ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 134 votes, 4.80 average. Display Modes
Old 07-05-2011, 08:27 AM   #286
dvwalker
Working to ride
 
dvwalker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Orygun
Oddometer: 708
yes sir, with positive lead on pin 4 and negative on pin 5, good voltage. Leaving positive lead on pin 4, no other pin reads good ground, so pin 5 is the confirmed ground.

good luck with your wiring problem
dvwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 08:56 AM   #287
bergster
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Oddometer: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvwalker View Post
yes sir, with positive lead on pin 4 and negative on pin 5, good voltage. Leaving positive lead on pin 4, no other pin reads good ground, so pin 5 is the confirmed ground.

good luck with your wiring problem
That's exactly what I have. I called Garmin support and they have no idea what the pin-out is for their mount. It makes no sense it's not working, but considering I modified the cable I guess I will have to order a new mount and try it again.

I have to remember to stop modifying stuff...
bergster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 09:05 AM   #288
Boon Booni
Red Clay Halo
 
Boon Booni's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Richmond, Va
Oddometer: 12,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bergster View Post
That's exactly what I have. I called Garmin support and they have no idea what the pin-out is for their mount. It makes no sense it's not working, but considering I modified the cable I guess I will have to order a new mount and try it again.

I have to remember to stop modifying stuff...

Won't the black wire in the cable be the ground?



I see black and I see red, the others are for information.
__________________
A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men.

You can be Han Solo, and I can be another Han Solo...
Boon Booni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 09:27 AM   #289
bergster
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Oddometer: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boon Booni View Post
Won't the black wire in the cable be the ground?



I see black and I see red, the others are for information.
Yes, that should be correct. I cut the cable back prior to the take-off of the audio cable. I checked continuity to the pins on the mount prior to cutting the cable to be sure I was wiring to the proper wires after I cut the cable. Prior to shortening the cable the red wire had continuity to pin 4 and black had continuity to pin 5. After cutting the cable back and identifying the red and black wires I confirmed the red wire still had continuity to pin 4 and the black wire to pin 5.

Red and black are apparently continuous throughout the cable. I wired red to power and black to ground. On the mount I have power to pin 4 and 11 volts across pins 4 & 5 with correct polarity when red lead on the volt-meter is contacting pin 4 and black lead on pin 5.

Still no joy. As far as I can figure, it should work. I guess the only solution is to order a new mount with an unmolested cable and see if it works.

Any other thoughts are appreciated and thanks for the very helpful responses.
bergster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 09:40 AM   #290
Boon Booni
Red Clay Halo
 
Boon Booni's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Richmond, Va
Oddometer: 12,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bergster View Post
Yes, that should be correct. I cut the cable back prior to the take-off of the audio cable. I checked continuity to the pins on the mount prior to cutting the cable to be sure I was wiring to the proper wires after I cut the cable. Prior to shortening the cable the red wire had continuity to pin 4 and black had continuity to pin 5. After cutting the cable back and identifying the red and black wires I confirmed the red wire still had continuity to pin 4 and the black wire to pin 5.

Red and black are apparently continuous throughout the cable. I wired red to power and black to ground. On the mount I have power to pin 4 and 11 volts across pins 4 & 5 with correct polarity when red lead on the volt-meter is contacting pin 4 and black lead on pin 5.

Still no joy. As far as I can figure, it should work. I guess the only solution is to order a new mount with an unmolested cable and see if it works.

Any other thoughts are appreciated and thanks for the very helpful responses.
You might want to connect a test light to pin 4 & 5 to verify that you have good connections. It's possible for the pins to show voltage, but not be able to carry any enough amperage to power your unit.

11 volts seems low, is that the same voltage at the battery?
__________________
A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men.

You can be Han Solo, and I can be another Han Solo...
Boon Booni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 10:57 AM   #291
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boon Booni View Post
You might want to connect a test light to pin 4 & 5 to verify that you have good connections. It's possible for the pins to show voltage, but not be able to carry any enough amperage to power your unit.

