ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 145 votes, 4.81 average. Display Modes
Old 03-02-2013, 05:45 PM   #7096
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
I use Track Up most of the time; Stephanie swears by North Up.
Track up when moving: North up when stopped and in need of studying the map. YMMV
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 06:36 PM   #7097
Gone-Native
XPLORER
 
Gone-Native's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Southern VT Green Mtns
Oddometer: 1,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
I use Track Up most of the time; Stephanie swears by North Up.
I've always liked track up, I loaded topo on my Zumo, but the thing is only good for directions... I'm psyched that I'll actually be able to follow routes! :lol
__________________
"If you're going to be stupid, you've got to be tough" -N.E.R.R.
Gone-Native is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 07:12 PM   #7098
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
I searched this thread and a few other places. The Montana manual does not contain the word "detour". Am I correct that when following a route with the Montana, that there is no provision for adding the kind of distance or street detour that some of the more street-oriented GPS units allow?
No, there is no 'Detour' in the Montana. You can insert via points into a route you're currently navigating but that's about as close as you can get to the detour feature.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 07:34 PM   #7099
advNZer?
Beastly Adventurer
 
advNZer?'s Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Wellington,New Zealand
Oddometer: 2,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
No, there is no 'Detour' in the Montana. You can insert via points into a route you're currently navigating but that's about as close as you can get to the detour feature.
refresh my memory on the montana via point limitation again...it does not seem limited compared to zumos in other ways but in the via point stakes?
__________________
aka BMWST?
advNZer? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 07:39 PM   #7100
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by advNZer? View Post
refresh my memory on the montana via point limitation again...it does not seem limited compared to zumos in other ways but in the via point stakes?
Oh no, we're not starting that again are we?

Reminds me of an old joke:

Is it ignorance or apathy?

I don't know and I don't care.



No really, I do not build routes so way and via point limits are academic to me. But I'm sure someone will answer the question.

You can check this thread where Snooker has painstakingly researched and documented the subject: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=861944
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 08:34 PM   #7101
advNZer?
Beastly Adventurer
 
advNZer?'s Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Wellington,New Zealand
Oddometer: 2,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Oh no, we're not starting that again are we?

Reminds me of an old joke:

Is it ignorance or apathy?

I don't know and I don't care.



No really, I do not build routes so way and via point limits are academic to me. But I'm sure someone will answer the question.

You can check this thread where Snooker has painstakingly researched and documented the subject: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=861944
thats what i wanted nothing to see here move along please
__________________
aka BMWST?
advNZer? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:11 AM   #7102
AdvRonski
They call me......Ronski
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Wishing I was back in Grand Junction, now in MN
Oddometer: 658
Perhaps this has been addressed here somewhere, and it isn't specific to the Montana, but is there some reason there are so few colors available for for the different tracks you are viewing?
I use tracks exclusively, and in an area like Moab, would like to have more colors to differentiate tracks from one another, as well as more brightly colored, hi-viz track colors. How about Orange, Pink, Neon colors?
I'm sure the screen could render these, is there some reason Garmin doesn't have these?
__________________
Ronski
Enduro Racer & Big Bike Adventurer
AdvRonski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:30 AM   #7103
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdvRonski View Post
Perhaps this has been addressed here somewhere, and it isn't specific to the Montana, but is there some reason there are so few colors available for for the different tracks you are viewing?
I use tracks exclusively, and in an area like Moab, would like to have more colors to differentiate tracks from one another, as well as more brightly colored, hi-viz track colors. How about Orange, Pink, Neon colors?
I'm sure the screen could render these, is there some reason Garmin doesn't have these?
Why don't you ask Garmin through their forums?
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 11:38 AM   #7104
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
I use Track Up most of the time; Stephanie swears by North Up.
I'm old school, I always use North up, can't shake the old paper map days.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 11:40 AM   #7105
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by advNZer? View Post
refresh my memory on the montana via point limitation again...it does not seem limited compared to zumos in other ways but in the via point stakes?
50 points per route. The ZUMO's have limits but a lot higher, at least 250 and more depending on the model.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 11:41 AM   #7106
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
I'm old school, I always use North up, can't shake the old paper map days.
Me too.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 12:00 PM   #7107
shu
...
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 969
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
I searched this thread and a few other places. The Montana manual does not contain the word "detour". Am I correct that when following a route with the Montana, that there is no provision for adding the kind of distance or street detour that some of the more street-oriented GPS units allow?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
No, there is no 'Detour' in the Montana. You can insert via points into a route you're currently navigating but that's about as close as you can get to the detour feature.
I liked the Detour feature on the Nuvi. I used to use it often on dirt roads when Garmin had routed me to a locked gate or a washed out bridge or private road. I'd punch in 'Detour' to see if Garmin could route me on an alternative. Good feature, but it's not on the Montana.

