ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 222 votes, 4.88 average. Display Modes
Old 11-28-2012, 11:54 AM   #6031
number9
Gnarly Adventurer
 
number9's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 310
I got my Montana 600 and CNNA 2013 DVD on Monday. I've had nothing but a PITA getting it installed, setup.

I have (had) Mapsource, CNNA v8 on my PC for my 2720 & 60CSx. Garmin said it would be fine for the two setups to play together.

Monday night
Install Basecamp - downloaded file from Garmin to my PC and ran exe from there. Installed fine.
Insert DVD to PC but autorun brings up Bootstrapper.exe - not Setup.exe like the instructions say.
- I browse the DVD and see no Setup.exe anywhere.
- I run the Bootstrapper.exe and it appears to begin the install, talks to the Garmin server, etc and fails with error "The program failed to install the requested maps to your computer". I tried multiple times with same results.
- I found a CityNavigator2013update.msi file (dont hold me to that filename) on the DVD and ran it - it launched and loaded my maps to my PC. Good!!!
- I connect the Montana, click "Install maps to Montana 600" but nothing happens. Try this multiple times, same results. (MapInstall wouldn't launch)

Tuesday evening
I call Garmin support and dude runs over same things I have done, then hands me over to the Software Team.
Girl remotes to my PC and tries everything I did with same results.
- We try to install MapInstall (downloaded from Garmins site) and it starts to install but hangs at the window with the progress bar. Nothing.
- We uninstall / reinstall everything, BaseCamp, MapInstall, maps, and still get same results. She tries older versions of MapInstall, nothing works. She finally gave up and asked me to uninstall EVERYTHING Garmin on my PC, clean the registry of ALL Garmin files and start over.

Her list was Install BaseCamp, then MapInstall, then CNNA 2013.
She told me to be sure and use the BaseCamp.exe and MapInstall.exe files that I had downloaded from Garmin site to install.

I did that and found that a MapInstall registry key was corrupt and had no permissions on it at all. I took ownership of the permissions and was able to delete the key as instructed.

So, now with a clean slate (even the MapSource and CNNA v8 gone) I installed BaseCamp with no issues and confirmed it would launch..
- Install MapInstall - and it hangs, just like it had before.
- I uninstalled BaseCamp.
- I ran the MapInstall exe and it now installed and I confirmed it would launch.
- I ran the BaseCamp install and it error'ed out with "MSI error: File Not Found".

Hmmm So with either BaseCamp or MapInstall laid down first, the other won't install???????

I tested multiple times, installing either one first and confirmed this.

THEN, I realize, wait a minute....BaseCamp install has MapInstall within it....why is she telling me to install it again??? I go to BaseCamp and try it and sure enough MapInstall launches from within BaseCamp OR by launching it alone via the Start->Programs selection.

So, with BaseCamp and MapInstall now both installed and working, I go to the DVD to install the maps.
Still have to install them running the CityNavigator2013update.msi file deep in the directory structure verses the Setup.exe they tell you to - WHICH ISN'T THERE on the DVD.

I get the maps loaded and launch BaseCamp and confirm I can see them in BaseCamp.
However, when I connect the Montana and right click on Internal Storage I don't even have the option to "Install Maps to Montana". It's not even there.???
Launch MapInstall on its own from the Start->Programs menu and it sees the Montana and I load the maps to internal storage.

So, I have my maps installed on the Montana, even used it on the way to work this morning, but I am still not confident that the BaseCamp / MapInstall packages are working correctly together. I am going to test some more when I get home. As stated in an earlier post, BaseCamp should call MapInstall and load maps to the GPS. For some reason, it still doesn't seem to be wanting to do this.

This is with the latest versions of both BC and MI and running on Win7 Enterprise, 64-bit.

Has anyone else had issues like this?

...
__________________
2000 Yamaha YZ250
2009 Yamaha YZ250
2013 Kawasaki Ninja 1000
number9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 12:18 PM   #6032
Yossarian™
Deputy Cultural Attaché
 
Yossarian™'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: the 'Ha
Oddometer: 9,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by number9 View Post
Has anyone else had issues like this?

...
I know you don't want to hear this, but:

Nope. Mine works fine. Both WinXP and Win7, no issues at all.
__________________
Successfully surviving motorcycling since 1976.
Yossarian™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 12:37 PM   #6033
number9
Gnarly Adventurer
 
number9's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 310
Anyone with City Nav NA NT2013 DVD - does your DVD have Setup.exe on it?

Just wondering if I got a jacked up copy of the DVD or something.

....
__________________
2000 Yamaha YZ250
2009 Yamaha YZ250
2013 Kawasaki Ninja 1000
number9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 12:41 PM   #6034
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yossarian™ View Post
I know you don't want to hear this, but:

Nope. Mine works fine. Both WinXP and Win7, no issues at all.
Your XP and Win7 are both 32-bit, I am guessing?
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 12:49 PM   #6035
Yossarian™
Deputy Cultural Attaché
 
Yossarian™'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: the 'Ha
Oddometer: 9,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
Your XP and Win7 are both 32-bit, I am guessing?
My XP was 32-bit. Changed to a new computer two weeks ago, running Win7 64-bit.

However, I'm fairly sure my Basecamp and all other Garmin products are still 32-bit applications.
__________________
Successfully surviving motorcycling since 1976.
Yossarian™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 12:59 PM   #6036
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yossarian™ View Post
My XP was 32-bit. Changed to a new computer two weeks ago, running Win7 64-bit.

However, I'm fairly sure my Basecamp and all other Garmin products are still 32-bit applications.
Does your Win7 machine equipped to allow 32-bit processing?

