User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-03-2011, 06:22 AM   #1
henasau OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 15
Copper Canyon in summer

I am riding KLR 650 with some off road experience but I am not an expert.
I am a bit constrained with my timing. I am aiming for Tierra De Fuego and want to get there in summer around December. I am starting from LA in early summer.

Now the question: I would like to visit Copper Canyon this would include Batopilas and Urique and perhaps more.

I understand this is a wet season in Mexico. I read several threads about the canyon, but it appears none venture this way in summer. Any thoughts? Any experience? How bad?

I am Australian and can handle the heat but I am bit worried about the state of the roads after the rain. If it will make any difference I could spend some more time in the US; a month or so.

Any help greatly appreciated
henasau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 07:36 AM   #2
sailwing2003
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 396
Been twice to Copper Canyon but in Jan. or March. Have been told the summer heat is the biggest issue. On both trip we had low temps when high, with sleet or snow, and the tropical weather wearing shorts and t shirts in the bottom on the rivers.

Know the tour groups stop trips in the summers.

1998 Foretravel 36' Unicoach 295
Just sold the 08 GSA Adventure
sailwing2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 09:15 AM   #3
Sjoerd Bakker
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,229
Good on ya , glad to hear someone who is not whining about heat.
Though it is the "rainy season" you will have no great problems if you keep an eye on the sky.
Once made a week's transit of Mexico's north end in July and only had one or two thunderstorms , other trips to CC area during tail end of that season also no question of heat or heavy prolonged rain.