11 volts seems low, is that the same voltage at the battery?
Your pinout is correct but your voltage is LOW. Must be 12VDC minimum. If you have a good connection(?) and your motorcycle battery is healthy(?), you should have at least 12.5-13VDC unloaded. Is the 11VDC with the engine running? If not, start the bike and measure voltage.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 11:16 AM   #292
bergster
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Oddometer: 585
Low voltage was the problem. I disconnected everything and ran a temp wire direct to battery and BINGO - it worked. Turns out the lead I pulled power from was too low a voltage as you guys correctly pointed out. I found another lead that was approx. 13 volts and all is now working properly.

Thanks all for your help.
bergster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 12:20 PM   #293
R-dubb
Dubbious Adventurer
 
R-dubb's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 4,764
I'm currious how much current this little beauty draws when hardwired, turned-off, and fully charged?

Something tells me it is enough to put a hit on my smallish KTM battery over just a few days. I'd feel better if it shut off entirely after completing the charge cycle while not being operated. Clearly, it does not since the screen stays lit.
R-dubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 12:43 PM   #294
R-dubb
Dubbious Adventurer
 
R-dubb's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 4,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmhrc628 View Post
So the old 276 is holding it's ground?
So far, the 276 has an edge in two important areas I care about:
  • Route handling / auto recalc off mode.
  • Ability to control screen detail relative to zoom, Topo lines in particular.

There are probably at least 20 things the Montana does better! Here are just a few:
  • Sunlight readability.
  • Bigger higher resolution screen.
  • High sesitivity receiver
  • Icon enabled touch screen
  • Keyboard data entry.
  • Extremely high memory/storage capability.
  • Battery flexibility.
  • AMPS mount with hardwire contacts.
  • Vibe resistance.(seems to be more robust)
  • Elevation plots.
  • Menu short cuts.
  • Profiles
  • Wireless sharing (which didn't work for me and my buddy)

Bottom line.... Montana wins by a mile

R-dubb screwed with this post 07-05-2011 at 02:09 PM
R-dubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 03:58 PM   #295
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by R-dubb View Post
So far, the 276 has an edge in two important areas I care about:
  • Route handling / auto recalc off mode.
  • Ability to control screen detail relative to zoom, Topo lines in particular.

There are probably at least 20 things the Montana does better! Here are just a few:
  • Sunlight readability.
  • Bigger higher resolution screen.
  • High sesitivity receiver
  • Icon enabled touch screen
  • Keyboard data entry.
  • Extremely high memory/storage capability.
  • Battery flexibility.
  • AMPS mount with hardwire contacts.
  • Vibe resistance.(seems to be more robust)
  • Elevation plots.
  • Menu short cuts.
  • Profiles
  • Wireless sharing (which didn't work for me and my buddy)

Bottom line.... Montana wins by a mile
I think the Chartplotter folks will be in denial for some time yet. . .

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 04:02 PM   #296
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,863
Mounted and "tested"



Short RAM Arm. . . I like to be able to rotate to Portrait mode in just a few seconds.

P.S. Although I think the AMPS mount is very robust and the Locking Screw is easy to use and solid, I added a quick-release lanyard to the Montana - I like "backup's"

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com

DRTBYK screwed with this post 07-05-2011 at 08:01 PM
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 04:04 PM   #297
EmmEff
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 1,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
I think the Chartplotter folks will be in denial for some time yet. . .
They're a voracious bunch, without a doubt :)
EmmEff is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 08:04 PM   #298
Lobby
Viel Spass, Vato!
 
Lobby's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Oddometer: 27,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
I think the Chartplotter folks will be in denial for some time yet. . .

Cheers,
Actually, I've been wondering when somebody's gonna come out with a suitable replacement for my 478.

On my recent long motorcycle trip to the east coast, the batteries on my 478 crapped out. I wasn't sure whether the unit was damaged. And while I'd heard of the Montana, I still wasn't sure it would adequately replace it. It seems like it will.

Sure the 478 is a great machine, but instruments should get better as technology evolves.



Now, if I can only get my 478 to break.
__________________
Gracie's Gold
Lobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 08:26 PM   #299
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lobby View Post
snip...

Now, if I can only get my 478 to break.
eBay is your friend It seems that there are always buyers for the old chartplotters.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 09:07 PM   #300
dvwalker
Working to ride
 
dvwalker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Orygun
Oddometer: 708
mounted and dirty

dvwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014