ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS Tracks - Oz and Kiwi Land
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-19-2011, 04:11 PM   #16
sierra_victor
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Carss Park, NSW
Oddometer: 67
Garmin

I have a Oregon 200 with Garmin Topo Aust V2 will it support V3? and what size micro SD card will I need to have both loaded?

Brian.
sierra_victor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 06:37 PM   #17
gpsoz
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Oddometer: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mtrain View Post
Steer well clear of this product people. We had version 2.whatever it was and it was garbage. It was so difficult to use that my wife struggled to use the gps at all and I gave up entirely and went back to just using maps. Their maps were very inaccurate with rivers and roads just stopping in the middle of nowhere and the claim of five meter contours was complete bullshit. Numerous times we noticed valleys and other large physical features simply didn't exist on their maps. I did notice that the new "improved version" has been revised to 10 meters It frustrates me that they can still market this when garmins topo australia is so much better. These clowns are years behind the competition with their product. If you can find any one who has used the garmin product and still has any thing good to say about oztopo I would be amazed.
Thinking about this overnight, is it possible you have another product installed that DOES include 5m contours, eg GPS Topo Plus, Shonky Maps, or 5m Australia

cheers
brian
gpsoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 07:56 PM   #18
rosscoact OP
need constant supervision
 
rosscoact's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Canberra ACT
Oddometer: 5,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by sierra_victor View Post
I have a Oregon 200 with Garmin Topo Aust V2 will it support V3? and what size micro SD card will I need to have both loaded?

Brian.
Brian, you need to ring gpsoz. according to the website the supported Oregon models are Oregon 300/400c/400t/450/450t/550

ross
__________________
Stupidity got us into this mess, then why can't it get us out? Will Rogers

www.transaustraliatrail.com.au
rosscoact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 11:49 AM   #19
rosscoact OP
need constant supervision
 
rosscoact's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Canberra ACT
Oddometer: 5,503
It looks like they hit a home run with 3.0. I'm a very happy camper.

They fixed the resolution at which the small tracks disappear and I get to see the contours disappear as you zoom out, I like it. this was my big beef with the previous versions.

Pause over any point and it gives height, the road you're on and the next ones in either direction.

No autorouting but I seem to be able to get by without a digital bint telling me to go the wrong way. Give me a destination and I'll find the way (or my wife will tell me where to go). Of course I don't adventure ride through Sydney or Melbourne, thank god

Now if the 62s would work with mapsource instead of that Basecamp piece of crap I'd be completely satisfied
__________________
Stupidity got us into this mess, then why can't it get us out? Will Rogers

www.transaustraliatrail.com.au
rosscoact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 03:14 AM   #20
rowdy_im
KTM 625 Snowy Mountains
 
rowdy_im's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Jindabyne Australia
Oddometer: 378
Received back my micro sd card today

had a quick look seems to have more details and colours

looks Ok

see how it go,s on my trip

I will let ya all know when i get back in 7 weeks

Cheers
Rowdy
__________________
rowdy_im is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 03:33 AM   #21
rosscoact OP
need constant supervision
 
rosscoact's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Canberra ACT
Oddometer: 5,503
I love it.

I started a thread called "Oztopo is crap" or some such thing so I needed to be convinced.

I've found that OT3 is the best offroad GPS program I've ever used.

They've fixed the big issues that I had, the zoom level required to plan a trip on the pc and the double load of the contours. The map detail is great and there's even got camps for oz loaded.

Thumbs up
__________________
Stupidity got us into this mess, then why can't it get us out? Will Rogers

www.transaustraliatrail.com.au
rosscoact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 10:50 PM   #22
gpsoz
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Oddometer: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by rosscoact View Post
Brian, you need to ring gpsoz. according to the website the supported Oregon models are Oregon 300/400c/400t/450/450t/550

ross
Error on our web site, Oregon 200 is is fine, since it can utilise mSD cards.
V3 OZtopo is around 1.2GB, Topo Aust V2 2GB V3 2.8GB

cheer
gpsoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 04:19 AM   #23
farcall
Bike-a-holic
 
farcall's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Western Australia
Oddometer: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mtrain View Post
...If you can find any one who has used the garmin product and still has any thing good to say about oztopo I would be amazed.
Time to get AMAZED sunshine.

I count myself as advanced user of GPS's over the years and Oztopo works very very well for my needs. I understand that MY needs and YOUR needs are probably very different and different again to the next guys needs.

