ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 253 votes, 4.89 average. Display Modes
Old 01-14-2013, 02:10 PM   #6571
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by guavadude View Post
If you touch the screen and pause before swiping, the screen will move and a pin will not drop.
If you touch short and quick, a pin drops.
That's about the best I've found and agree, I wish I could bypass it somehow.
That's what I would have suggested as well. It's possible to do a lot of screen scrolling and not drop pins as long as you use your technique.

There isn't anything in the software to prevent dropping pins.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 02:13 PM   #6572
guavadude
de-composer
 
guavadude's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Oddometer: 760
When I first started using the Montana the pin drops really bothered my, now I ignore them.
They are also useful when you want to see the name of a road but don't want to have to zoom in.
I do wish the little arrow to hide the dashboard was a bigger. I have a hell of a time getting that to work with gloves.
guavadude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 02:15 PM   #6573
snooker
AttitudeIsEverything
 
snooker's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Loveland, Colorado
Oddometer: 1,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
That's what I would have suggested as well. It's possible to do a lot of screen scrolling and not drop pins as long as you use your technique.

There isn't anything in the software to prevent dropping pins.
ok thanks.

I knew that from experimentation and have been trying to re-train myself to do the "long touch" first.. i.e. pause before swiping... it is what it is and it's not an iPad as far as screen touch goes. Just have to remember what device I'm actually using at the moment!

Thanks!
__________________
Baja 2012 Ride Report ~~~ My 07 BMW G650 XCountry Thread | 03 Honda Shadow ACE 750 | 99 Honda XR400 ~~~

FindMeSpot ~~~ Spotwalla Baja Trip ~~~ Neduro Did Dakar!
snooker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 02:15 PM   #6574
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by guavadude View Post
When I first started using the Montana the pin drops really bothered my, now I ignore them.
They are also useful when you want to see the name of a road but don't want to have to zoom in.
I do wish the little arrow to hide the dashboard was a bigger. I have a hell of a time getting that to work with gloves.
+1

There are times where you want the pushpin - you can leave it on the screen and drag the map around under the pin, and it tells you what that location represents.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 03:26 PM   #6575
dhb400
No Regrets
 
dhb400's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Jersey Shore
Oddometer: 193
I was experimenting with this same issue and found the pause technique works. The pin can be annoying.
__________________
Dave
2013 Husky TE 511
2008 Yamaha Roadstar Silverado cruiser
dhb400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 03:54 PM   #6576
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by guavadude View Post
If you touch the screen and pause before swiping, the screen will move and a pin will not drop.
If you touch short and quick, a pin drops.
Well, I guess you get to learn something new every day!

I've had it since last May and never knew that! Sometimes the pin would show up, sometimes not, I could not figure out why.

Thanks Dude!

So I thought I'd do some experimenting with the zoom buttons, with which I end up getting a pin instead of a zoom about 2/3rds of the time; one of the most annoying things about the unit, since that's the control I use the most. It appears that the zoom buttons have a similar reaction to how they are touched. If you stab at them you are very likely to get a pin, much more so when riding, because your hand is bouncing somewhat and the stab is not real accurate. The following is for vertical orientation, the only one I use on a bike.

If, however, you place the tip of your finger on the edge of the frame and roll it to the left onto the button and wait until the zoom changes, you are much more likely to get a zoom instead of a pin. You may go two levels until you train your finger, but this is still way better than the damn pin.

Trying this with gloves on, when using my right index finger it seemed to work OK, but with the left, which those of us without cruise control must use, it didn't work at all, until I hit on the bright idea of pointing my left index finger as if it was a pistol, meaning the fingernail was vertical, and getting the area of the glove finger tip right over the nail to contact the screen button while the tip of the finger was still on the frame edge.
My success rate went from about 10% to 80%!!!! Maybe I'll have to grow my left index nail long!

Now I doubt that this will work with heavy winter gloves, the tip area is just too large. For a while I used DRTBK's method by gluing the little plastic bumpers to the glove fingertip, but they kept falling off and didn't seem to improve matters all that much. I may try them again with this approach, now that I know just how sensitive the screen is to different types of touches.

