ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 200 votes, 4.87 average. Display Modes
Old 07-23-2013, 05:36 PM   #8881
SheRidesABeemer
Go Big or Go Home.
 
SheRidesABeemer's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Live Free and Ride, NH
Oddometer: 1,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
You probably installed the map to your computer but have not yet loaded it to the gps. Have you run MapInstall? That is how the map would get from the computer to the gps.
Nope haven't heard of that one yet...is that in place of Garmin Express?

thanks!
__________________
Gail
My Blog
05 R1200GS
87 K75
Do what you love, and do it often.
SheRidesABeemer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 05:53 PM   #8882
Timmer
Beastly Adventurer
 
Timmer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Burien, WA
Oddometer: 2,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by SheRidesABeemer View Post
Nope haven't heard of that one yet...is that in place of Garmin Express?

thanks!
Yes, for many of us that's what we use to get maps installed.

Also, have you checked your SETUP/MAPS/ on your Montana to see if the map is there and enabled?
__________________
Tim in Burien, WA
'05 R1200GS '03 F650GS
'08 WR250R
'03 Wing
'01 ST1100
Timmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 05:54 PM   #8883
rwamf
Follow me
 
rwamf's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Odessa TX USA
Oddometer: 1,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
Robert, are you on the way to Colorado?
Leaving the 3rd of AUG, Don't worry I will have good tracks for the Alpine Trail for ya, we will see how the Montana does, So Very Impressed with it, I have been making my own maps for it, Have some good detailed trail maps made for the Pinenuts , Moab and Colorado San Jauns
Can't come soon enough.

Robert
__________________
"Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail. ~ RWE
Robert

rwamf homepage

rwamf screwed with this post 07-24-2013 at 06:18 AM
rwamf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 05:56 PM   #8884
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by SheRidesABeemer View Post
Nope haven't heard of that one yet...is that in place of Garmin Express?

thanks!
No, Garmin Express doesn't work properly with the Montana anyway, but Express (if it worked) would be the way to get the map to your computer, but you would still need MapInstall to get it to the gps. If you have Basecamp, you should see MapInstall there too. Look in the Help files if you need to, but MapInstall is the answer.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 06:03 PM   #8885
bluepoof
insert pithy saying here
 
bluepoof's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: San Carlos, CA
Oddometer: 437
Quote:
Originally Posted by SheRidesABeemer View Post
Can someone point me to the thread that shows me how to activate the City Navigator map on the device? I took it out of the box yesterday, uploaded the city navigator NA map, on what I thought was the device, but I can't see it in the map menu.
MyGarmin says it's loaded and activated
From Basecamp, I can select city navigator NA
I created a route and uploaded it to the device, but it shows up as a straight purple line (no streets)

Help...
Does it look right if you go to Setup > Map > Map Information ? Is the map you expect to be enabled there? Or is that what you mean by the map menu?
__________________
'07 Kawasaki Ninja 250 * '02 Yamaha XT225 * '08 Honda CRF80F
www.bluepoof.com
bluepoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 06:20 PM   #8886
SheRidesABeemer
Go Big or Go Home.
 
SheRidesABeemer's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Live Free and Ride, NH
Oddometer: 1,931
MapInstall was the secret. It sure would be great if that was referenced in their start up document. Thanks so much for the quick help!

When you look at FAQ help in Garmin, it points to express as the way to get the map "upgraded". But it's no help at all!
__________________
Gail
My Blog
05 R1200GS
87 K75
Do what you love, and do it often.
SheRidesABeemer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 06:23 PM   #8887
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by SheRidesABeemer View Post
MapInstall was the secret. It sure would be great if that was referenced in their start up document. Thanks so much for the quick help!
Yes, there's a litany of complaints wrt Garmin documentation, or lack of it.

