ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 200 votes, 4.87 average. Display Modes
Old 06-24-2012, 12:05 PM   #4111
konfucius
Gnarly Adventurer
 
konfucius's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Boras, Sweden
Oddometer: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco polo View Post
No, I think we use them in the same way. It's just that in much of North America we don't have road networks that look like blood vessels and arteries. I've been back and forth across this continent numerous times and I've never needed anything close to 50 waypoints to construct an on-road route. I can see why you might need to, though, on those roads.
Those routes are not for travels, but for local daily rally's.
konfucius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 12:52 PM   #4112
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 461
I did a reset before I updated to the latest version in the hopes that I'd get rid of the stupid white screen crap. No. How frikkin annoying!! Then in the middle of navigating a route, the unit completely powered off. It was in the car dock and had power. Started it back up and it froze on "loading...". Shut it off and started it back up and it worked.

I'm so sick of that damned white screen. I guess I'll call Garmin again and see if I can get a replacement. Dang it. White screens, mysterious power offs, freezing... ugh. I want one that works correctly!! :mope:



Hey, I was wondering how you guys make shortcuts. Let's say I want to make one that will take me directly to a different profile - like from automotive to motorcycle. When I do it, the closest I get is to "Profile Change". Or to make a shortcut to toggle maps off and on. The closest I get there is something like "map detail". What's your secret?
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 06:33 PM   #4113
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsatyr View Post
Hey, I was wondering how you guys make shortcuts. Let's say I want to make one that will take me directly to a different profile - like from automotive to motorcycle. When I do it, the closest I get is to "Profile Change". Or to make a shortcut to toggle maps off and on. The closest I get there is something like "map detail". What's your secret?
Post 5 in the Wisdom and FAQ thread describes how I create shortcuts.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 09:19 PM   #4114
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsatyr View Post
Hey, I was wondering how you guys make shortcuts. Let's say I want to make one that will take me directly to a different profile - like from automotive to motorcycle. When I do it, the closest I get is to "Profile Change". Or to make a shortcut to toggle maps off and on. The closest I get there is something like "map detail". What's your secret?
Some of the things you may want to do will require using/configuring Profiles along with your Shortcuts. So make sure you understand how to incorporate Profiles along with your Shortcut's.

For example, if you want to have a particular map Enabled, you will need to use a Profile to do that. But, that Profile can be "loaded" along with the other settings in a Shortcut.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 06:51 AM   #4115
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
I am able to use shortcuts to enable/disable maps, and use said shortcut from within any profile to effect those changes.
Yes you can. That was a bad example on my part.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 08:10 AM   #4116
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 461
Thanks, I hadn't seen that wiki one.

Looks like I'm thinking about shortcuts backwards. I was trying to create shortcuts first, then add them to a profile. So you create the profile first, THEN adjust the settings of the profile. Does that mean you have 2 profiles to toggle a map off and on? Profile 1 would have Map A enabled and Profile 2 would have Map A disabled? Or does the shortcut itself toggle it off/on?

Geesus, I feel like a frikkin moron because I just don't seem to get it. :mope: I know you can't tell, but I'm really smarter than I look.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 08:27 AM   #4117
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsatyr View Post
Thanks, I hadn't seen that wiki one.

Looks like I'm thinking about shortcuts backwards. I was trying to create shortcuts first, then add them to a profile. So you create the profile first, THEN adjust the settings of the profile. Does that mean you have 2 profiles to toggle a map off and on? Profile 1 would have Map A enabled and Profile 2 would have Map A disabled? Or does the shortcut itself toggle it off/on?

Geesus, I feel like a frikkin moron because I just don't seem to get it. :mope: I know you can't tell, but I'm really smarter than I look.
Both of those methods work!

I created a Geocaching Profile with my local Topographic map enabled, and city navigator disabled.

I also created a nuvi Profile with my city navigator enabled and all other maps disabled.

I then created shortcuts to each profile, and placed the nuvi shortcut on the main menu of my Geocaching profile and similarly I placed the Geocaching shortcut in the nuvi profile main menu. Now, I can switch between Profiles with a single touch from the main screens.

Likewise, I have also a Hiking profile for general use when I am neither geocaching or driving. I have created a shortcut for this profile that enables the Topo map and disables the city nav map. I also created another shortcut that does the opposit, and now I can change the map I see on the map screen also with a single tap of the desired shortcut.

Most setup items are profile dependent, and will be retained each time you enter a selected profile.

Shortcuts can be used independently of profile, and can be used in multiple profiles. Once you create a shortcut, you can use it just about anywhere, and anytime.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 09:00 AM   #4118
TowPro
Getting there
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 2,878
I use 2 custom profiles.

1: ADV (based on motorcycle)
2: Road (based on what ever the auto profile is)

then each profile has the exact same short cuts in the exact same locations on the menu. The only thing different is the backgrounds so I can tell what profile is active.
But the ADV profile has a shortcut to switch to Road profile, and the Road profile has a shortcut to switch to ADV. Since ADV avoids just about everything (for force the most remote back roads), I find the need to switch to Road profile for things like "coming home from a long days ride :)"

when I put the GPS into the rugged mount, the ADV profile auto starts. in Car mount the road profile auto starts.

I always use CNN maps, but I have short cuts to "toggle" either topo maps, or a custom map I have called Stone Roads. I also have a shortcut to toggle CNN maps, but never use it.

anyway, that's what works for me. Now that I ended every shortcut with an application (I use application MAP) my Garmin is flawless for what I use it for.

