ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 200 votes, 4.87 average. Display Modes
Old 09-17-2011, 05:45 PM   #811
waynegs
Gnarly Adventurer
 
waynegs's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Austin, Texas
Oddometer: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Good catch - It also doesn't clear the Satellite objects when you change pages unless there is a Dashboard that will overwrite the Satellite Dash objects.
Change page. . .
Cheers,
I've seen the main menu bitmap get screwed up in a bunch of instances, leaving the map etc. I wonder what processor / OS they're developing this in? We ran into some horrible memory management issues at work - infamous compiler bugs (real ones, not blamed to cover coding bugs).
waynegs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 09:50 AM   #812
Romatsu
Adventurer
 
Romatsu's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Oddometer: 50
Montana AMPS rugged mount.
The two screws holding the contacts look like they are not in all the way.
Anyone elses similar?


Name:  2011-09-12191434.jpg
Views: 1906
Size:  118.8 KB
Romatsu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 10:29 AM   #813
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,130
All three of my AMPS mounts are like that.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 12:49 PM   #814
Romatsu
Adventurer
 
Romatsu's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Oddometer: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
All three of my AMPS mounts are like that.

Cheers,
Thanks
Romatsu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 01:49 PM   #815
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,130
Bummed!

I was loading up my "new" Montana this morning with a few tracks and waypoints to go for a ride (beautiful day!) I unmounted the volume from my Mac and waited for it to boot. . . . and waited. . . and waited. . .

Finally, I realized that it was "frozen" in the boot process so I removed the battery and my microSD Card and then replaced the battery and pressed the Power On/Off button. No joy. It gets to the "Loading Photo's" part of the boot sequence and there was a "White Screen" flash and the unit shutdown. I then tried a Master Reset. It appeared to work properly but the boot sequence again shutdown as before. Now, it just "freezes" during the boot process. Since it can't make it through the boot process, it can't go into USB Mass Storage Mode.

Bummer. . .

I can't tell if this problem due to Firmware failure or if it is due to installation of v3.40 - which I did upon receiving the "new" unit.

Looks like another call to Garmin on Monday and two or three weeks without my Montana.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 02:06 PM   #816
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Looks like another call to Garmin on Monday and two or three weeks without my Montana.

Cheers,
Jeez, that's terrible. Garmin had better cross-ship to you this time, don't you think?
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 02:18 PM   #817
bmwgrrl
Goin' Minimalistic
 
bmwgrrl's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: A2, Chicago
Oddometer: 440
sigh. And that's why I still carry my Oregon as a backup. :(


Sent via Tapatalk iPhone - The scourge of workplace productivity.
__________________
2005 BMW F650GS
Emma Beagle, 11.1.96-5.11.11
You Ride Shotgun on my Shoulder Now

Not All Who are Lost Wish to be Found
bmwgrrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 02:42 PM   #818
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwgrrl View Post
sigh. And that's why I still carry my Oregon as a backup. :(.
Good point. Must pack my 62S to bring to CroMag.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 02:50 PM   #819
dvwalker
Working to ride
 
dvwalker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Orygun
Oddometer: 757
I had a simular freeze occur on a previous firmware. I had just transferred a couple GPX files onto the SD card prior to the boot freeze. Occured at the Loading Pictures message.

As a workaround, I removed the micro-SD card from the unit and plug directly into the PC. After removing the GPX files and re-inserting the SD card, unit booted as normal. One of the GPX files was very large (~10MB) so filtered a couple of the alt tracks, regenerated GPX and recopied file to the unit without problem. Only thing that came to mind at the time was Basecamp may have corrupted one of the GPX files?
dvwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 02:58 PM   #820
waynegs
Gnarly Adventurer
 
waynegs's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Austin, Texas
Oddometer: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
I was loading up my "new" Montana this morning with a few tracks and waypoints to go for a ride (beautiful day!) I unmounted the volume from my Mac and waited for it to boot. . . . and waited. . . and waited. . .

Finally, I realized that it was "frozen" in the boot process so I removed the battery and my microSD Card and then replaced the battery and pressed the Power On/Off button. No joy. It gets to the "Loading Photo's" part of the boot sequence and there was a "White Screen" flash and the unit shutdown. I then tried a Master Reset. It appeared to work properly but the boot sequence again shutdown as before. Now, it just "freezes" during the boot process. Since it can't make it through the boot process, it can't go into USB Mass Storage Mode.

Bummer. . .

I can't tell if this problem due to Firmware failure or if it is due to installation of v3.40 - which I did upon receiving the "new" unit.

Looks like another call to Garmin on Monday and two or three weeks without my Montana.

Cheers,
Have you tried leaving the power off and plugging it into the USB port and letting that wake the processor up? Probably won't make any difference, but worth a try if not done before.
waynegs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 03:42 PM   #821
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvwalker View Post
I had a simular freeze occur on a previous firmware. I had just transferred a couple GPX files onto the SD card prior to the boot freeze. Occured at the Loading Pictures message.
Now that I think about it, I had this same kind of thing happen. The Montana took such a long time to start up that I thought it had locked but it was just very very slow, and when I left it for an hour, it did finish and start up, and has been normal ever since.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 06:57 PM   #822
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,130
Thanks folks. . .but,
Confession: I keep a database of ALL of the bugs and anomalies that are posted here and on the other forums I frequent - good (old) development habits are hard to brake.
But, one has to acutally check the database - oops

I let the unit sit (frozen) in the boot process at the Copywrite screen (hasn't read the startup.txt file yet) for two hours with no change. I did this with both battery power and USB power.

Hello? Garmin. . .

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 09:35 PM   #823
dvwalker
Working to ride
 
dvwalker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Orygun
Oddometer: 757
one more thing you might try to force the USB connection, worth a shot anyway...
  1. turn off the device
  2. hold down the power button and connect the device to your computer via USB
  3. continue holding power button for 30 seconds or until device goes into mass storage mode
dvwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 07:28 AM   #824
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,130
Thanks, I tried that one last night - after I read through my database notes

I did manage to get into USB mode on the second try but even using WebUpdater the boot loader still "freezes" at the Copy-write screen - yep, I still let it sit for over an hour - no joy.

Hello? Garmin. . .
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 08:36 AM   #825
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,130
Joy. . .Sort of

Isn't it always the way. . .

As I was talking with Product Support, it dawned on me that, although I had deleted the data I placed on the Montana (Custom Symbol) while in USB mode last night, I did not replace my Factory image. I decided to try one thing at a time. First up was the Profile Folder. Disconnect USB and Power On. BOOT, BOOT, BOOT. . . It worked! Said thanks to Product Support for engaging my brain and I'm back in business.

Now, where is that Custom Symbol that started all of this? By the way the Custom Symbol works in BaseCamp just fine and it worked on my previous Montana. I'll update when I figure it out.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com

DRTBYK screwed with this post 09-19-2011 at 09:35 AM
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014