I do not have a dedicated 64-bit machine to test with at this time... mine are all 32-bit Win XP and Win7, and all function as designed.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 01:12 PM   #6037
OceanMtnSea
Pretty Dogged
 
OceanMtnSea's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: left middle Saskatchewan & entering middle BC
Oddometer: 553
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
Does your Win7 machine equipped to allow 32-bit processing?

I do not have a dedicated 64-bit machine to test with at this time... mine are all 32-bit Win XP and Win7, and all function as designed.

Garmin BC & MI are 32bit.................if using 64bit Win OS they will be loaded in the Program Files (x86) folder.

Mine is Win7 64bit and everything functions properly.

Might be related to the Windows Enterprise version........................I am not familiar with that OS, but maybe there is a limitation there??
__________________
2007 BMW Dakar & 2009 Ducati Multistrada leaving the middle of the in-land sea called Saskatchewan for the Mountain Valleys of BC, Canada
http://s737.photobucket.com/user/Oce...?sort=3&page=0
OceanMtnSea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 01:25 PM   #6038
Yossarian™
Deputy Cultural Attaché
 
Yossarian™'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: the 'Ha
Oddometer: 9,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
Does your Win7 machine equipped to allow 32-bit processing?

I do not have a dedicated 64-bit machine to test with at this time... mine are all 32-bit Win XP and Win7, and all function as designed.
Yes, as pointed out above, 32-bit programs are in the \%system%\Program Files (x86) folder.
__________________
Successfully surviving motorcycling since 1976.
Yossarian™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 01:27 PM   #6039
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by OceanMtnSea View Post
Garmin BC & MI are 32bit.................if using 64bit Win OS they will be loaded in the Program Files (x86) folder.
Not all 64-bit processors support 32-bit processing, and those machines will not have an x86 directory for 32-bit applications.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 05:20 PM   #6040
number9
Gnarly Adventurer
 
number9's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by OceanMtnSea View Post
Garmin BC & MI are 32bit.................if using 64bit Win OS they will be loaded in the Program Files (x86) folder.

Mine is Win7 64bit and everything functions properly.

Might be related to the Windows Enterprise version........................I am not familiar with that OS, but maybe there is a limitation there??
Sorry, my mistake, I am running Win7 Professional 64-bit.

...
__________________
2000 Yamaha YZ250
2009 Yamaha YZ250
2013 Kawasaki Ninja 1000
number9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 02:31 PM   #6041
guavadude
de-composer
 
guavadude's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Oddometer: 716
SD card concepts

Ok I've made some progress, I've loaded CN 2013, OSM maps for a 5 state area and topos from the GPS filedepot in Basecamp and have successfully transferred everything but the CN map to my 16gb SD card in the Montana. I initially installed the CN map into the internal memory before I bought the card.

So now I'm wondering, should I move the CN to the SD card in case I have to do a hard reset? Seems like I read that somewhere in here.

Do I keep a copy of CN on the internal as well or is it bad to have maps duplicated on the card and the internal memory?
guavadude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 02:38 PM   #6042
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by guavadude View Post
Ok I've made some progress, I've loaded CN 2013, OSM maps for a 5 state area and topos from the GPS filedepot in Basecamp and have successfully transferred everything but the CN map to my 16gb SD card in the Montana. I initially installed the CN map into the internal memory before I bought the card.

So now I'm wondering, should I move the CN to the SD card in case I have to do a hard reset? Seems like I read that somewhere in here.

Do I keep a copy of CN on the internal as well or is it bad to have maps duplicated on the card and the internal memory?
I keep all my maps and personal GPX files etc on my uSD cards. I only keep the basemap and other basic information on my GPSr unit. Do not duplicate any maps in the {device}\Garmin\ directories.

I make an additional {device}\Archive\ directory and store maps and other files I do not want indexed each time I boot the device, but may want to move into usable memory at a later date when away from home....

If, in the future, you do have an issue with a GPX or map not properly functioning, remove the uSD card, reboot the GPSr WITHOUT the uSD card, power off again, insert uSD card, and reboot once more.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 02:44 PM   #6043
guavadude
de-composer
 
guavadude's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Oddometer: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post

I make an additional {device}\Archive\ directory and store maps and other files I do not want indexed each time I boot the device, but may want to move into usable memory at a later date when away from home....

.
That helps but not quite following this. The Archive directory is on the SD card? How do you move them from the archive folder to the top directory? Do you have to use your laptop?
guavadude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 02:49 PM   #6044
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by guavadude View Post
That helps but not quite following this. The Archive directory is on the SD card? How do you move them from the archive folder to the top directory? Do you have to use your laptop?
Yes!

Your laptop, a friends laptop, a host machine where you are staying, or a DROID (phone or tablet) - iOS need not apply.

I do this because, when I travel, I will pre-load maps and GPX files etc for each area I will be visiting, and set the unit up for those areas as I arrive at them. The GPSr can only index so many map tiles and GPX files, and I almost always have more loaded on my uSD card than amy Montana can index - but I only have what I need at the time in the proper directories, and the remainder resides in my \Archive\ folder until needed.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 03:04 PM   #6045
guavadude
de-composer
 
guavadude's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Oddometer: 716
Awesome, thanks. How do you access files on your Droid phone or tablet?!
I think my ideal rig would be a mac ipad mini and then use google maps or similar to do the routing and somehow get them over to the montana. I'm guessing Basecamp on an ipad is a longshot although there is a new Garmin Basecamp app but it's more for the wristwatch gps people that like to workout.

Maybe I need to rethink my Apple fan boy status for this and use a small Droid tablet.
guavadude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014