ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-05-2011, 05:37 PM   #16
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike955i View Post
This..... http://www.amazon.com/Garmin-Hardwir...ef=pd_sim_e_10

Not the Gillson, looks to be the Garmin but I cant say 100%.
Not the Garmin, see the first post in this thread. It has heavy guage wire and a mini-blade fuse holder included.

I have been unable to find the Garmin power wire for sale except in the "Universal mount cradle" kit I just mentioned.
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650, '07 Yam Majesty
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 06:37 PM   #17
inmate-n00b OP
Ciao, Marco
 
inmate-n00b's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Oddometer: 1,006
I cleaned the connections with WD-40 and a brush and it still doesn't work.
I checked the fuse and it's fine.
I may replace the fuse, but I'm pretty sure it's the transformer.

Maybe it was the heat and/or vibration from the engine that killed the cable.
inmate-n00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 06:40 PM   #18
inmate-n00b OP
Ciao, Marco
 
inmate-n00b's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Oddometer: 1,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike955i View Post
Purchased 3 of these for my Nuvi 550 and 2 died on their very first ride (950 ADV in Death Valley and 525EXC at the local OHV park). The one on my street bike works fine but I don't trust it now. Plus, the power wires are the smallest I've ever seen in an automotive product.

Same boat as you, past 30 days with Amazon, I just chalk it up to a hard lesson learned. I now have a direct wired 12v adapter with a dual USB plug epoxied in place (and dielectric grease in the usb ports). So far, so good.

FWIW, good luck........Mike
yes, the wires have a small gauge.
kinda fragile.
inmate-n00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 09:15 AM   #19
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike955i View Post
This..... http://www.amazon.com/Garmin-Hardwir...ef=pd_sim_e_10

Not the Gillson, looks to be the Garmin but I cant say 100%.
Not the same as bird said. The Garmin unit in the kit has a 90 deg USB plug.

My Garmin kit has worked well but I think it has a parasitic drain even if not plugged into a GPS as my battery has gone flat after being parked for a month. My only complaint.

Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 10:40 AM   #20
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,706
Yeah, I'm sure the voltage regulator always draws juice. I always hook my 60Cx up to the battery, but with the Nuvi I go to a switched source.
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650, '07 Yam Majesty
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 12:38 PM   #21
inmate-n00b OP
Ciao, Marco
 
inmate-n00b's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Oddometer: 1,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbirdsp View Post
Yeah, I'm sure the voltage regulator always draws juice. I always hook my 60Cx up to the battery, but with the Nuvi I go to a switched source.
Do you think that if the power was switched the cable would last longer?
inmate-n00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 02:03 PM   #22
inmate-n00b OP
Ciao, Marco
 
inmate-n00b's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Oddometer: 1,006
I cleaned the connections for a second time after a good soaking with wd40.
Still didn't work.
I took out the fuse and checked it. It looks good.
I took off the cap to the transformer. It looks ok. Should I stick the multimeter somewhere in here?
WTF?
Attached Images
 
inmate-n00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 02:05 PM   #23
inmate-n00b OP
Ciao, Marco
 
inmate-n00b's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Oddometer: 1,006
another pic, if it helps.
i'd like to know what went wrong so i can prevent it from happening again...
Attached Images
 
inmate-n00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 07:12 PM   #24
inmate-n00b OP
Ciao, Marco
 
inmate-n00b's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Oddometer: 1,006
multimeter

I hooked the cable to my battery and tested it with a multimeter. I measured ~12V DC going into the transformer and less than 1 V DC coming out.
It's supposed to be about 5V DC coming out. That's what it says on the back of the transformer.
Indeed, the transformer broke.

How do I prevent this from happening again? Insulate it from vibes and/or heat? Make it go to a switched source instead of always being on?

inmate-n00b screwed with this post 05-07-2011 at 07:30 PM
inmate-n00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 07:14 PM   #25
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMG_WTF View Post
Do you think that if the power was switched the cable would last longer?

Hard to say
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650, '07 Yam Majesty
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 03:25 PM   #26
inmate-n00b OP
Ciao, Marco
 
inmate-n00b's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Oddometer: 1,006
I asked Garmin how to prevent the power cable from breaking.
Their response:
Quote:
I will gladly help with this issue. The cable from Amazon might have just being defective.
It was working for a few months. I don't think it was defective from the factory.
inmate-n00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 04:59 PM   #27
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMG_WTF View Post
Do you think that if the power was switched the cable would last longer?
It might. Others have posted that with the GPS off (off the bike even) the power cord still draws power. So maybe trying to feed a non-existent load shortens its life. Do you have any buddies who are electronics whizzes who could do a thorough autopsy on the dead one, re which component actualy failed.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 05:32 PM   #28
inmate-n00b OP
Ciao, Marco
 
inmate-n00b's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Oddometer: 1,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by 250senuf View Post
It might. Others have posted that with the GPS off (off the bike even) the power cord still draws power. So maybe trying to feed a non-existent load shortens its life. Do you have any buddies who are electronics whizzes who could do a thorough autopsy on the dead one, re which component actualy failed.
Moving the Garmin power cable to a switched lead may protect the power cable from the spikes and dips of starting the bike.

I will ask for help from some buddies in the local owners club.
inmate-n00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:48 AM   #29
inmate-n00b OP
Ciao, Marco
 
inmate-n00b's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Oddometer: 1,006
Ok..I can't do an autopsy because they put a lot of glue on the circuit board.

I asked garmin about hooking the power cable directly to the battery.
Quote:
Probably my last question......was the power cable designed to be used in automotive and/or motorcycle applications?
Was it designed to be attached to a car or motorcycle battery?
Is it able to handle the power spikes and voltage dips from starting a car or motorcycle?
Their response:
Quote:
Thank you for contacting Garmin International, I will be happy to help you with the unit that you have there and the power cable for the unit. The power cable was designed for use in the automobile and it is able to handle the spike of turning on and off the vehicle. It was not however designed to be plugged into a motorcyle as we have a line just for the motorcyle units called the Zumo's.
Sound like they don't really know what they are talking about.
Anyways, that's all I can do. Thanks for the help, folks.
inmate-n00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:55 AM   #30
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMG_WTF View Post
Sound like they don't really know what they are talking about.
Bingo.

The Nuvi 500/550 is/was marketed as a "crossover" unit to be used for auto, hiking, boating and even scooter use. It even has a fucking scooter mode!

Also that exact same "universal mount cradle" kit with that cord is used for the Zumo 220

Mine works fine and now you have me pissed off at Garmin too
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650, '07 Yam Majesty
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014