I figured the map wasn't on the gps yet because anytime a map is installed, it's on by default.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 06:24 PM   #8888
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by SheRidesABeemer View Post
When you look at FAQ help in Garmin, it points to express as the way to get the map "upgraded". But it's no help at all!
Express is supposed to update the map on your computer, but the next step is always MapInstall, or for Luddites, Mapsource.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 08:04 PM   #8889
bluepoof
insert pithy saying here
 
bluepoof's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: San Carlos, CA
Oddometer: 437
New owner of a Montana here and so far, so good. I've skimmed through most of this thread and I haven't seen much talk of custom POIs so hopefully this isn't a duplicate question.

I have a list of historical markers that I got from poi-factory.com to use for a photo scavenger hunt that I'm in. Ideally, I'd love to be able to delete each POI from the Montana as I visit each one -- sadly, I know that's impossible because the custom POI file is one big file.

My question is this: is there a way to convert the POIs into individual waypoints (which I could then individually delete)? I'm presuming not, because Google hasn't come up with anything, but I thought I'd ask here since y'alls are crazy knowledgeable.
__________________
'07 Kawasaki Ninja 250 * '02 Yamaha XT225 * '08 Honda CRF80F
www.bluepoof.com
bluepoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 08:30 PM   #8890
lmychajluk
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Meadowlands, NJ (just east of the USA)
Oddometer: 1,685
Not positive it will work, but did you try GPSBabel?
__________________
-Lee
2013 Triumph Tiger 800
2008 Suzuki SV650n (Sold... I miss that bike...)
lmychajluk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 09:21 PM   #8891
bluepoof
insert pithy saying here
 
bluepoof's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: San Carlos, CA
Oddometer: 437
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmychajluk View Post
Not positive it will work, but did you try GPSBabel?
It looks like it should do what I want (I think) but sadly it crashes every time I try to import the waypoint file, either via BaseCamp or directly onto the Montana. I'll keep playing with it tomorrow...thanks for the tip! I hadn't heard of GPSBabel before.
__________________
'07 Kawasaki Ninja 250 * '02 Yamaha XT225 * '08 Honda CRF80F
www.bluepoof.com
bluepoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 11:11 PM   #8892
Corbeau
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Corbeau's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Great White North
Oddometer: 423
Bonjour, folks (and to you as well, 'poof!)

Just ordered a Montana 600 with City Navigator from gpscity.ca... Looking forward persuing to the massive amount of information in this thread.

BTW, I'm coming from a bricked Garmin GPS V (remember those?) and have been GPS-less for two, three years...
__________________
Corbeau
The adventure starts when I throw a 30" leg over a seat that's 37" from the ground...
2005 KTM 640 Adventure. 2002 VFR (for sale!)
Corbeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 02:24 AM   #8893
advNZer?
Beastly Adventurer
 
advNZer?'s Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Wellington,New Zealand
Oddometer: 2,733
how does one know how old a NIB montana is.I live at the end of the earth.I bet our stock is old.
__________________
aka BMWST?
advNZer? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 04:10 AM   #8894
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,919
With the GPS connected, and the map set you are trying to upload selected in the top menu, right-click the GPS showing in the left data area and select the menu option "upload maps to gps" (may not be the exact words, that's the gist of it.). That should launch mapinstaller and do it all for you. Easy peasy.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 08:32 AM   #8895
bluepoof
insert pithy saying here
 
bluepoof's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: San Carlos, CA
Oddometer: 437
Just to update the thread in case anyone visiting from the future has the same question, my problem with GPSBabel last night was that I was trying to import too many POIs as waypoints. When I stopped trying to import the entire USA file and stuck to just California, it worked perfectly.

It also worked to covert the POI file (CSV format) to GPX format via GPS Visualizer and then move that GPX file onto the Montana via BaseCamp. With that method, too, I had to use the smaller California file with only 200 waypoints (the USA file had over 10,000 -- oops!).

Thanks for the help! Now I can visit markers and delete them individually so I know which ones I haven't yet been to.
__________________
'07 Kawasaki Ninja 250 * '02 Yamaha XT225 * '08 Honda CRF80F
www.bluepoof.com
bluepoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014