I don't need GPS maps for most gazetted dirt roads, except to use waypoints as turn markers. It is riding remote tracks which are less used that I find Oztopo really handy and functions adequately (could always be better) for me. Because of the remoteness of the areas I like to ride to, I prepare my route by creating a series of waypoints in Google Earth, then convert the kml/z file to a gpx/b file, verify the sequence of waypoints in Mapsource, then upload the waypoints to my GPS. Easy.
__________________
01 Africa Twin RD07A (x2)
05 HP2
09 R1200GSA
11 K1600GTL
farcall is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 04:47 AM   #24
PBee
______________
 
PBee's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Kersbrook
Oddometer: 8,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by rosscoact View Post
It looks like they hit a home run with 3.0. I'm a very happy camper.
Cheers, this is what I've been waiting to hear.

I don't need or want autorouting, I don't even use it around town.
I have a 660 so it should look the dogs guts on it.

I think I will take the plunge.
__________________


QUORN SCHITZEL CLUB Est 2011. N
When in the FLINDERS RANGES SA stay at the
ANGORICHINA VILLAGE

PBee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 11:18 AM   #25
DonQx
Peripathetic @ Heart
 
DonQx's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Land of Oz
Oddometer: 1,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mtrain View Post
If you can find any one who has used the garmin product and still has any thing good to say about oztopo I would be amazed.
not sure what planet you're on ... maybe the medication doesn't work any more?
DonQx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 01:02 AM   #26
MungoP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Hornsby, Sydney
Oddometer: 278
Another happy camper

I just loaded v3.0 and the maps look fantastic, way better than v2.1 and
way better than City Navigator v7 which I know is a bit behind.

A minor at the mo problem is that the Find function on Mapsource causes
it to fall over. I've still got v2.1 as well as 3.0 on Mapsource and I get the same result; please copy and paste this into an email to Garmin.

I'm not winning on the GPSOz FAQ as I get no response when I click on
"Can't get Contours and Roads showing together."

But those maps are beauties with way more info than I've seen before.
__________________
'04 DRZ-250, '08 DL650 ABS, '07 DR 650 sold, '04 V-Strom 650 w/o, '00 VTR250 sold
MungoP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 01:08 AM   #27
rosscoact OP
need constant supervision
 
rosscoact's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Canberra ACT
Oddometer: 5,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by MungoP View Post
I just loaded v3.0 and the maps look fantastic, way better than v2.1 and
way better than City Navigator v7 which I know is a bit behind.

A minor at the mo problem is that the Find function on Mapsource causes
it to fall over. I've still got v2.1 as well as 3.0 on Mapsource and I get the same result; please copy and paste this into an email to Garmin.

I'm not winning on the GPSOz FAQ as I get no response when I click on
"Can't get Contours and Roads showing together."

But those maps are beauties with way more info than I've seen before.
I don't have either of those problems, it must be a setup issue. Send Brian an email
__________________
Stupidity got us into this mess, then why can't it get us out? Will Rogers

www.transaustraliatrail.com.au
rosscoact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 04:37 PM   #28
gpsoz
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Oddometer: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by rosscoact View Post
I don't have either of those problems, it must be a setup issue. Send Brian an email
Yes please do, support@oztopo.com.au
gpsoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 01:01 AM   #29
gpsoz
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Oddometer: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by MungoP View Post
I just loaded v3.0 and the maps look fantastic, way better than v2.1 and
way better than City Navigator v7 which I know is a bit behind.

A minor at the mo problem is that the Find function on Mapsource causes
it to fall over. I've still got v2.1 as well as 3.0 on Mapsource and I get the same result; please copy and paste this into an email to Garmin.

I'm not winning on the GPSOz FAQ as I get no response when I click on
"Can't get Contours and Roads showing together."

But those maps are beauties with way more info than I've seen before.
Found the "find" problem. As a quick work around, run the OZtopo Combine Program then the OZtopo Separate programs. You'll find them in the OZtopo V3.0 program group in the normal Windows Start.

We'll update the distribution but please NOTE this is for a very small number of installations.

thanks again
gpsoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 09:14 PM   #30
yetiandy
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Adelaide, SA, Australia
Oddometer: 46
OzTopo Omission

I've just downloaded the demo for a look and have spotted a major omission. It has hospitals, churches, schools, PO's, parks, golf courses, even bridges, but no pubs!

What were they thinking?
yetiandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014