I do have to watch that magic number of 50 when laying out routes. yes I live in USA, but where I ride most (Lancaster valley PA) I need to use lots of map points to force the roads I want. there are back roads everywhere. you can't go 1/2 mile without hitting a cross road. I need points to force the route the way I want it to go for the best roads and views.

Saturday I did a 100 mile loop I have been saving. I think I had to cut down the points to under 50 when I made it. But there are places I would like to force this route to go to, but I am out of points.
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 09:04 AM   #4119
Backmarker
Beastly Adventurer
 
Backmarker's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Oddometer: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by TowPro View Post
I use 2 custom profiles.

1: ADV (based on motorcycle)
2: Road (based on what ever the auto profile is)

then each profile has the exact same short cuts in the exact same locations on the menu. The only thing different is the backgrounds so I can tell what profile is active.
But the ADV profile has a shortcut to switch to Road profile, and the Road profile has a shortcut to switch to ADV. Since ADV avoids just about everything (for force the most remote back roads), I find the need to switch to Road profile for things like "coming home from a long days ride :)"

when I put the GPS into the rugged mount, the ADV profile auto starts. in Car mount the road profile auto starts.

I always use CNN maps, but I have short cuts to "toggle" either topo maps, or a custom map I have called Stone Roads. I also have a shortcut to toggle CNN maps, but never use it.

anyway, that's what works for me. Now that I ended every shortcut with an application (I use application MAP) my Garmin is flawless for what I use it for.

I do have to watch that magic number of 50 when laying out routes. yes I live in USA, but where I ride most (Lancaster valley PA) I need to use lots of map points to force the roads I want. there are back roads everywhere. you can't go 1/2 mile without hitting a cross road. I need points to force the route the way I want it to go for the best roads and views.

Saturday I did a 100 mile loop I have been saving. I think I had to cut down the points to under 50 when I made it. But there are places I would like to force this route to go to, but I am out of points.
Looks like a Zumo would suit your needs better..? No 50 point max on them.
__________________
(Books are for slow learners!) 2011 te-630, 2006 1200 gs adv. (The best color), 2013 KTM 690 Duke , 1984 R80 rt (airhead like its owner!)
Backmarker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 09:38 AM   #4120
TowPro
Getting there
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 2,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Backmarker View Post
Looks like a Zumo would suit your needs better..? No 50 point max on them.
But the Montana does so much more then a Zumo :). Like allowing you even have 2 profiles?
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 09:42 AM   #4121
BobM
DualSport
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Burlington, ON or Tucson, AZ
Oddometer: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Backmarker View Post
Looks like a Zumo would suit your needs better..? No 50 point max on them.

What is the limit (for Follow Road and for Direct/Off Road) and which zumo?


I asked Garmin the question and got a really dumb answer:

Q: Subject: Max points in a route
Message: I have a Montana 600 and encounter various problems with large routes. Garmin documentation rarely quotes the waypoint limits for Follow Road and Off Road/Direct routing. The 60CSx I had was 50/250 and the Montana seems to be 50/500 (athough some 500 routes work and some cause it to freeze). Some Forum members say the zumo doesn't have any limits so they encounter problems sharing routes with Montana users. Can you provide a list of the waypoint/shaping point limits for these GPS units please? Thanks.
Thanks

A: Dear Bob Morphew,

Thank you for contacting Garmin International.

We are happy to help you. The maximum waypoints for the Montana is 4000. For the 60csx it is 1000. For the Zumo 550 it is 240.

With Best Regards,
Amy Ch.
Product Support Specialist
2nd Shift Outdoor/Fitness Team
Garmin International

Bob
BobM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 09:49 AM   #4122
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
I get canned answers like that all the time, that have absolutely nothing to do with the question asked...
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 10:08 AM   #4123
Backmarker
Beastly Adventurer
 
Backmarker's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Oddometer: 1,250
Just talked with Garmin support and was told there is no 50 point max on the Montana? I"m not sure if they even know whats in their gps"s.. I hit a 50 point max wall on my 60, it would be great if the Montana could do more. With 4000 waypoints and no 50 point max I could create most any route i desire.
__________________
(Books are for slow learners!) 2011 te-630, 2006 1200 gs adv. (The best color), 2013 KTM 690 Duke , 1984 R80 rt (airhead like its owner!)
Backmarker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 12:00 PM   #4124
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 461
Atlas, those are some of the exact things I want to do with mine. I use it in a bunch of different modes like you do. It would be nice to quickly switch from one to another. A week ago I was in western NC, riding in a car going to a hike. Auto mode to the trailhead. Switch to hiking with topo enabled, CN disabled, and toggled between topo and satellite imagery. PITA to have to go to setup, blah, blah, blah blah... Definitely need shortcuts.

Oh, we played with Sight n Go. Not to follow a path but to figure out peaks, lakes, etc we saw and how far away they were. What a nifty gizmo! We were playing "guess how far away that is". I did better than I thought I would.

Thanks for the guidance.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 01:28 PM   #4125
Abenteuerfahrer
Deaf on Wheels
 
Abenteuerfahrer's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Oddometer: 2,280
atlas cached.....excuse my dummkopf question.

Cannot find it in Wiki or FAQ here.

Placed the short cut Icon, "Go Home" onto main page. Now it needs to be activated (coordinates/waypoint/ or?) to recognize my home's location. Other wise it says: "unable to find waypoint specified in shortcut- HOME". Where did I err? Thank you...

cheers..
Abenteuerfahrer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014