ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 248 votes, 4.89 average. Display Modes
Old 04-22-2012, 12:24 PM   #3046
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,323
I stand corrected - thank you Emmbeedee - the Setup->Reset feature does not reset the Odometer. Only the Master Reset will do that. I haven't found it to be that big of a deal to do but I sometimes forget to do it before departing on a trip/tour.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 01:20 PM   #3047
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
There is another field; it's called "odometer".
Found it......thanks.

I have not played with those settings so I did not even know it was there.

Jon...
__________________
Bikeless at this time
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 01:30 PM   #3048
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 681
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
If your Montana is discharging when it is Powered OFF, such that the battery is "nearly dead" in 24hrs, I'd be calling Garmin Tech Support and asking for a new battery. Does it do that even if you remove it from the mount?

Cheers,
Nope, it's been sitting on my desk since Friday and it still is almost 100%. I only get the drain in the mount using switched power.
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 08:04 PM   #3049
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,346
Map displays don't get much better than this: we still use Canada Enhanced Basemap, a mapset which Garmin gave up on years ago, but which can't be beat for backroad travelling since they show the secondary roads as far out as the 5 kilometer zoom level.

Here's a few examples of the screens we can get with those old maps on the Montana.







City Navigator is far better for looking up addresses, and Topo is better in other respects, but to get a useable large map view, the Enhanced Basemap can't be beat.

As far as I can tell, this mapset was put out in 2000! Sure wish Garmin would re-issue it. What's the point of having such a great display if current maps like City Navigator lose most of the detail if you zoom past 1.2Km?
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.

Emmbeedee screwed with this post 04-22-2012 at 08:09 PM
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 08:19 PM   #3050
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
So, you are correct that any change you make to a Profile will (should) stick. And there is currently no "locking, unlocking" feature for Profiles. Aside from backing up your profiles to your computer (recommended), I make a "masterProfile" of the two custom profiles I have on my Montana and I don't screw with them unless I make the overt decision to change a setting for the better. That way I don't need to connect to my computer to "recover" a Profile to it's "original condition". I often experiment with my daily profile and the easy way to return to my "original" settings is to just delete it and create a new one from the "masterProfile".

Cheers,
So you are saying that you create two identical profiles simultaneously to do several specific things. I.E, in my example, I would create TopoMaster, with all the original settings as defined, and Topo, which I would use as I played with various settings. Then, when I was happy with the changes, I would overwrite TopoMaster with the new Topo and rename it, or delete the Master and rename Topo to TopoMaster and clone it to Topo again to start the process all over?

Now we get into the problem of remembering just what all changes were incorporated into the daily use profile, and why you do or don't like it! It would be nice if one could parse the file. Oh well, after a few more months I'll get it.
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 08:44 PM   #3051
BobM
DualSport
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Burlington, ON or Tucson, AZ
Oddometer: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Map displays don't get much better than this: we still use Canada Enhanced Basemap, a mapset which Garmin gave up on years ago, but which can't be beat for backroad travelling since they show the secondary roads as far out as the 5 kilometer zoom level. ...
Does Canada Enhanced Basemap do Follow Roads routing?
BobM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 09:08 PM   #3052
Abenteuerfahrer
Deaf on Wheels
 
Abenteuerfahrer's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Oddometer: 2,287
BaseCamp gurus.

Got 3.98 Montana update, got 3.3.2 Basecamp. Now the BaseCamp designed Icon for my desktop shortcut is not dragable to the screen. I simply get a Microsoft designed jargon! It's not in "search program and files" either.

Cheeers..
Abenteuerfahrer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 09:42 PM   #3053
_cy_
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Oddometer: 5,887
running beta 3.98 ... audio is not working with gamin suction cup clamp w/speakers. OS is also not holding settings. for instance will move an option upwards... then will find option back to it's original position

anyone else having issues with beta?
_cy_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 05:56 AM   #3054
TowPro
Getting there
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 2,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by _cy_ View Post
running beta 3.98 ... audio is not working with gamin suction cup clamp w/speakers. OS is also not holding settings. for instance will move an option upwards... then will find option back to it's original position

anyone else having issues with beta?
I have seen issues with the Car mount audio (but running last release version). I think if i start it out of the mount, clip it in, then start a route I only get beeps at turns.
Just removing it from the mount asd inserting it again and voice starts. I don't think it's loss of contact to mount (because charge works), I think it's an issue of GPS knowing it's in the car mount
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 06:01 AM   #3055
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobM View Post
Does Canada Enhanced Basemap do Follow Roads routing?
I doubt it - that's what City Navigator does best. A complete install of the CEB product is 28 megabytes.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 07:28 AM   #3056
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,346
Is it just me?

Every time I disconnect my Montana from a computer, PC or Mac, it never shuts down. Just sits there with the word "Garmin" on the screen until I pull the battery.

This only started happening on version 3.98.

Time to email the Beta team.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 07:35 AM   #3057
DR. Rock
Part of the problem
 
DR. Rock's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: NYfC, yff
Oddometer: 5,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Is it just me?

Every time I disconnect my Montana from a computer, PC or Mac, it never shuts down. Just sits there with the word "Garmin" on the screen until I pull the battery.

This only started happening on version 3.98.

Time to email the Beta team.
It's not just you. I've tried nine ways to sunday unmounting, ejecting, hitting power before unplugging. It's always unplug USB, then battery out to restart.
__________________
"I came into this game for the action, the excitement; go anywhere, travel light... get in, get out... wherever there's trouble, a man alone... Now they got the whole country sectioned off; you can't make a move without a form." --Robert De Niro as Archibald 'Harry' Tuttle in Brazil, 1985. The Mobius Trip index | Spot tracking live 4/18-5/4/13 | AdventureLoft™ Tent Space
DR. Rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 07:50 AM   #3058
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by DR. Rock View Post
It's not just you. I've tried nine ways to sunday unmounting, ejecting, hitting power before unplugging. It's always unplug USB, then battery out to restart.
I've reported it. It wouldn't surprise me to see an update to 3.99 this week.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 07:57 AM   #3059
FatChance
Road Captain
 
FatChance's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Durango, Colorado, USA
Oddometer: 10,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Every time I disconnect my Montana from a computer, PC or Mac, it never shuts down. Just sits there with the word "Garmin" on the screen until I pull the battery.
I have noticed the same thing...
__________________
Pain in the Butte Ranch
Durango, Colorado

- Calculated risk or forbidden fruit?
FatChance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 09:16 AM   #3060
moto-treks
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Is it just me?

Every time I disconnect my Montana from a computer, PC or Mac, it never shuts down. Just sits there with the word "Garmin" on the screen until I pull the battery.

This only started happening on version 3.98.

Time to email the Beta team.
Yup, me too. I think this beta version may have taken a step backwards. I'm having route/edit/recalculate problems too.
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014