ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 192 votes, 4.86 average. Display Modes
Old 09-13-2012, 07:01 AM   #5041
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Offcamber View Post
I consider that however when not physically connected tot he bike...just removed the AMPs from the mount shown above I can run it the red line and the GPS is fine...so I'm pretty sure power isn't an issue.
That's right, my bad. Still on my first cup of coffee. :(
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 07:04 AM   #5042
Offcamber
Beastly Adventurer
 
Offcamber's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Oddometer: 1,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by MN_Smurf View Post
Offcamber, I'm with atlas......add some mass to the upper section of that mount instead of more neoprene. You don't need more damping. You need to change the resonance frequency of that mount.
I suppose I could try screwing some lead to the back of the mount....I'm thinking of a completely different mounting location may help as well. the bars are pretty buzzy.
__________________
"Beer cans explode with a nice loud pop when they are hit by a Heidenau K60 at 40 miles an hour. Now my bike smells like last call..." Me
Offcamber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 07:09 AM   #5043
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Offcamber View Post
I suppose I could try screwing some lead to the back of the mount....I'm thinking of a completely different mounting location may help as well. the bars are pretty buzzy.
Make sure the weight you add (probably do not need much) is not too rigidly mounted - Mount it so it can vibrate easily. [Similar Discussion]
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 07:19 AM   #5044
AdvRonski
They call me......Ronski
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Wishing I was back in Grand Junction, now in MN
Oddometer: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
Combine them all into a single GPX and convert to single IMG map, then enable that map?

http://www.gpx2img.com/

I never tried converting tracks to an IMG file before, because it just looked too complicated, but if using gpx2imfg is as easy as they make it look, I am so there!
Thanks for the help, emmbeedee and atlas cached!
Without your help, I would have torn my hair out long ago trying to figure this stuff out.
Well, if I had any left, anyway.
__________________
Ronski
Enduro Racer & Big Bike Adventurer
AdvRonski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:01 AM   #5045
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,103
OFFcamber,

Maybe I missed it but have to tried removing the battery(s) altogether and just running off DC power?

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:13 AM   #5046
Offcamber
Beastly Adventurer
 
Offcamber's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Oddometer: 1,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
OFFcamber,

Maybe I missed it but have to tried removing the battery(s) altogether and just running off DC power?

Jon...

Well I just tries exactly that...short test but the unit seemed stable at 8K rpms....this is very strange as the AAs acted the same as the LI...

I'm so confused now
__________________
"Beer cans explode with a nice loud pop when they are hit by a Heidenau K60 at 40 miles an hour. Now my bike smells like last call..." Me
Offcamber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:35 AM   #5047
TowPro
Getting there
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Offcamber View Post
Interesting idea....I'm not an engineer but I'll give that some thought. The odd thing was it does it on two different bikes with completely different engine. One is a Parallel Twin the other a single cylinder thumper. Both are buzzy engines.....
Adding some extra dampening is easy so I'll try that first.
It could even be as easy as changing the angle/location of your mount.

I use those studs with balls that replace a handlebar bolt. Then my short Cross arm goes 90 deg across, then the Garmin ball is 90 deg off arm so GPS sits right in the middle of the handlebars. I had to grind the cross arm ends some so it would allow me to swing it all the way to 90 deg on the ball mounts.

Now if I was to lessen the angles, the vibration frequency would change or even be amplified because the GPS will then act like it is on the end of a lever (of course I never thought of that when mounting it, I just wanted it as close to the handlebars as I could )

I run 2 GPS's on my bike. Now that you got me thinking about it, my PN40 sometimes goes haywire for the same reason as your Montana (battery looses contact caused by vibration or shock).
And it's mount is sticking straight up, causing the GPS to be on the end of a lever. I will try to change the angle this weekend and see if it fixes the problem.
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:59 AM   #5048
MN_Smurf
Beastly Adventurer
 
MN_Smurf's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Oxford, MI
Oddometer: 2,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Offcamber View Post
I suppose I could try screwing some lead to the back of the mount....I'm thinking of a completely different mounting location may help as well. the bars are pretty buzzy.
I ride a Versys (blue, the fastest color )....you don't have to tell me about the buzzy bars, and I don't have that sweet Motowerk antivibe riser.
__________________
'09 Kawi Versys
MN_Smurf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 09:18 AM   #5049
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by atreiou View Post
Hi guys, I need to build a power supply for my new montana 600

I will use a condenser and a dc/dc converter (traco power)
I will do this because my XR 650R with electrex stator, at idle give me only 9-10 Vdc

I need to know the maximum power consumption (in amps) trough the cradle cable without battery inside the unit.

I know that my old GPS V want about 0,45 Amps, but I can't find that value for the montana..

thanks in advance.

Andrea
Looks to be 300-310ish mAh.
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 09:32 AM   #5050
Offcamber
Beastly Adventurer
 
Offcamber's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Oddometer: 1,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Offcamber View Post
Well I just tries exactly that...short test but the unit seemed stable at 8K rpms....this is very strange as the AAs acted the same as the LI...

I'm so confused now
Ok well disregard....ran it up on the interstate with no battery at all......FAIL!!!!
Back to square one.....
__________________
"Beer cans explode with a nice loud pop when they are hit by a Heidenau K60 at 40 miles an hour. Now my bike smells like last call..." Me
Offcamber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 10:02 AM   #5051
atreiou
XR 650R Rider
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Verona - Italy
Oddometer: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
Looks to be 300-310ish mAh.
only ??? seems a little low to me..
the screen is very big and with backlight on I think the consumption is higher
I'm wrong ?
atreiou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 10:04 AM   #5052
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 668
That's what I measured after I left it on and it killed the bike. It drew much more than my old 60CS
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 10:19 AM   #5053
atreiou
XR 650R Rider
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Verona - Italy
Oddometer: 60
ok, so it eat less than my old GPS V with backlight on, thank you very much
atreiou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 10:47 AM   #5054
81husky
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: North Central Washington
Oddometer: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
Just curious, if you have it in direct sunlight does it read higher temps?
It sure does. Air temp right now is 48 degrees and the tempe sitting on the deck rail in the sun is reading 96 and still climbing after about 20 minutes.
81husky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 11:31 AM   #5055
Offcamber
Beastly Adventurer
 
Offcamber's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Oddometer: 1,653
I'm going to go a complete different route and move the Rugged mount ti another spot on the bike, The handlebars are just to buzzy.. I can mount it to the windshield brackets.

Something like this

__________________
"Beer cans explode with a nice loud pop when they are hit by a Heidenau K60 at 40 miles an hour. Now my bike smells like last call..." Me

Offcamber screwed with this post 09-13-2012 at 12:28 PM
Offcamber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014