ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 254 votes, 4.89 average. Display Modes
Old 03-11-2012, 08:14 AM   #2491
Pete O Static
Adventure Seeker
 
Pete O Static's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: The Great White North
Oddometer: 568
A person much wiser than me gave me some good advice once about setting a "home" waypoint in my GPS. I am not a paranoid person by any means ( I just like my privacy ) but when he suggested that I make my home waypoint somewhere within a radius of my house and not right at it, that made sense to me.

My "home" waypoint is actually a few kilometers down the road.
__________________
"The trouble with quotes on the Internet is that you don't really know if they are accurate" - Thomas Edison-
Pete O Static is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 08:33 AM   #2492
sdthorpe
Adventurer... yeah right!
 
sdthorpe's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Augusta, GA
Oddometer: 548
Or you could mark it at your house and call it something else other than "home"....
sdthorpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 04:28 AM   #2493
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
As Emmbeedee implied, there really isn't a Go Home location. On the Montana, the Go Home function is a Shortcut. To make the Shortcut useful, you need to Edit the Go Home shortcut and add your own "home" location (Waypoint) to the Shortcut "Where To?" function.
I tried out the "Home" Shortcut while I was out on the bike yesterday (first ride of the year!). I had configured the shortcut properly, linking it to the waypoint I chose as "Home".

So when I clicked on the shortcut, it automatically changed profiles to Automotive from my Open Street Maps one and maps as well, as the Automotive profile had CNNA enabled.

Kinda surprised me that the gps all of a sudden looked so different.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 08:47 AM   #2494
Britome
Get Free
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Oddometer: 1,117
Thx everyone. I named a waypoint "home", selected the house icon and put it in my "drawer" and all is good thx.

Now if I can only figure out how to import google maps to basecamp. For some reason I cant figure out how to shape routes with basecamp/Montana. If there are any easy tips without me reading 2000 posts let me know.
Britome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 08:55 AM   #2495
Riteris
Dessert Runner
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: A place many ADV Riders fear: The Nation's Capital
Oddometer: 2,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete O Static View Post
A person much wiser than me gave me some good advice once about setting a "home" waypoint in my GPS. I am not a paranoid person by any means ( I just like my privacy ) but when he suggested that I make my home waypoint somewhere within a radius of my house and not right at it, that made sense to me.

My "home" waypoint is actually a few kilometers down the road.

Suppose an honest person finds your gps, it will never get back to you.

I don't think most dishonest people think along the same line as you but do whatever works to make yourself feel secure.
__________________
Chris

I am taking the advice of all those people that told me, "Hey kid, why don't you go play in traffic!"
Riteris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 09:07 AM   #2496
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
I tried out the "Home" Shortcut while I was out on the bike yesterday (first ride of the year!). I had configured the shortcut properly, linking it to the waypoint I chose as "Home".

So when I clicked on the shortcut, it automatically changed profiles to Automotive from my Open Street Maps one and maps as well, as the Automotive profile had CNNA enabled.

Kinda surprised me that the gps all of a sudden looked so different.
Remember that Shortcuts have Six (6) Edit fields. One of which is PROFILE - if you don't choose a Profile it has a "default". In this case it's Automotive. Just edit the Shortcut...

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 09:08 AM   #2497
JT
Gnarly Adventurer
 
JT's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Elgin, Texas
Oddometer: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riteris View Post
Suppose an honest person finds your gps, it will never get back to you.
Edit the /garmin/startup.txt file to display your name and phone number. It might get back to you if you are really lucky. :^)
JT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 09:11 AM   #2498
TowPro
Getting there
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 3,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riteris View Post
Suppose an honest person finds your gps, it will never get back to you.

I don't think most dishonest people think along the same line as you but do whatever works to make yourself feel secure.
Honest people can see that address label I put on the battery (with my phone number).
Also "flo" has been my insurance agent since 1990. Since I have never had a claim my deductible is $0 (even though I carry $1000 Deductible). I would hope insurance would cover a lost/stolen GPS.
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 09:13 AM   #2499
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Britome View Post
Thx everyone. I named a waypoint "home", selected the house icon and put it in my "drawer" and all is good thx.

