ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 139 votes, 4.81 average. Display Modes
Old 04-24-2013, 05:43 PM   #7636
USAIR
picking and riding
 
USAIR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Northern Kentucky
Oddometer: 1,104
I use my system for Lightroom and Photoshop.

24g ram i7cpu 960 @ 3.20 ghz 64 bit
2 ssd
One for operating system and one for Lightroom and Photoshop.
And other standard hard drives for storage.

Really worked very nice till my "C" drive started filling up.
I think I will be back in business with the new drive and by the time this drive fills up it will be time for a new PC.

I think.

Fred
__________________
2013 WR250R 2007 Wee
www.riverbendphotos.com
YouTube feed
Wallpaper for Montana GPSr
Beware of the Wallnut
USAIR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 06:34 PM   #7637
BruceWA
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Oddometer: 427
Crashes

Not sure what is going on, BUT, at the end of each route or find calculation my 650t crashes. New issue possibly related to 4.9???
__________________
Figures don't lie, but liars can figure
BruceWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 06:56 PM   #7638
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceWA View Post
Not sure what is going on, BUT, at the end of each route or find calculation my 650t crashes. New issue possibly related to 4.9???
Have you tried a Master Reset to cure the problem? That's what I would try if the problem is repeatable.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 07:09 PM   #7639
BruceWA
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Oddometer: 427
Just did a master reset after installing the latest 4.9....will give it a try it certainly can't hurt!

Update, master reset did NOT help. :(
__________________
Figures don't lie, but liars can figure

BruceWA screwed with this post 04-24-2013 at 07:24 PM
BruceWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 05:04 AM   #7640
BruceWA
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Oddometer: 427
OK....tried another master reset just minutes ago after awakening with this on my mind. All now OK.
__________________
Figures don't lie, but liars can figure
BruceWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 01:31 PM   #7641
USAIR
picking and riding
 
USAIR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Northern Kentucky
Oddometer: 1,104
Getting acquainted with my new Montana

Went out on my first real world try with new GPS.
On my bike ...no hiking.

Had only two problems one was 5 minutes into the ride the unit shut off.
Pushed power button and it booted right up.

Second problem high on a hill next to a cell phone tower the unit lost satellite connection...I had to shut the GPS off then on and everything was fine.
The only reason I brought up the tower is I have a nuvi 2595 for the truck.
When I get close to a 'certain' cell tower it locks up white screen and the only way to get it back up and working is to let the battery die overnight then turn back on in the morning and it's ok.

Both problems happened once and no more.

One thing learned lock the Montana into landscape or portrait it switches back and forth too much when riding.

I made up three routes for my ride for a total ride of about 200 miles.
High water turned me around at one point went around that spot and the gps picked up the route on the other side.
Worked real well on this no recalculating box to look at it just picked up where it left off.

I have a few questions ...
First whats your thoughts on the lost power and lost satellite problems?
2nd can you change the font size for cities?..I tried all the settings I know and it changes everything but city font.
3rd when in nuvi dashboard I thought you would get a speed limit just like in car nuvi units?
4th is there a contrast setting in the Montana?

4.90 firmware
CNNA NT 2013.1

So far I like the Montana takes some getting used to but I'll get there.

Thanks
Fred
__________________
2013 WR250R 2007 Wee
www.riverbendphotos.com
YouTube feed
Wallpaper for Montana GPSr
Beware of the Wallnut
USAIR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 01:45 PM   #7642
lmychajluk
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Meadowlands, NJ (just east of the USA)
Oddometer: 1,433
Lost power may be a 'loose' battery. I've heard of some reported issues with this. Fix is to put a piece of cardboard under the battery cover to hold the battery tighter in place.

No thoughts on the other issues, but was that a Lightspeed tower by any chance?

Edit - On second thought...

I'm pretty sure I see a speed limit in my Nuvi dash, but I think you have to be in an area where the speed limit is in the database.

There's a brightness (tap the power button), but I'm not sure of contrast....
__________________
-Lee
2013 Triumph Tiger 800
2008 Suzuki SV650n (Sold... I miss that bike...)
lmychajluk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 01:55 PM   #7643
USAIR
picking and riding
 
USAIR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Northern Kentucky
Oddometer: 1,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmychajluk View Post
Lost power may be a 'loose' battery. I've heard of some reported issues with this. Fix is to put a piece of cardboard under the battery cover to hold the battery tighter in place.

No thoughts on the other issues, but was that a Lightspeed tower by any chance?

Edit - On second thought...

I'm pretty sure I see a speed limit in my Nuvi dash, but I think you have to be in an area where the speed limit is in the database.

There's a brightness (tap the power button), but I'm not sure of contrast....
Thanks Lee
Not sure of the tower type...typical type for this area pretty beefy tower antennas look like rows of bars on 3 sides.
If I get a chance I take a photo of one.

