ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 249 votes, 4.89 average. Display Modes
Old 08-30-2012, 10:35 AM   #4771
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Firmware 4.30 is available today.

I installed it, and promptly found all of my menu's and settings across all profiles scrambled.

I have a bit of extra work ahead of me now...
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 01:22 PM   #4772
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
Firmware 4.30 is available today.

I installed it, and promptly found all of my menu's and settings across all profiles scrambled.

I have a bit of extra work ahead of me now...
My update went fine - none of my Custom Profiles were changed/corrupted. Did you use the DRTBYK approved update process?

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 01:47 PM   #4773
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
My update went fine - none of my Custom Profiles were changed/corrupted. Did you use the DRTBYK approved update process?

Cheers,
I am unaware of the DRTBYK approved update process.....
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 01:53 PM   #4774
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
I am unaware of the DRTBYK approved update process.....

It's back a ways in this thread but that link will get you there. I hit on this process years ago when I was "beta testing" zumo's. It seemed to keep me out of trouble when updating unit software.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 01:56 PM   #4775
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post

It's back a ways in this thread but that link will get you there. I hit on this process years ago when I was "beta testing" zumo's. It seemed to keep me out of trouble when updating unit software.

Cheers,
Thank You!

I missed that (or forgot I saw it, either way...).

I may see if I can get it all back to 4.20 the way I had it and try that method again with 4.30.

EDIT:

Garmin just informed me they have diagnosed part of the issue and are working to resolve it.

More to come...

atlas cached screwed with this post 08-30-2012 at 02:02 PM
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 02:13 PM   #4776
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,332
Garmin Adventures

I've been checking out the interaction between BaseCamp v4.0.1 and the V4.30 software. Garmin Adventures work OK as long as you only load them to the internal storage location. Even though the Adventure files can be transferred from BaseCamp to both locations (internal & SD) when the Montana boots it deletes the Adventure (.ADV) control file from the Garmin\Adventures folder.

I've included some screenshots of Adventures on the Montana:

The Adventures (Where To?) icon:



The Adventures list:



What you see when you select an Adventure:



What you see if you press the CONTENT button:



Selecting the Waypoints from the above list:




Check out the new Waypoint Delete menu:



Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 03:19 PM   #4777
dvwalker
Working to ride
 
dvwalker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Orygun
Oddometer: 763
Dan,

I'm out of town at the moment, curious if the new firmware added air temp field? The release date of v4.3 lines up with the release date of their new tempe sensor.
dvwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 03:29 PM   #4778
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvwalker View Post
Dan,

I'm out of town at the moment, curious if the new firmware added air temp field? The release date of v4.3 lines up with the release date of their new tempe sensor.
Yep, Temperature has been added to the Data Fields list and the ANT+ feature has been added to the Setup Menu. My temp should be here the end of next week.







Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 03:34 PM   #4779
dvwalker
Working to ride
 
dvwalker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Orygun
Oddometer: 763
thanks, good news. I'm assuming after the sensor is paired and active, the temp data will be incorporated into the track log and viewable in the graph.
dvwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 04:21 PM   #4780
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvwalker View Post
thanks, good news. I'm assuming after the sensor is paired and active, the temp data will be incorporated into the track log and viewable in the graph.
I don't recall every seeing Temp as an attribute for Track Points but I do know it is for Waypoints.

We'll have to wait and see...

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com

DRTBYK screwed with this post 08-30-2012 at 04:29 PM
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 04:42 PM   #4781
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,332
Ooops, another update: v4.40 YOU MIGHT WAIT A BIT TO UPDATE

I assume to fix a few things that "slipped" by.

Unfortunately, indexing Adventures on the SD Card was not one of them.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com

DRTBYK screwed with this post 08-30-2012 at 05:09 PM
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 04:49 PM   #4782
TravellingStrom
Gnarly Adventurer
 
TravellingStrom's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Rockhampton, Australia
Oddometer: 397
Thanks Dan, I will check the pins, I may buy a cheap Chinese jobby to get me through


Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
TS, sorry to hear you broke your Montana. I would not suggest sending it off from China unless you don't want to see it for quite a while. As for getting it repaired in Urumqi - well, not likely.

As for the Mount Cable connector - looking down on the Mount Pins:

Center Pin = 12vdc
First Pin to the Right of Center is Ground (-)

Cheers,
__________________
www.travellingstrom.com
TravellingStrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 04:53 PM   #4783
Lazy_John
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium
Oddometer: 16
Cool2 offcourse...

4.40 update...This will prove interesting, as I 'm about to depart on a "13"day ride this saturday...
Lazy_John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 05:13 PM   #4784
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravellingStrom View Post
Thanks Dan, I will check the pins, I may buy a cheap Chinese jobby to get me through
I think the Chinese sell a Garmin nuvi 200(?) with detailed China maps - it can only be used in China or the maps coordinates are "offset".

Good luck!

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 05:42 PM   #4785
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravellingStrom View Post
Thanks Dan, I will check the pins, I may buy a cheap Chinese jobby to get me through
Check out the 'Galmin' line of products.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014