ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 249 votes, 4.89 average. Display Modes
Old 06-07-2013, 02:21 PM   #8266
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 9,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by USAIR View Post
Well I updated to 5.0
Went for a 50 mile ride made several stops turned the Montana off then on everything look good till about mid way thru the trip than this------------

580 854 ft 2.6 mi 0:00:01 9509 mph 343.7 true 6/7/2013 2:05:04 PM N39 00.331 W84 36.990
And then a straight lint on the track.
So looks like this bug is still there ..better but still there.

Just to clarify this I stop turn the Montana off then turn the Montana back on and continue on my way (I did not move from my location) and yes the unit was all up and running before I moved.

I wonder why I don't see more people reporting this?
I mean it shows my speed as 9509 mph between points.

Fred
I imagine I never see the fault because I never turn my unit off until I'm done riding then the next time I ride I reset the track log.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 02:42 PM   #8267
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by motoracer51 View Post
Can I only use the microSD in the Montana, and am not able to copy it to the internal memory?
As stated the maps are locked to the uSD card.
The card/map will work in any Garmin GPS that accepts uSD cards.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 02:45 PM   #8268
Cataract2
Where to?
 
Cataract2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: N. Charleston, SC
Oddometer: 1,580
So, I'm just trying to get and understanding on what's happening. You turn the unit off and then back on without moving correct? What is it doing exactly? It shouldn't move you at all is what I think should happen. Is it bouncing your location around as it reacquires?

Also, the lose of signal when on fast refresh. Is that with versions 4.8-5.0?
__________________
People who get made because they're old, haven't lived.
Cataract2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 02:46 PM   #8269
dvmvm
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Oddometer: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by USAIR View Post
Well I updated to 5.0
Went for a 50 mile ride made several stops turned the Montana off then on everything look good till about mid way thru the trip than this------------

580 854 ft 2.6 mi 0:00:01 9509 mph 343.7 true 6/7/2013 2:05:04 PM N39 00.331 W84 36.990
And then a straight lint on the track.
So looks like this bug is still there ..better but still there.

Just to clarify this I stop turn the Montana off then turn the Montana back on and continue on my way (I did not move from my location) and yes the unit was all up and running before I moved.

I wonder why I don't see more people reporting this?
I mean it shows my speed as 9509 mph between points.

Fred
Thanks for the test. This definitely looks like that the last known position from .position.gpx was logged here.
Maybe Garmin changed in fw5.0 only the delay time until this point is logged when there is no satellite fix. Was the satellite reception at this location good?
dvmvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 03:24 PM   #8270
USAIR
picking and riding
 
USAIR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Northern Kentucky
Oddometer: 1,451
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvmvm View Post
Thanks for the test. This definitely looks like that the last known position from .position.gpx was logged here.
Maybe Garmin changed in fw5.0 only the delay time until this point is logged when there is no satellite fix. Was the satellite reception at this location good?
Sat reception was good 8ft.

The whole track was 1058 points and it happened at 580.
I made a total of 4 stops and it was on stop 2 that this occurred.
On 4.90 this would have happened 4 times so it is better.

I guess I must ride different then most I like to keep one whole track a day and be able to turn off and on the unit as much as I want.

I don't think that changing the recording method to something other then "Auto" would help?

Fred
__________________
2013 WR250R 2007 Wee
www.riverbendphotos.com
YouTube feed
Wallpaper for Montana GPSr
Beware of the Wallnut
USAIR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 03:29 PM   #8271
motoracer51
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Western Colorado
Oddometer: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by 250senuf View Post
As stated the maps are locked to the uSD card.
The card/map will work in any Garmin GPS that accepts uSD cards.
So it stays on the microSD then? I can't place the microSD in the GPS unit and copy it to the internal memory, or copy from PC to GPS?

This stuff is all new to me.
motoracer51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 03:41 PM   #8272
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,288
It stays on the uSD.
I just took a quick look on the Garmin site but couldn't find their explanation of the map choices (DVD, uSD, download) and which might be best for the purchaser's circumstance.

Edit:

microSD™/SD™ card Requirements
Make sure your device is compatible with this product before purchasing. Some map features will not work on nvi devices.
More Details
To view and use the maps on this card, you must have a device with a microSD/SD card slot. Maps on microSD/SD cards cannot be copied or viewed on a computer.
Reduced price map updates are not available for these cards. If you want to update the maps, you must purchase a new card that includes the latest map data.
The microSD/SD card package includes a microSD card and an SD card adapter.


from Garmin (but I thought there was a longer version that compares formats)
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused

250senuf screwed with this post 06-07-2013 at 03:49 PM
250senuf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 04:13 PM   #8273
motoracer51
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Western Colorado
Oddometer: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by 250senuf View Post
It stays on the uSD.
I just took a quick look on the Garmin site but couldn't find their explanation of the map choices (DVD, uSD, download) and which might be best for the purchaser's circumstance.

