ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 200 votes, 4.87 average. Display Modes
Old 06-19-2012, 04:40 PM   #4066
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
You did know that version 4.20, available through WebUpdater, does give Alphanumeric sorting? At first I thought you were being facetious then I realized you may not have noticed a few pages back where we discussed it.
See...that's why I asked. I did miss something. I've been in Remote Medicals WFR class the past 10 days and they don't give you much time to "recreate" during these classes.

I'm updating to v4.20 now. . . Thanks for keeping an eye on me.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 04:59 PM   #4067
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvwalker View Post
Well little by little, we did receive 1/3 of #17 on the master list in the last release. The waypoint sort setting sticks, like it should, so one needs to remember to set from Alpha back to Nearest if that is preferred.

The Montana really does need many of the other enhancement items though...dev team has been mainly concerned with stability this past year, with a few bones (route no-calc) here and there...
I'm with dvwalker, we got 1/3 of what FR#17 was requesting. I think we should definitely keep asking for the others.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 05:18 PM   #4068
leftystrat62
Adventurer
 
leftystrat62's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Little Rhody
Oddometer: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
This is the Track Tool in Mac-BaseCamp:



As Abenteuerfahrer noted, it would be easier to use the Route Tool when there are roads that match up with the TAT maps and then convert them to Tracks. When you come to a unmapped road section in the TAT, just use the Track Tool to create a track of that section and "add" it to the previous or following Track section.

As a data point you can, using Mac-BaseCamp only, create a "mixed-route" (a route with both Direct and Along-road sections).

To create a mixed-route:
  1. Start by using one of the Along-road Activity's to map your route.
  2. When you come to a segment where your want to go "off-road" on the map, just move the cursor over to the Route in your List and select it. Open the Route Properties window and change the Activity to Direct.
  3. The Route on the map will change to a Direct Route but don't worry, just use the Cmd-Z (undo) and the Route will revert back to the Along-road route you had before. Now with the Activity still set to Direct the next via point you place will be in Direct Activity mode.
  4. Continue placing your via points until you get back to a routable road on the Map.
  5. When you want to go back to Along-road routing, just change the Activity in the Route Properties window and you're Along-road routing again. You can repeat the steps above as many times as you like to create your route.

I then recommend converting your mixed-route to a Track.

Cheers,
What version of base camp are you running? Mine looks different,it doesn't show route tool or track tool-I'm running 3.3.2.0 version(I thought the latest) . Mine has: hand tool ,zoom, selector,waypoint , create route,overview map,activity. I did try to switch from motorcycle to "Direct" when I was trying to connect way points across that section of un mapped roads.
leftystrat62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 05:42 PM   #4069
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by leftystrat62 View Post
What version of base camp are you running? Mine looks different,it doesn't show route tool or track tool-I'm running 3.3.2.0 version(I thought the latest)
That is 3.3.2.0 for Mac, as is my screen shot below.



Does this help? Go to View/Customize Toolbar

__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.

Emmbeedee screwed with this post 06-20-2012 at 09:03 AM
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 11:37 PM   #4070
konfucius
Gnarly Adventurer
 
konfucius's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Boras, Sweden
Oddometer: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Yeehaw!

Running WebUpdater gives the update, with the following changes:

Changes from version 4.10 to version 4.20:
Added ability to sort waypoints alphabetically

Improved search speed in Where To? menus
Fixed review of individual route points through the Route Planner
Fixed issue with the Glide Ratio data field
Fixed occasional map display issue when using Topo Deutschland 2012 Pro or Garmin TransAlpin 2012 Pro

Just compared my 650 with 4.20 and my wife's 650 with 4.10 and there's a new "Sort" field that allows you to sort by "Nearest" or "Alphabetical" in the menu in "Waypoint Manager" and in "Where To/Waypoints".

Yay!
Does it still have the problem/limit with maximum 50 points in a route?
konfucius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 04:07 AM   #4071
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,059
I added a new post about using Javawa Device Manager to enable map visibility in BaseCamp to the Wisdom and FAQ thread.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 06:46 AM   #4072
dvwalker
Working to ride
 
dvwalker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Orygun
Oddometer: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
I wonder if you could install Basecamp on your memory stick, or make a portable app out of BC?
It works!!!

This saves a step of having to install BC onto a host computer for emergency track repair while out in the field. I simply copied the BC app files from my PC into a folder on the SD card. I had to include GlobalMaps (\Basecamp\Maps folder) since BC requires at least one map during initial load. After initial load then BC will recognize the other BC enabled map files (img files) from the Montana. Very cool...

1. In windows 7, BC is installed in the C:\Program Files (x86)\Garmin\BaseCamp directory
2. copy all files (*.dll, *.exe, etc) and \Maps folders to directory on your SD card. I created folder [SD]:\Tools\basecamp. I skipped copying the help file folders (\en).
3. plug Montana into any Windows XP/7 PC and run BaseCamp.exe



notes:
  • \Database folder is a copy of My Collection (Alldata.gdb) database in case I ever need to do an emergency import.
  • \Setup folder is a copy of the BC installer file, just in case I need to install onto host computer...
dvwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 07:06 AM   #4073
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,108
Base Camp on memory stick

DV,
That is a great post

Thank you very much for posting the info. I even printed it out for safe keeping.

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 07:15 AM   #4074
ramz
Professional Trail Rider
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Salida, CO
Oddometer: 1,963
This needs to be in the Wisdom and FAQ thread. Please.
ramz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 07:37 AM   #4075
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramz View Post
This needs to be in the Wisdom and FAQ thread. Please.
With DVWalker's permission, I would post it.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 07:37 AM   #4076
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvwalker View Post
It works!!!
Awesome! Glad to hear you made it work!
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 12:12 PM   #4077
BobM
DualSport
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Burlington, ON or Tucson, AZ
Oddometer: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by konfucius View Post
Does it still have the problem/limit with maximum 50 points in a route?
That was fixed in V4.10 - see this post.

There is a 50 waypoint limit for routes that use Follow Roads routing (i.e. all Activities except "Direct"), but that's the same for most Garmin GPS. I haven't found the upper limit of waypoints for Direct Routes but it's at least the same as the 60CSx (i.e. 250 waypoints).

Bob
BobM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 06:57 PM   #4078
dvwalker
Working to ride
 
dvwalker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Orygun
Oddometer: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
With DVWalker's permission, I would post it.
As a CYA, I searched and didn't find any legal lawyer stuff on Garmin's website that says we can't redistribute/run their free BC software in this fashion. Let me know if anyone knows otherwise....

So you have my perm to post to the wisdom thread, gulp...

Emmbeedee, just wanted to say good job collecting all the random thoughts and data bits in the wisdom thread. Really starting to look like an excellent reference for folks trying to move forward in the Montana learning curve.
dvwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 07:06 PM   #4079
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvwalker View Post
As a CYA, I searched and didn't find any legal lawyer stuff on Garmin's website that says we can't redistribute/run their free BC software in this fashion. Let me know if anyone knows otherwise....

So you have my perm to post to the wisdom thread, gulp...

Emmbeedee, just wanted to say good job collecting all the random thoughts and data bits in the wisdom thread. Really starting to look like an excellent reference for folks trying to move forward in the Montana learning curve.
Ok, thanks for the permission, and for the feedback on the Wisdom and FAQ thread. I doubt Garmin would care; it's not like anyone's making money on it, or reverse engineering their product.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 12:26 AM   #4080
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
I added a new post about using Javawa Device Manager to enable map visibility in BaseCamp to the Wisdom and FAQ thread.
Great post!

Was this even possible without JaVaWa?
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014