ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 147 votes, 4.82 average. Display Modes
Old 06-26-2012, 10:18 AM   #4156
moto-treks
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
Yes, you can make shortcuts for each routing activity, but they must currently be activated TWICE before they take effect :
Unfortunately even selecting the shortcut twice does not recalculate the route when the current activity is the same as the one defined in the shortcut.
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 10:35 AM   #4157
Doppelganger
Alive & Living
 
Doppelganger's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: I'm a Sconnie
Oddometer: 108
Yippie!

Just ordered a new Montana today! 1st GPS. I have so much studying to do!

(Best Buy always gets me with that 18 month 0% interest!)
__________________
Get on your bad motor scooter and ride!
Doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 10:39 AM   #4158
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by moto-treks View Post
Unfortunately even selecting the shortcut twice does not recalculate the route when the current activity is the same as the one defined in the shortcut.
Updated BUG 21 and added Request 49.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 11:27 AM   #4159
TravellingStrom
Gnarly Adventurer
 
TravellingStrom's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Rockhampton, Australia
Oddometer: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobM View Post
I got another wrong reply from Garmin about the number of points in a route:

From: Product.Support@garmin.com
Sent: Tuesday, June 26, 2012 8:37 AM
To: Bob Morphew
Subject: Re: Max points in a route (KMM25532496I15977L0KM)

Dear Bob Morphew,

Thank you for contacting Garmin International. I'm happy to help.

The color handheld devices can store up to 50 routes with each route able to store 250 points each. However, if the routing option is set to Follow Road, then the route can only contain 50 points. If more than 50 points are within the route, then an error will occur.

Please let us know if you have additional questions.

With Best Regards,
xxxxxxxxxx
Product Support Specialist
Outdoor Team
Garmin International
913-397-8200
800-800-1020



The Montana (and most other recent Garmins) can store 200 routes and my Montana accepts up to 500 points for Direct routing.

Disappointing.
Bob
Well Garmin in the reply you have above, specifically say 50 points in follow road mode, they do not mention direct routing, you did


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cheers
TravellingStrom
__________________
www.travellingstrom.com
TravellingStrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 03:15 PM   #4160
Riteris
Dessert Runner
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: A place many ADV Riders fear: The Nation's Capital
Oddometer: 2,840
Touratech mount

Anyone using the touratech mount for the Montana?

I am curious how effective the dampening is.

Have you noticed a difference with the Touratech compared to another mount for the Montana?
__________________
Chris

I am taking the advice of all those people that told me, "Hey kid, why don't you go play in traffic!"
Riteris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 03:35 PM   #4161
AvidRider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
AvidRider's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Oddometer: 403
I'm using the Garmin Rugged Mount. See my post a couple of pages back. Very little vibration - at least the way I installed it. Even less than on the Touratech which held my 478.
__________________
Mark
AvidRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 05:31 PM   #4162
Crash-n-Skid
WileeeCoyote
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Alabama
Oddometer: 35
Battery issues?

Spent a lot of time on the road last week. While I was on the interstate moving along at a rather snappy pace my Garmin 650t shuts off. I could turn it back on but it kept shutting off and giving me error messages about "incompatible battery, use only Garmin batteries." Something to that affect. I have been reading this thread and I know about the ear plug trick, so I had a piece if weatherstripping about as thick as an ear plug or thicker, and put that against the rear cover to press up against the battery hoping that would solve it, no dice, problem continued cutting out at some important times. Did a master reset that night and tried it again the next day ... same problem. It only happens at the faster speeds and the bike has a decent vibration so I know that is part of the problem. My last Garmin didn't do this though. I feel like it should be able to handle the vibration. I don't think it's that bad. I'm on the 4.2 firmware. I use the Garmin rugged mount. Garmin is sending me another battery. Don't know if that will work. I give it maybe 50/50 shot. Anyone else have this and been able to correct it? Thoughts, suggestions? Inane comments?
__________________
Cancer, Heart Disease, Drowning. All preventable with a vegan diet and a life jacket. (South Park)
Crash-n-Skid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 05:49 PM   #4163
Xplorr
hoi polloi
 
Xplorr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Montucky
Oddometer: 320
Question?

I could have sworn the Montana had a unit conversion tool (metric to US etc.). Am I imagining this? Was it my nuvi 550?

Thanks, matt
Xplorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 06:07 PM   #4164
BobM
DualSport
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Burlington, ON or Tucson, AZ
Oddometer: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravellingStrom View Post
Well Garmin in the reply you have above, specifically say 50 points in follow road mode, they do not mention direct routing, you did ...
I'd already sent several e-mails to them specifically discussing Direct and Follow Roads routes - this issue has been going for quite a while with me and Garrmin Tech Support. Their previous reply (a few pages back) only quoted max waypoints for the GPS - nothing to do with routing.

