ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 64 votes, 4.58 average. Display Modes
Old 03-13-2012, 05:55 PM   #2536
TravellingStrom
Gnarly Adventurer
 
TravellingStrom's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Rockhampton, Australia
Oddometer: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
Hopefully the hard drive is ok and you can plug the drive into another computer and get your data off of it.

Jon...
The HDD is the issue, I ran a diagnostic tool after I had all the BaseCamp failures, I also had a number if BSOD over the past 6 months so i was a tad concerned and it told me 21% failure of some sectors so I did start to back up prior to getting a new HDD under warranty. But, it now fails to boot, it has lost the MBR and wants an install disc, which I never got so today it went into the doctors with the explicit instructions about reinstalling windows so I can recover data, then they can have it back to replace the HDD . Hopefully I can get all my routes, tracks and POIs back, plus other stuff of course


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cheers
TravellingStrom
__________________
www.travellingstrom.com
TravellingStrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 05:57 PM   #2537
TravellingStrom
Gnarly Adventurer
 
TravellingStrom's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Rockhampton, Australia
Oddometer: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvwalker View Post
Without a recent backup this can be a real PITA, but there's a chance that much of your data is still okay. If you're a do-it yourself type, fairly straight forward to remove the problem drive and hook up to another PC/laptop using an IDE/SATA to USB adapter. There's a number of cheap adapters available on the net. It's worth a shot anyway and you're not out much coin. With all the time investment in route planning and collection, our tracks are more than worth their weight in gold.
Thanks, I do have an adaptor after my original lappy died, but see my post above


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cheers
TravellingStrom
__________________
www.travellingstrom.com
TravellingStrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 07:20 PM   #2538
AdvRonski
They call me......Ronski
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Wishing I was back in Grand Junction, now in MN
Oddometer: 625
I finally got a chance to spend some time on the bike with the Montana, courtesy of some record warm temps up here in MN, and I am very happy I took the plunge! Certainly, there was some frustration with figuring out how to set up and use this new technology,( I am a long-time 60Cx user), but this thread was a huge help. Especially DRTBYK Dan!
I love the display- easy for these aging eyes to see in sun or shade. And the touch screen is actually more glove-friendly than the small buttons on the 60Cx. After making ,(and borrowing),some Shortcuts that seem useful for me, I realized that there are several ways to access Shortcuts and Apps available. They can go in the App tray, which can grow as large as you want, or the Main Menu page, which can also grow to several pages if desired. You can also put them in the Favorites Dashboard, so you can access them on the Map screen. I found that having more than 3 favorites requires you to scroll down to find the next ones, and there is no up or down button for this dashboard. When I try to scroll by touching the bottom of the dashboard and flicking it up, I usually just end up starting the closest App or Shortcut, so I limit the items I have put on the Favorites Dashboard. And, then there's the Power button, which can access several functions.
You can mix and match all of these however you want, just make it easy for you to find your most-used functions, and spend some time getting used to using them.
So- two thumbs up for the Montana!
Basecamp-not so much.
__________________
Ronski
Enduro Racer & Google Earth Adventurer
AdvRonski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 04:42 AM   #2539
TowPro
I want to ride
 
TowPro's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 2,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdvRonski View Post
So- two thumbs up for the Montana!
Basecamp-not so much.
I am on the Basecamp beta program. Every time I start it a new version seems to come down down.

Some of the things are just stupid, like Search for an address. Why can I only search the area of the screen?
If I tell it 1234 South Main Street, Roanoke VA and it should be able to figure out I want to only search for Main Street in Renoke VA even if it's not shown on the map.
__________________
2014 R1200GS
2000 KTM LC4 640 E
TowPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:01 AM   #2540
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Pacific NW - USA
Oddometer: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
If anyone has doubts about the durability of the Montana 600 Series you might want to check out the Andes Moto Extreme Team. They are using the Montana for there historical altitude attempt.

Hope they make it!!!

Cheers,
WOW.....That is quite an undertaking!

Cool that they are using the Montana.

On a side note...
When I was checking out their site I noticed this... http://www.adventurebikerider.com/
I can't believe I have never heard about that magazine before.

Jon...
__________________
2013 FZ1
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 08:56 AM   #2541
Britome
Get Free
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Oddometer: 978
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdvRonski
So- two thumbs up for the Montana!
Basecamp-not so much.

True that!
Britome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 12:08 PM   #2542
BobM
DualSport
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Burlington, ON or Tucson, AZ
Oddometer: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Just had time to install this and it worked perfectly for me. My Montana's now at 3.94 and has rebooted normally.

YMMV
I previously reported a problem to Garmin where the Montana gives error when loading a Direct (off-road) route that has more than 50 waypoints. They agreed it was an error and would fix it. It isn't mentioned in V3.94 Beta and I don't want to upgrade while I'm travelling. Could someone with the upgrade please try a >50 point route and see if it's fixed. Most of my off-road routes have 100-250 waypoints.

Thanks
BobM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 05:21 PM   #2543
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobM View Post
I previously reported a problem to Garmin where the Montana gives error when loading a Direct (off-road) route that has more than 50 waypoints. They agreed it was an error and would fix it. It isn't mentioned in V3.94 Beta and I don't want to upgrade while I'm travelling. Could someone with the upgrade please try a >50 point route and see if it's fixed. Most of my off-road routes have 100-250 waypoints.