Edit:

microSD/SD card Requirements
Make sure your device is compatible with this product before purchasing. Some map features will not work on nvi devices.
More Details
To view and use the maps on this card, you must have a device with a microSD/SD card slot. Maps on microSD/SD cards cannot be copied or viewed on a computer.
Reduced price map updates are not available for these cards. If you want to update the maps, you must purchase a new card that includes the latest map data.
The microSD/SD card package includes a microSD card and an SD card adapter.


from Garmin (but I thought there was a longer version that compares formats)
Thanks!

I guess this is why most people suggest getting maps on DVD?
motoracer51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 06:03 PM   #8274
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by USAIR View Post
Like I said all I am doing is stopping letting the unit go off or turning the unit off.
Short time later I hop on the bike Montana comes on and that's when it happens.

I understand that when I turn off a GPS then travel to a new location and then turn it on you get a straight line.
That's not what I am doing.
I am on firmware version 5.00 and took the Montana out in the car today. I let the unit go off a couple of times when I stopped, but looking at the track now in BC, I see nothing odd about it at all.

__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 06:37 PM   #8275
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by USAIR View Post
I guess I must ride different then most I like to keep one whole track a day and be able to turn off and on the unit as much as I want.

I don't think that changing the recording method to something other then "Auto" would help?

Fred
Since my Rugged Mount is hard wired, I generally leave it on all day. Tomorrow, I'm going to do a test just like yours. Turn the unit off at every stop then back on again just before leaving. Track logging on auto for the whole day. I'm going to a STAR course, should be a good test, about 100 miles.

We'll see if 4.7 is different. And no, I don't think changing recording method would have any effect. But it's worth a try if you like being a Beta tester.
__________________
2010 Yamaha TW200
2014 BMW R1200 GS WC
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 07:27 PM   #8276
USAIR
picking and riding
 
USAIR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Northern Kentucky
Oddometer: 1,451
Strange ...I'm going to do some more testing and see.
Maybe s master reset I haven't done one of those yet.
I have everything backed up so what the hell.

Fred
__________________
2013 WR250R 2007 Wee
www.riverbendphotos.com
YouTube feed
Wallpaper for Montana GPSr
Beware of the Wallnut
USAIR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 08:49 PM   #8277
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by USAIR View Post
Strange ...I'm going to do some more testing and see.
Maybe s master reset I haven't done one of those yet.
I have everything backed up so what the hell.

Fred
Many of us do a master reset after every firmware update. It's one of the first things I would have tried for your odd behavior. Follow the instructions on the Wiki exactly and it won't be much hassle.
__________________
2010 Yamaha TW200
2014 BMW R1200 GS WC
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 08:30 AM   #8278
HBL
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Minnesota
Oddometer: 292
File Compatibility

Okay, so hopefully this is not a completely foolish question, but I have searched the forums and checked various websites (i.e. GPS Visualizer) without success. The question is how to get a .img file to be readable on the Montanna. Specifically, I am trying to convert the two files at this site:

http://www.pbfriders.com/?page_id=132

Thanks!
HBL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 08:52 AM   #8279
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by HBL View Post
Okay, so hopefully this is not a completely foolish question, but I have searched the forums and checked various websites (i.e. GPS Visualizer) without success. The question is how to get a .img file to be readable on the Montanna. Specifically, I am trying to convert the two files at this site:

http://www.pbfriders.com/?page_id=132

Thanks!
They are both .img files. Just put them in x:\garmin and they will work.

Here's proof:

__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 09:10 AM   #8280
RFlagg42
One hoopy frood....
 
RFlagg42's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Oddometer: 1,150
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
The Montana still has "issues" with Custom POI Icons. I have sent several to Garmin and still not resolution.
Thanks! I have been trying to figure out what I was doing wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Do some reading up on Custom POI's. They are just waypoints with special coding and they can are loaded to the GPS (Montana) in a compressed file so that you can have tens of thousands of them in a file and the file will still be small compared to a Waypoint.gpx file. The POI icons show up on the Map at a higher zoom level then Waypoints do also. And, you can provide your own Icon for your POI's if you want.
Question on the highlighted statement above. Awhile ago, I removed all the POI files from the Montana because it did not differentiate between POIs and Waypoints when setting the custom distances for visibility on the screen. I like to use a large distance for waypoint visibility and my POI files were making the screen unreadable. DRTBYK's statement above makes me wonder whether the situation has changed?
__________________

2015 LD Rally Season: Iron Butt Rally (29 Jun - 10 Jul)

"As a dog returns to its vomit, so a fool repeats his folly." - Proverbs 26:11
RFlagg42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014