I'm still hoping that the Beta team will enlalrge these buttons as that's the only sure fix.

Rocky TFS screwed with this post 01-14-2013 at 04:15 PM
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 06:45 PM   #6577
AlaskaDave
Adventurer
 
AlaskaDave's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Homer, Alaska
Oddometer: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky TFS View Post
Well, I guess you get to learn something new every day!

So I thought I'd do some experimenting with the zoom buttons, with which I end up getting a pin instead of a zoom about 2/3rds of the time; one of the most annoying things about the unit, since that's the control I use the most. It appears that the zoom buttons have a similar reaction to how they are touched. If you stab at them you are very likely to get a pin, much more so when riding, because your hand is bouncing somewhat and the stab is not real accurate.

I'm still hoping that the Beta team will enlalrge these buttons as that's the only sure fix.
Thanks to all for helping resolve problems I've been having with two of the most annoying "features" on the Montana, that blasted pushpin and those troublesome zoom controls. In short: Don't tap, press. Awesome!

Furthermore, if you press and hold the zoom control, you can zoom in or out as many levels as you like without seeing the pushpin.

And I agree that best results are obtained if you approach the zoom controls from the edge of the display rather than the middle. Larger buttons would help as would left side zoom contols on the Nuvi dashboard.
AlaskaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 08:11 PM   #6578
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 542
One other thing I just noticed is that whenever you are in a list, i.e. drawer, POI list, Waypoint list, Setup list, etc. you can page down the list by a finger flick, just like an Ipod, as long as you don't stab at it.
A narrow scroll bar appears on the right margin while doing so. Quite handy for long lists.

It's not too surprising that Garmin has not touted this much!. (Don't tell Apple fanatics!)
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 08:19 PM   #6579
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky TFS View Post
One other thing I just noticed is that whenever you are in a list, i.e. drawer, POI list, Waypoint list, Setup list, etc. you can page down the list by a finger flick, just like an Ipod, as long as you don't stab at it.
A narrow scroll bar appears on the right margin while doing so. Quite handy for long lists.

It's not too surprising that Garmin has not touted this much!. (Don't tell Apple fanatics!)
Being an iPhone and iPad user, I knew about this long ago.

Also, like the iDevices, if you hold your finger on an icon, it sticks to your finger and can be placed elsewhere.

How long before Apple sues for copyright infringement, you figure?
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 08:25 PM   #6580
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
How long before Apple sues for copyright infringement, you figure?
Not long, I figure!
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 05:14 AM   #6581
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Garmin is sending me a new Tempe to replace my flawed one which doesn't update the 24 Hour Maximum and Minimum values without requiring battery removal. They don't want the flawed one back.
Got my new Tempe in the mail yesterday - there's no way of telling the difference between new and old, as far as I can tell, except the new one should work properly.

I marked the flawed one with an X just so I know which is which.

__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 05:30 AM   #6582
mass-klr
Gnarly Adventurer
 
mass-klr's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Central Mass
Oddometer: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Got my new Tempe in the mail yesterday - there's no way of telling the difference between new and old, as far as I can tell, except the new one should work properly.

I marked the flawed one with an X just so I know which is which.
So are the problems with the Tempe sorted out with the new one?
__________________
_____________________________
Leon
'11 Orange KLR650 '04 Blue DRZ400S

Paved Roads are just another example of wasted Taxpayer Dollars
mass-klr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 06:00 AM   #6583
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by mass-klr View Post
So are the problems with the Tempe sorted out with the new one?
I hope so. Time will tell but I have no reason to think I ended up with another defective one.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 11:10 AM   #6584
rockinrog
Beastly Adventurer
 
rockinrog's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Central PA
Oddometer: 2,843
Embee..it may just be the pic, but it looks like the back end of the gold spring clip? is different.
rockinrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:40 PM   #6585
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 9,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Got my new Tempe in the mail yesterday - there's no way of telling the difference between new and old, as far as I can tell, except the new one should work properly.

I marked the flawed one with an X just so I know which is which.
I would imagine that since they don't want the faulty one back then it's some kind of component change rather then a simple firmware change.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014