ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 252 votes, 4.89 average. Display Modes
Old 03-22-2013, 04:54 PM   #7291
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 476
I need to put the previous version of CNNA on my montana (2013.3) and THEN update it with 2013.4. Can someone guide me through that process please?

woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 06:05 PM   #7292
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsatyr View Post
I need to put the previous version of CNNA on my montana (2013.3) and THEN update it with 2013.4. Can someone guide me through that process please?

I don't know where you could get 2013.3, and I think it was an update anyway, as far as I can tell. Where did your original CN install come from? It must have been from a dvd, no?
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 06:21 PM   #7293
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
I don't know where you could get 2013.3, and I think it was an update anyway, as far as I can tell. Where did your original CN install come from? It must have been from a dvd, no?
Ahhh, you're assuming I can find stuff in my computer room.

I have - from the unit I turned in for warranty replacement - all the files off that device. There are 3 CNNA 2012.3 files in there: a .gma file, .img, and .unl. (I made a mistake in typing the older version name.)

I don't know the process for reverting back to an older version. Would just replacing the current version files with these older ones work or do you have to have the original file, say the magic words, and change it that way?

Shoot. I guess I'm going to have to search for those DVDs. They're around here somewhere. Somewhere...
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 06:23 PM   #7294
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsatyr View Post
Ahhh, you're assuming I can find stuff in my computer room.

I have - from the unit I turned in for warranty replacement - all the files off that device. There are 3 CNNA 2012.3 files in there: a .gma file, .img, and .unl. (I made a mistake in typing the older version name.)

I don't know the process for reverting back to an older version. Would just replacing the current version files with these older ones work or do you have to have the original file, say the magic words, and change it that way?

Shoot. I guess I'm going to have to search for those DVDs. They're around here somewhere. Somewhere...
You will have to contact Garmin and ask them politely to transfer your CNNA map license to your replacement unit.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 06:37 PM   #7295
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsatyr View Post
Ahhh, you're assuming I can find stuff in my computer room.

I have - from the unit I turned in for warranty replacement - all the files off that device. There are 3 CNNA 2012.3 files in there: a .gma file, .img, and .unl. (I made a mistake in typing the older version name.)
Why do you need to go back to the earlier version? Just put the files you have into the right place on the new gps and unlock the files for that new Montana by logging into your http://my.garmin.com account, and looking for the unlock code. I forget exactly how you switch from when I did mine but it was fairly obvious.

Edit: I just logged on to the site and saw on the Home tab an area called "Repairs and Exchanges - Information about your product repairs or exchanges." When I clicked that I got the following: "We have processed the following RMA(s), and issued a replacement device. Click Update to register and transfer content from your old device to your replacement device."

That's what you need to do.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 06:39 PM   #7296
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
You will have to contact Garmin and ask them politely to transfer your CNNA map license to your replacement unit.
Yeah, guess I'll just have to wait for them. I was on the phone for a while with them today but time ran out so we didn't get it resolved. It's still usable though. It's just missing features that makes us think it didn't get the maps installed properly. We thought "let's try reverting back to the previous version and see if that fixes it, then reinstall the update". I thought I'd mess with it and see if I can revert back. Oh well. No biggie. I'll wait.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 06:52 PM   #7297
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsatyr View Post
Yeah, guess I'll just have to wait for them. I was on the phone for a while with them today but time ran out so we didn't get it resolved. It's still usable though. It's just missing features that makes us think it didn't get the maps installed properly. We thought "let's try reverting back to the previous version and see if that fixes it, then reinstall the update". I thought I'd mess with it and see if I can revert back. Oh well. No biggie. I'll wait.
I don't think you need to wait. Login to the site and see.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 06:54 PM   #7298
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
I don't think you need to wait. Login to the site and see.
I did. The only map there is 2013.4.

I'm using Express now to reload it. I'll see if that helps any.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 07:14 PM   #7299
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 476
Tried reloading maps. Getting an error. "An unknown transfer error"

I'll have to wait to talk to Garmin again next week.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 07:18 PM   #7300
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsatyr View Post
Tried reloading maps. Getting an error. "An unknown transfer error"

I'll have to wait to talk to Garmin again next week.
Did you try going to the "Repairs" area and selecting "Update" to send the unlock to your new device?
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 07:44 PM   #7301
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Did you try going to the "Repairs" area and selecting "Update" to send the unlock to your new device?

There is no update option on that page because it's already unlocked.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 11:37 PM   #7302
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsatyr View Post
There is no update option on that page because it's already unlocked.
Do not use express with the Montana for maps.

Use MapUpdater
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 06:51 AM   #7303
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
Do not use express with the Montana for maps.

Use MapUpdater



My original request for assistance in reverting back to the older version was because of the error message I received while using MapUpdater (it says it can't install the update because there is not previous version installed). That's why I want to try to revert back to the older version so I can try to rerun the update in the hopes that it will install correctly.

I'll be searching for those dvd's today.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 04:31 PM   #7304
sonic578
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: SE Florida
Oddometer: 732
I've been using a Zumo 660 for a couple of years now, and have come to enjoy the "avoid highways" feature, especially when routing-on-the-fly during a trip. Montana seems to lack that feature. Are there simple workarounds?
__________________
Dave
'11 GS
Crash bars for sale
Corvette Manuals for sale
sonic578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 05:35 PM   #7305
TrotterD
Geek
 
TrotterD's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: County Durham, UK
Oddometer: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonic578 View Post
I've been using a Zumo 660 for a couple of years now, and have come to enjoy the "avoid highways" feature, especially when routing-on-the-fly during a trip. Montana seems to lack that feature. Are there simple workarounds?
Hello, hope you are well.

The Montana has the feature your are wanting.

Open the draw ^ then choose Setup -> Routing -> Avoidance Setup

Then you can enable the following avoidances:-

U-Turns
Toll Roads
Interstate Highways
Major Highways
Unpaved Roads
Carpool Lanes
Ferries

If you click on them it will place a green to next to them so that the routing will avoid them.

Hope this helps

Regards

Dave
__________________
Look where you want to go, not where your going.
TrotterD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014