Now if I can only figure out how to import google maps to basecamp. For some reason I cant figure out how to shape routes with basecamp/Montana. If there are any easy tips without me reading 2000 posts let me know.
Have you read the Help for Routing? Have you watched the Video Tutorial's? It really isn't vary difficult to create a route but if you are trying to work like you do in Google Maps you will certainly have problems.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 09:37 AM   #2500
TowPro
Getting there
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 3,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Remember that Shortcuts have Six (6) Edit fields. One of which is PROFILE - if you don't choose a Profile it has a "default". In this case it's Automotive. Just edit the Shortcut...

Cheers,
On my GPS I have 2 distinct profiles I use named ADV and Driving. (Both created from copies of factory profiles so if the gps crashes, I don't corrupt the factory profiles, thanks Dan)

Each profile will auto change based on mount. Out of mount it will stay on the last profile in use.
Each profile is setup exactly the same in the shortcut windows. All shortcuts are used in both profiles in exactly the same locations (makes it eaiser to remember how to use it), accept the change profile shortcuts, same place, just different shortcut to change to the "other" profile.

No mater what profile I am running on, when I select my shortcut named Go Home, the profile does not change, and routing to Home will be based on the current profile.
My home profile don't change maps either.
I have shortcuts three to "toggle" my stone road map and topo map. this turns that map on or off (based on the maps current state) and overlays on top of CNNA maps.
As a test, I turned on Topo, then hit Home. Topo stayed on.

If I go into setup/shortcuts them pick your "home" shortcut, Edit then look at the different bars:
Name (Go home)
Icon (I have a house)
Profile (empty)
Setup (empty)
Where to? Home
application Map

I bet you will show something in profile and under setup you might have changed or turned off a map.

I changed mine to use ADV profile and it showed Profile ADV, Tested it and it definitely changed to ADV profile.
then I went back in to shortcuts and selected None under profile and it cleared the profile bar.

Don't get disheartened fooling with shortcuts, it is possible to produce a shortcut that will "crash" the gps every time you select it :( If this happens, just delete the shortcut and start over
(but does it really delete the shortcut? Everytime you create one it starts at the next number, even though you renamed or deleted them.)
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:57 AM   #2501
Britome
Get Free
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Oddometer: 1,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Have you read the Help for Routing? Have you watched the Video Tutorial's? It really isn't vary difficult to create a route but if you are trying to work like you do in Google Maps you will certainly have problems.

Cheers,
I have read and watched. Maybe the problem is I keep thinking google maps. I just can find a prescribed way to drag a line/route. When I add waypoints I puts me in a circle even after I delete previous rout and create a new one with the waypoints in basecamp.

I'll read and watch again. Thx.
Britome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 12:42 PM   #2502
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Remember that Shortcuts have Six (6) Edit fields. One of which is PROFILE - if you don't choose a Profile it has a "default". In this case it's Automotive. Just edit the Shortcut...

Cheers,
Wow, I don't remember seeing all those setup options last time I looked at Shortcuts. Guess I need to keep exploring this thing.

Thanks!
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 03:04 PM   #2503
R-dubb
Dubbious Adventurer
 
R-dubb's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 4,795
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Wow, I don't remember seeing all those setup options last time I looked at Shortcuts. Guess I need to keep exploring this thing.

Thanks!
Agreed. I'm thinking shortcuts are probably the most powerful and under utilized feature in the Montana. Macros are always exciting when they work...
R-dubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 03:20 PM   #2504
marco polo
Studly Adventurer
 
marco polo's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Alexandria VA and Ottawa, Canada
Oddometer: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riteris View Post
Suppose an honest person finds your gps, it will never get back to you.

I don't think most dishonest people think along the same line as you but do whatever works to make yourself feel secure.
You could easily achieve that (having GPS returned by an honest person) by simply adding your name, home city and phone numbers(s) etc. to the opening splash screen. You don't need to have a Home waypoint to do that.
marco polo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 03:30 PM   #2505
TravellingStrom
Gnarly Adventurer
 
TravellingStrom's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Rockhampton, Australia
Oddometer: 397
Does anyone know if the Montana can be Pin locked?

My TTR2 had this and on power up, it stayed on the splash screen with my name and phone number, reward offered etc until the PIN was entered

This made it useless to anyone who found it, but they could earn some cash if they were honest. A lot more chance of it coming home if the finder cannot use it IMHO. I think there was a limited amount of PIN attempts as well, but cannot recall that bit



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cheers
TravellingStrom
__________________
www.travellingstrom.com
TravellingStrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014