Thanks
Not changed in v3.94. Still has a 50 point limit. The "error" message is also inappropriate.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 05:40 PM   #2544
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,065
FYI - "Who Posted"

Not sure people realize this but there's a way to see all the posts anyone has made in the threads on this and many other forums...

You can't be in the forums when you try this so if you go to the list of "Laying Down Tracks" threads here: http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37 then find the thread you want to check, look at the right end where you see the number of replies and click the number, and lo and behold, you'll see who made how many posts, and be able to go to any person's posts all in one screen by clicking their number.

So if you want to see all of DRTBYK's posts, you can do so!
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:00 PM   #2545
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
FYI - "Who Posted"

Not sure people realize this but there's a way to see all the posts anyone has made in the threads on this and many other forums...

You can't be in the forums when you try this so if you go to the list of "Laying Down Tracks" threads here: http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37 then find the thread you want to check, look at the right end where you see the number of replies and click the number, and lo and behold, you'll see who made how many posts, and be able to go to any person's posts all in one screen by clicking their number.

So if you want to see all of DRTBYK's posts, you can do so!
Fortunately for all of you, I'll be on the road soon and have fewer opportunities to hang out here.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:48 PM   #2546
TowPro
I want to ride
 
TowPro's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 2,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Fortunately for all of you, I'll be on the road soon and have fewer opportunities to hang out here.

Cheers,
Yahooooo! I am number 3 and I have only been on this thread for a couple months. I know i asked a lot of questions in the beginning, but I hope i also post usefull information as well.
__________________
2014 R1200GS
2000 KTM LC4 640 E
TowPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 05:45 AM   #2547
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Pacific NW - USA
Oddometer: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
FYI - "Who Posted"

Not sure people realize this but there's a way to see all the posts anyone has made in the threads on this and many other forums...

You can't be in the forums when you try this so if you go to the list of "Laying Down Tracks" threads here: http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37 then find the thread you want to check, look at the right end where you see the number of replies and click the number, and lo and behold, you'll see who made how many posts, and be able to go to any person's posts all in one screen by clicking their number.

So if you want to see all of DRTBYK's posts, you can do so!
WOW....I never knew about that feature.....Thanks

That will make it so much easier to find posts when I'm looking for stuff.

Jon...
__________________
2013 FZ1
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 11:48 AM   #2548
Dagwood_55
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dagwood_55's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Ozarks
Oddometer: 1,270
Need Help Quick

Leaving tomorrow for a 4 day trip to the Hill Country of Texas

I've been planning routes for weeks and finally done
I've got a Day 1, Day 2 thru Day 4, converted the routes to tracks and named them as such.

I then click and drag them over to the memory card while I'm in Base Camp. They show to move and after I can then click on the Device and see the correct tracks on the memory card. You can click on them and see the track on BC map.

But after unplugging my device from the computer, one of the 4 tracks will disappeard completly from the card/device. I've tried this 6 or 8 times, I've renamed the tracks, I've deleated a bunch of old tracks. But everytime I load the missing track, it appears and another one disappears.

Whats going on???? I need all these tracks and leaving tomorrow.

Helppppppppppp!!!!!!!!
__________________
Live long, love much, laugh often, and
Ride, Ride, Ride.....
Dagwood_55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 11:51 AM   #2549
marco polo
Studly Adventurer
 
marco polo's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Alexandria VA and Ottawa, Canada
Oddometer: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagwood_55 View Post
Leaving tomorrow for a 4 day trip to the Hill Country of Texas

I've been planning routes for weeks and finally done
I've got a Day 1, Day 2 thru Day 4, converted the routes to tracks and named them as such.

I then click and drag them over to the memory card while I'm in Base Camp. They show to move and after I can then click on the Device and see the correct tracks on the memory card. You can click on them and see the track on BC map.

But after unplugging my device from the computer, one of the 4 tracks will disappeard completly from the card/device. I've tried this 6 or 8 times, I've renamed the tracks, I've deleated a bunch of old tracks. But everytime I load the missing track, it appears and another one disappears.

Whats going on???? I need all these tracks and leaving tomorrow.

Helppppppppppp!!!!!!!!
No expert here, by any means, but instead of dragging and dropping routes/tracks etc., why not just select the appropriate List in Basecamp and then use the "Send List To Device" function to upload them to your Montana (or its microSD card)? Using that function, there will be boxes where you tick off what within that List you want to transfer, e.g., routes, tracks, waypoints etc. BTW, I'm using Basecamp for Mac.
marco polo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 12:02 PM   #2550
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagwood_55 View Post
Leaving tomorrow for a 4 day trip to the Hill Country of Texas

I've been planning routes for weeks and finally done
I've got a Day 1, Day 2 thru Day 4, converted the routes to tracks and named them as such.

I then click and drag them over to the memory card while I'm in Base Camp. They show to move and after I can then click on the Device and see the correct tracks on the memory card. You can click on them and see the track on BC map.

But after unplugging my device from the computer, one of the 4 tracks will disappeard completly from the card/device. I've tried this 6 or 8 times, I've renamed the tracks, I've deleated a bunch of old tracks. But everytime I load the missing track, it appears and another one disappears.

Whats going on???? I need all these tracks and leaving tomorrow.

Helppppppppppp!!!!!!!!
How many Tracks do you have in the Track Manager on the Montana? Sounds like it's full (200). You don't have to delete tracks from the Track Manager just move the ones you don't want "active" to Archive.

If this same Track is the only one causing a problem, I would suggest looking to see how many track points it has. Can't be more than 10,000. But even then, that shouldn't cause it not to load.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014