Re: inserting via points into your current route. A nuvi with routing (550 is what I had) would let me keep adding more and more stops but the Montana seems to allow only one insert at a time.

For example, you're following a route, you want to get gas so you:

Where to?> Set via point> location of gas station-

and the Montana will put that into your route. But if you try to add another, say a restaurant, it will drop the gas station via point and only route you to the restaurant.

I just noticed this last week, and haven't had the chance to confirm it but I think that's how the Montana works.

...........shu
shu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:55 PM   #7108
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by shu View Post
I liked the Detour feature on the Nuvi. I used to use it often on dirt roads when Garmin had routed me to a locked gate or a washed out bridge or private road. I'd punch in 'Detour' to see if Garmin could route me on an alternative. Good feature, but it's not on the Montana.

Re: inserting via points into your current route. A nuvi with routing (550 is what I had) would let me keep adding more and more stops but the Montana seems to allow only one insert at a time.

For example, you're following a route, you want to get gas so you:

Where to?> Set via point> location of gas station-

and the Montana will put that into your route. But if you try to add another, say a restaurant, it will drop the gas station via point and only route you to the restaurant.

I just noticed this last week, and haven't had the chance to confirm it but I think that's how the Montana works.

...........shu
I assume, if this is the way it works, that Garmin wants you to use Route Manager to add more than one via point into a route you're currently navigating. Not that this is a good idea, of course, but Garmin does seem to like to add little variations in their gps units so you always have this niggling desire to get yet another gps, in the faint hope it'll answer all your gps prayers.

It's futile, obviously, to think we'll ever be perfectly satisfied. But that doesn't stop us from buying more of their products.

These minor irritations really don't annoy me all that much because the Montana is still the best gps you can get, for now. IMHO, of course.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 07:58 PM   #7109
shu
...
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 969
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
ctly satisfied. But that doesn't stop us from buying more of their products.

These minor irritations really don't annoy me all that much because the Montana is still the best gps you can get, for now. IMHO, of course.
I agree with that. The Nuvi had some good features but the screen brightness and readability of the Montana alone makes it much more worthwhile. It never failed that in heavy traffic and confusing streets, just when you needed the Nuvi the most, the sun angle would be wrong and the screen would be totally unreadable.

Just to mention a few: the ability to use tracks, to design different profiles, the superior alphabetical search for shopping, lodging, etc, are far superior on the Montana.

Just wish they had kept a couple of features that worked well from the Nuvi.

..........shu
shu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:39 PM   #7110
snooker
AttitudeIsEverything
 
snooker's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Loveland, Colorado
Oddometer: 1,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by snooker View Post
When I am currently not navigating, and I click Where To? I cannot select Tracks because it is nowhere on the list. How did I delete that and how do I get it back?

This is while I am on a custom profile I made. On the standard Automobile and Motorcycle profiles the Tracks is still there, but not on my custom one.
Anybody have an answer to this?
__________________
Baja 2012 Ride Report ~~~ My 07 BMW G650 XCountry Thread | 03 Honda Shadow ACE 750 | 99 Honda XR400 ~~~ Kids: OSET electric | Honda CRF50

FindMeSpot ~~~ Spotwalla Baja Trip ~~~ Neduro Did Dakar!
snooker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014