ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 66 votes, 4.59 average. Display Modes
Old 07-24-2013, 08:32 AM   #8911
bluepoof
insert pithy saying here
 
bluepoof's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: San Carlos, CA
Oddometer: 437
Just to update the thread in case anyone visiting from the future has the same question, my problem with GPSBabel last night was that I was trying to import too many POIs as waypoints. When I stopped trying to import the entire USA file and stuck to just California, it worked perfectly.

It also worked to covert the POI file (CSV format) to GPX format via GPS Visualizer and then move that GPX file onto the Montana via BaseCamp. With that method, too, I had to use the smaller California file with only 200 waypoints (the USA file had over 10,000 -- oops!).

Thanks for the help! Now I can visit markers and delete them individually so I know which ones I haven't yet been to.
__________________
'07 Kawasaki Ninja 250 * '02 Yamaha XT225 * '08 Honda CRF80F
www.bluepoof.com
bluepoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 01:09 PM   #8912
bighopper
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Central Alberta Canada
Oddometer: 159
I am looking at going back to an older firmware version (from 5.10), reading the http://garminmontanagpsr.wikispaces.com/Firmware I see you copy the GCD file to the Garmin directory & reboot. But I took a look at the Montana/Garmin directory & I don't see a GCD file!
Does the Montana delete this file after the reboot?
Just checking to make sure I don't BRICK my unit .
Thanks
__________________
I Just Like To Ride
'03 BMW R1150GSA
'06 BMW K1200LT
bighopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 01:51 PM   #8913
THRASHED
Moving on Up
 
THRASHED's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: So Cal
Oddometer: 215
Are Garmin maps, 24k, City, etc individually coded, or can they be loaded on to more than one GPS?
THRASHED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 03:38 PM   #8914
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by THRASHED View Post
Are Garmin maps, 24k, City, etc individually coded, or can they be loaded on to more than one GPS?
I had a feeling you'd be back with this question after seeing you were going to "borrow" someone's maps a few pages back.
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 03:44 PM   #8915
Timmer
Beastly Adventurer
 
Timmer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Burien, WA
Oddometer: 2,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by THRASHED View Post
Are Garmin maps, 24k, City, etc individually coded, or can they be loaded on to more than one GPS?
One Garmin Map = One Garmin Unit


Tim in Burien, WA
__________________
Tim in Burien, WA
'05 R1200GS '03 F650GS
'08 WR250R
'03 Wing
'01 ST1100
Timmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 05:25 PM   #8916
sintax
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: So.Cal
Oddometer: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
I had a feeling you'd be back with this question after seeing you were going to "borrow" someone's maps a few pages back.
haha would not be the first.
sintax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 05:27 PM   #8917
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by sintax View Post
haha would not be the first.
You might want to read the site rules.

4. Observe all copyright laws.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.

Emmbeedee screwed with this post 07-24-2013 at 05:36 PM
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 06:07 PM   #8918
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by SheRidesABeemer View Post
MapInstall was the secret. It sure would be great if that was referenced in their start up document. Thanks so much for the quick help!

When you look at FAQ help in Garmin, it points to express as the way to get the map "upgraded". But it's no help at all!
Tons of info here. :)
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 06:08 PM   #8919
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by bighopper View Post
I am looking at going back to an older firmware version (from 5.10), reading the http://garminmontanagpsr.wikispaces.com/Firmware I see you copy the GCD file to the Garmin directory & reboot. But I took a look at the Montana/Garmin directory & I don't see a GCD file!
Does the Montana delete this file after the reboot?
Just checking to make sure I don't BRICK my unit .
Thanks
Yes, the Montana removes this file after the update is successful.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 07:09 PM   #8920
THRASHED
Moving on Up
 
THRASHED's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: So Cal
Oddometer: 215
Aww, come on now! I didn't even talk to AirbornDad yet (that may or may not be because he is currently about 800 miles from me).
I just started thinking that I had to buy my MapSource way back so I was prepared to buy the new maps for my Montana.

Never hurts to ask...

I've been looking around, but is there one source for the DVD that is usually a fair price?
THRASHED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 07:18 PM   #8921
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by THRASHED View Post
Aww, come on now! I didn't even talk to AirbornDad yet (that may or may not be because he is currently about 800 miles from me).
I just started thinking that I had to buy my MapSource way back so I was prepared to buy the new maps for my Montana.

Never hurts to ask...

I've been looking around, but is there one source for the DVD that is usually a fair price?
$79 from a place like GPSCity seems fair to me. You can likely find it cheaper on eBay but it'll most likely be pirated.

Edit - sorry, I was wrong. It's actually $75 from GPSCity.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 07:22 PM   #8922
THRASHED
Moving on Up
 
THRASHED's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: So Cal
Oddometer: 215
Thanks man. I'll try there. Hopefully ordering at least the 24K tomorrow. I have the Rugged Mount and adapter on the way. I might try to fab up a low-profile mount.
THRASHED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 08:58 PM   #8923
joefromsf
Dark Happens
 
joefromsf's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 1,380
Question Question on Montana auto mounts

Anybody here use their Montana in a car with one of the auto mounts with speakers?

I understand they have a socket ball in the back of the cradle that can be removed. I was wondering if someone knew (or could could measure) the size of the ball. I am wondering if its compatible with RAM balls: either the common 1" ball or the 9/16" ball.

Reason I ask is I've already got a RAM ball plate mounted in my van with a long arm. If one of these would fit into the cradle then I'd be all set.

__________________
--Joe .................................... http://joefromsf.smugmug.com/

We can't crash an infinite amount of times, so you better learn from every one! (by ARZ)
joefromsf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 09:49 PM   #8924
joefromsf
Dark Happens
 
joefromsf's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 1,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by joefromsf View Post
Anybody here use their Montana in a car with one of the auto mounts with speakers?

I understand they have a socket ball in the back of the cradle that can be removed. I was wondering if someone knew (or could could measure) the size of the ball. I am wondering if its compatible with RAM balls: either the common 1" ball or the 9/16" ball.

Reason I ask is I've already got a RAM ball plate mounted in my van with a long arm. If one of these would fit into the cradle then I'd be all set.

Found my own answer. It's not the same size as a RAM ball, but there is an adapter available to use with RAM components: http://www.gpscity.com/questions?qid=19446
__________________
--Joe .................................... http://joefromsf.smugmug.com/

We can't crash an infinite amount of times, so you better learn from every one! (by ARZ)
joefromsf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 04:47 AM   #8925
SKINNY
Studly Adventurer
 
SKINNY's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: West Texas
Oddometer: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timmer View Post
One Garmin Map = One Garmin Unit


Tim in Burien, WA
24K topo maps can be installed on more than 1 unit...they are not copy protected...
SKINNY is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014