I agree that the 50 point max refers to Follow Road routes. When they say 250 points is the max in a route they are referring to Direct routes (as there are only two kinds of routing - Direct or Follow Road).

Bob
BobM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 07:50 PM   #4165
murdock84
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Oddometer: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash-n-Skid View Post
Spent a lot of time on the road last week. While I was on the interstate moving along at a rather snappy pace my Garmin 650t shuts off. I could turn it back on but it kept shutting off and giving me error messages about "incompatible battery, use only Garmin batteries." Something to that affect. I have been reading this thread and I know about the ear plug trick, so I had a piece if weatherstripping about as thick as an ear plug or thicker, and put that against the rear cover to press up against the battery hoping that would solve it, no dice, problem continued cutting out at some important times. Did a master reset that night and tried it again the next day ... same problem. It only happens at the faster speeds and the bike has a decent vibration so I know that is part of the problem. My last Garmin didn't do this though. I feel like it should be able to handle the vibration. I don't think it's that bad. I'm on the 4.2 firmware. I use the Garmin rugged mount. Garmin is sending me another battery. Don't know if that will work. I give it maybe 50/50 shot. Anyone else have this and been able to correct it? Thoughts, suggestions? Inane comments?
I never had the "incompatible battery" issue as well until I used it on some high speed higway riding. Now I seem to be getting it all the time, mainly on the interstates. I have to find an ear plug or something as well to stick in there and give it a try, otherwise I'm not going to be too happy.
murdock84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 07:54 PM   #4166
Beer'o'clock Baz
?
 
Beer'o'clock Baz's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Toowoomba
Oddometer: 1,688
I moved the mount closer to the tripple clamps and installed 6 earplugs in various spots and it fixed that same problem {didnt do it on my 450 on knarly shite but did on the freeways on my 690}
Beer'o'clock Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 08:10 PM   #4167
Crash-n-Skid
WileeeCoyote
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Alabama
Oddometer: 35
Vibration

Yeah, its the vibration. Moving it closer to the triple clamp is a good idea. When I get my new battery I'll add a little more foam and move it to the center. If that doesn't do it I'll start looking at making a mount with a little extra vibration dampening. Seeing that others are having this makes me think solving this will be a little harder.
__________________
Cancer, Heart Disease, Drowning. All preventable with a vegan diet and a life jacket. (South Park)
Crash-n-Skid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 01:55 AM   #4168
Jettn Jim
This is Liv'n!!!
 
Jettn Jim's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: NE PA Some... PNW Some... On HIGH ADVENTURE Most!
Oddometer: 1,630
Bluhduh Yuuuup Vibration I too believe............

I'm at about 6,000mi in the last month with the new Montana and have had the whiteouts since taking it from the Ram mount and putting it in the Rugged mount on the dash. I too have come to the conclusion that it's VIBRATION related.
Thinking the battery was rattling and confusing the unit as to a power source, I took the battery completely out and ran it on just the Rugged mount/14.4V from the bike and it still did it. Thought at first that ok maybe it was voltage spikes from the Stator..... then shut off the bike power to the Rugged mount and ran it on just battery... still did it.

So either way it will do it while mounted in the Rugged mount to the dash of my Lynx fairing (though it is super rigid) It happens at HIGH revs on the highway and on the rough stuff... either way when I spin it, it goes white.
The first 2,000 mi in the Ram mount off the HDB hand guard mount it never missed a beat!!! Going to miss having it dash mounted as it's sooo clean and easy to glance down at.
Jettn Jim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 02:05 AM   #4169
Beer'o'clock Baz
?
 
Beer'o'clock Baz's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Toowoomba
Oddometer: 1,688
This is probably my stupid error somehow but took it back to place of purchase about white screen problem -they said about new software i said i have loaded it -they plugged in and it wasnt loaded - but im sure basecamp loaded it and it always said im up to date-embarasing
Beer'o'clock Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 02:09 AM   #4170
Jettn Jim
This is Liv'n!!!
 
Jettn Jim's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: NE PA Some... PNW Some... On HIGH ADVENTURE Most!
Oddometer: 1,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by B2 View Post
This is probably my stupid error somehow but took it back to place of purchase about white screen problem -they said about new software i said i have loaded it -they plugged in and it wasnt loaded - but im sure basecamp loaded it and it always said im up to date-embarasing
Keep us posted as to wether or not any new software stops the vibration form whiting us out???
Jettn Jim is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014