ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 184 votes, 4.85 average. Display Modes
Old 02-21-2013, 07:10 AM   #7021
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 8,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
Twice? You get .5GB more, and that is negated by the preloaded maps.

The SD card pretty much makes the internal memory a non-issue.
Absolutely false, you get TWICE the memory and the loaded map does not negate anything considering the 600 and 650 have NO maps other then the basemap loaded up to begin with.

While the SD card does make internal memory somewhat irrelevant SD cards do fail. Oh, and Basecamp doesn't recognize mapsets loaded up on the SD cards. So for $30 more I think it's a much better value then a 600 off E-Bay, especially considering the 100K TOPO mapset will set you back more the $30.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 07:13 AM   #7022
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
Twice? You get .5GB more, and that is negated by the preloaded maps.

The SD card pretty much makes the internal memory a non-issue.
The Montana 600 and 650 have 3.65 GB of internal memory, while the 650t has 7.35 GB of internal memory. The Garmin Topo 100k for the USA uses nearly 4 GB of the 7.35 GB available.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 07:16 AM   #7023
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 667
I guess Garmin should update their website them. It clearly states 3.0 and 3.5 GB.

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/compare....eProduct=75226
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 07:18 AM   #7024
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
Oh, and Basecamp doesn't recognize mapsets loaded up on the SD cards.

False.

I use maps from my uSD card with BaeCamp all the time.

If your BaseCamp is not seeing maps loaded on your uSD card, use JaVaWa Device Manager to enable them.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 07:18 AM   #7025
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
I guess Garmin should update their website them. It clearly states 3.0 and 3.5 GB.

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/compare....eProduct=75226
The Garmin website shows the AVAILABLE MEMORY, not total memory.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 07:23 AM   #7026
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 8,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
I guess Garmin should update their website them. It clearly states 3.0 and 3.5 GB.

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/compare....eProduct=75226
While it might be a tad bit confusing, they're just stating the available free memory as the units ship. I imagine that if they posted the 7.35 G number for the 650T some people would start crying foul because almost 4G of that is taken up by the TOPO mapset.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 07:24 AM   #7027
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 667
Regardless....it still means nothing if you can't use it.
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 07:25 AM   #7028
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 8,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
False.

I use maps from my uSD card with BaeCamp all the time.

If your BaseCamp is not seeing maps loaded on your uSD card, use JaVaWa Device Manager to enable them.
Ahhh, forgot about trying JaVaWa. Get tired of having to use all the aftermarket software to make Garmins shoddy products work correctly.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 07:25 AM   #7029
Yossarian™
Deputy Cultural Attaché
 
Yossarian™'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: the 'Ha
Oddometer: 9,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
Regardless....it still means nothing if you can't use it.
It can be used; it is being used by the 100K topo map set. If you don't want the mapset, it can be removed to free up memory.
__________________
Successfully surviving motorcycling since 1976.
Yossarian™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 07:26 AM   #7030
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 8,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
Regardless....it still means nothing if you can't use it.
I can use it just fine. I've got 2 versions of CN NT loaded up on internal memory, I moved the Topo 100K onto the SD card along with a couple 24K and shareware TOPO mapsets.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 11:11 AM   #7031
Lion BR
I'd rather be riding
 
Lion BR's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon
Oddometer: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yossarian™ View Post
It can be used; it is being used by the 100K topo map set. If you don't want the mapset, it can be removed to free up memory.

In that case, an advantage of the "t" version is that it has more storage capacity for maps and routes/tracks. Although SD cards can circumvent the need for space.
__________________
Whenever we are riding, we are an ambassador to our sport

I'd rather be riding!


Lion BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 03:12 PM   #7032
Lion BR
I'd rather be riding
 
Lion BR's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon
Oddometer: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto
Dude, you have to have them both on the bike at the same time!
That is not a bad idea. Oregon and Montana, one with the track, the other with the route. One with recalculation, the other not.
__________________
Whenever we are riding, we are an ambassador to our sport

I'd rather be riding!


Lion BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 04:34 PM   #7033
Riteris
Dessert Runner
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: A place many ADV Riders fear: The Nation's Capital
Oddometer: 2,855
This is from the Garmin Factory outlet store. I don't know how often they have sales but check these out:

http://g.factoryoutletstore.com/deta...ana-600-R.html


http://g.factoryoutletstore.com/deta...ana-600-R.html
__________________
Chris

I am taking the advice of all those people that told me, "Hey kid, why don't you go play in traffic!"
Riteris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 04:39 PM   #7034
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riteris View Post
This is from the Garmin Factory outlet store. I don't know how often they have sales but check these out:

http://g.factoryoutletstore.com/deta...ana-600-R.html


http://g.factoryoutletstore.com/deta...ana-600-R.html
At the bottom of the page: "Disclaimer: Factoryoutletstore.com is not affiliated with Garmin. "

Somebody posted that store a few days ago and I found that even though the 600 is priced at $419, it is a refurb, and virtually everything else they sell in that store is 25 to 40% more than GPSCity or GPSCentral.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 05:04 PM   #7035
TravellingStrom
Gnarly Adventurer
 
TravellingStrom's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Rockhampton, Australia
Oddometer: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
Congrats TS

I have not tried the GeoCache stuff but the one you did looked complicated and rewarding at the same time.



Jon...
Thanks Jon

It was fun and interesting

As a solo rider, without the need to consult with anybody, Geocaching takes me to some great places :)
__________________
www.travellingstrom.com
TravellingStrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014