
Mike955i's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Oddometer: 989
Purchased 3 of these for my Nuvi 550 and 2 died on their very first ride (950 ADV in Death Valley and 525EXC at the local OHV park). The one on my street bike works fine but I don't trust it now. Plus, the power wires are the smallest I've ever seen in an automotive product.

Same boat as you, past 30 days with Amazon, I just chalk it up to a hard lesson learned. I now have a direct wired 12v adapter with a dual USB plug epoxied in place (and dielectric grease in the usb ports). So far, so good.

FWIW, good luck........Mike
__________________
Just another Dharma Bum, drifting in the void
Mike955i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 05:14 AM   #12
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,708
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike955i View Post
Purchased 3 of these for my Nuvi 550 and 2 died on their very first ride (950 ADV in Death Valley and 525EXC at the local OHV park). The one on my street bike works fine but I don't trust it now. Plus, the power wires are the smallest I've ever seen in an automotive product.

Same boat as you, past 30 days with Amazon, I just chalk it up to a hard lesson learned. I now have a direct wired 12v adapter with a dual USB plug epoxied in place (and dielectric grease in the usb ports). So far, so good.

FWIW, good luck........Mike
Are we talking about the same thing? The Garmin one I have has pretty heavy-guage wire

Now thw Gilsson one on my Bonneville...
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650, '07 Yam Majesty
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 07:17 AM   #13
inmate-n00b OP
Ciao, Marco
 
inmate-n00b's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Oddometer: 1,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike955i View Post
Purchased 3 of these for my Nuvi 550 and 2 died on their very first ride (950 ADV in Death Valley and 525EXC at the local OHV park). The one on my street bike works fine but I don't trust it now. Plus, the power wires are the smallest I've ever seen in an automotive product.

Same boat as you, past 30 days with Amazon, I just chalk it up to a hard lesson learned. I now have a direct wired 12v adapter with a dual USB plug epoxied in place (and dielectric grease in the usb ports). So far, so good.

FWIW, good luck........Mike
Do you know why they died?
Was it the usb connection or the transformer?
inmate-n00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 03:45 PM   #14
Mike955i
Studly Adventurer
 
Mike955i's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Oddometer: 989
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMG_WTF View Post
Do you know why they died?
Was it the usb connection or the transformer?
Can't say, I was at DV when the first died and had to scramble a fix in the field. When the 2nd died I just removed it, no troubleshooting on my part.

Sorry.....Mike
__________________
Just another Dharma Bum, drifting in the void
Mike955i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 03:58 PM   #15
Mike955i
Studly Adventurer
 
Mike955i's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Oddometer: 989
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbirdsp View Post
Are we talking about the same thing? The Garmin one I have has pretty heavy-guage wire

Now thw Gilsson one on my Bonneville...

This..... http://www.amazon.com/Garmin-Hardwir...ef=pd_sim_e_10

Not the Gillson, looks to be the Garmin but I cant say 100%.
__________________
Just another Dharma Bum, drifting in the void
Mike955i is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014