Maybe I need to update CNNA for speed limit?

Thanks for the info
Fred
__________________
2013 WR250R 2007 Wee
www.riverbendphotos.com
YouTube feed
Wallpaper for Montana GPSr
Beware of the Wallnut
USAIR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 01:57 PM   #7644
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,388
USAIR mentioned having a lost satellite reception problem. I now have had this happen to me about a half dozen times in the last week or 2. It's weird, the display just hangs there and I have to jump out to the main menu then when I go back to the map display it's working correctly.

Now I know there was some sunspot activity recently that was causing reception loss, but I have to wonder if there isn't a glitch in 4.90 that's causing my map screen to just sit there in la la land. I never had this happen when I was on 4.60, but I never noticed losing sat reception back then either, but that could be because the screen didn't hang there so I just never happened to be looking at the unit when I did lose reception.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!

Albie screwed with this post 04-25-2013 at 02:03 PM
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 02:00 PM   #7645
JT
Gnarly Adventurer
 
JT's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Elgin, Texas
Oddometer: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by USAIR View Post
I have done all of the above so many times I can't count.
I keep my drive as clean as I can.
Just keep losing space on my "c" drive.

I must be missing something here.

Thanks for the try.

Fred

Freeware called "Treesize" will add option to rightclick menu and show you all folder sizes so you can see what's taking up all the space. Be sure to turn on the option to see hidden files in "folder options".

http://www.jam-software.com/freeware/
__________________
"The road don't go forever, so ride it while it lasts."
JT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 02:06 PM   #7646
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by USAIR View Post
Thanks Lee
Not sure of the tower type...typical type for this area pretty beefy tower antennas look like rows of bars on 3 sides.
If I get a chance I take a photo of one.

Maybe I need to update CNNA for speed limit?

Thanks for the info
Fred
Try doing a master reset, a few others here had that issue and the reset fixed it.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 03:00 PM   #7647
SteveAZ
Beastly Adventurer
 
SteveAZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: AZ
Oddometer: 1,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by USAIR View Post
....

I have a few questions ...
First whats your thoughts on the lost power and lost satellite problems?
Assuming you are using AA's, lost power is typically vibration on batteries. It's important to solve this since if you hardwire, which will prolly solve the shutting off issue, but there's still vibrating contacts, little micro-arcing can screw up the contacts for the batteries. I prefer to hardwire and remove the batteries. The Li-ion shouldn't have this problem though.
Quote:
Originally Posted by USAIR View Post
2nd can you change the font size for cities?..I tried all the settings I know and it changes everything but city font.
3rd when in nuvi dashboard I thought you would get a speed limit just like in car nuvi units?
As mentioned it does but only on streets with speed limits in the database. A lot of streets in their latest CNNA don't have them, even some pretty major streets.
Quote:
Originally Posted by USAIR View Post
4th is there a contrast setting in the Montana?
These types of displays do not have hardware-based contrast settings. Most TFT LCD's wouldn't benefit from them anyway. Hardware based contrast is generally found in cheaper STN LCD's that pretty much need them.
SteveAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 03:06 PM   #7648
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveAZ View Post
The Li-ion shouldn't have this problem though.
Yup, it shouldn't, but it does. Still have to wedge something in there to stop the power cycling.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 04:33 PM   #7649
USAIR
picking and riding
 
USAIR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Northern Kentucky
Oddometer: 1,104
Thanks everyone for the suggestions.

First as far as the batteries the unit was in the rugged mount on the bike when all this stuff happened.
When the unit turned off the screen just went blank...not into the count down mode and then off.

And most of the streets I was on today should have speed limit database.
I have seen speed limit on these streets on my Nuvi in my truck.

And the screen was just fine to my eyes could use a little contrast ...just a nit pick.
The only thing I had trouble seeing was the city names I had to struggle to see them.

And I am comparing my new Montana to my old Zumo 550.

Which the Zumo died the end of the first day of my 2011 trip to Alaska.
Lost all my tracks lost all my routes and had to navigate the trip using paper maps.
I did finally get the Zumo to function I could see where I was ans zoom in and out using the buttons. (touch screen was dead).
Most annoying thing was the fuel gauge warning came up every 240 miles.
Then had to pay Garmin $150 to fix....I did not hurt this unit.(but it sure hurt my wallet)

Anyway....so I am liking the new Montana.

Thanks
Fred
__________________
2013 WR250R 2007 Wee
www.riverbendphotos.com
YouTube feed
Wallpaper for Montana GPSr
Beware of the Wallnut
USAIR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 06:41 PM   #7650
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmychajluk View Post
Lost power may be a 'loose' battery. I've heard of some reported issues with this. Fix is to put a piece of cardboard under the battery cover to hold the battery tighter in place..
A foam earplug works much better for that purpose than cardboard.

__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.

Emmbeedee screwed with this post 04-25-2013 at 06:57 PM
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014