ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 184 votes, 4.85 average. Display Modes
Old 08-05-2013, 05:55 PM   #9061
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsatyr View Post
I should have said I haven't updated the Montana either. I think I'm on 4.7 and BC is 4.2.2. I like to let someone else figure out the flaws and then I can decide if I want to update or not.
As if 4.7 is flawless on its own.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 06:37 PM   #9062
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
As if 4.7 is flawless on its own.
Haha!! Yeah, it's all relative.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 10:55 PM   #9063
种.
Ajaa kuin mummo
 
种.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Finland
Oddometer: 260
Just back from 5 day 2000 km trip. I used the routing capabilities of the Montana for the whole trip. First day was done with basecamp but rest where made with the Montana directly. I think it worked better than expected for this kind of job.

Only problems where 3 reboots and 2 freezes when the map display and track recording froze but everything else worked. You had to reboot the device to get it working again. Switching your bike and Montana off on the fly is not comfortable but it did the trick. Just shutting down Montana while it's in the powered mount didn't help.

Sw 5.10
__________________
Pics and vids
种. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 02:15 PM   #9064
Timmer
Beastly Adventurer
 
Timmer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Burien, WA
Oddometer: 2,300
I rolled my Montana back to 4.7 and yesterday did a 300 mile ride with no issues. I was able to add via points to an existing route, and there were no spurious waypoints added. Like others have mentioned, if I create a route in BC, I always save it in a direct routing profile before transferring it to the Montana.
__________________
Tim in Burien, WA
'05 R1200GS '03 F650GS
'08 WR250R
'03 Wing
'01 ST1100
Timmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 04:16 PM   #9065
sintax
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: So.Cal
Oddometer: 495
Ya I'm noticing a sad trend here, i'm on 4.7 as well.
sintax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 05:22 PM   #9066
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,908
In case anyone thinks going back to 4.7 is necessary for any reason, I am on 5.10 and it's working just fine. And on my wife's 650 as well.

I didn't go to 5.20 as I doubt I'll need the Icelandic keyboard anytime soon.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.

Emmbeedee screwed with this post 08-06-2013 at 05:30 PM
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 05:36 PM   #9067
FISHCAT
Adventurer
 
FISHCAT's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Somerst Hills part of NJ
Oddometer: 14
Can someone tell me how to set it so it does not do any auto zooming.
I would like the zoom level to remain at the level I set it.
When following a route, it constantly is zooming in and out.
I tried turning off Autozoom and it makes no difference.
You might save my life!
FISHCAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 05:51 PM   #9068
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by FISHCAT View Post
Can someone tell me how to set it so it does not do any auto zooming.
I would like the zoom level to remain at the level I set it.
When following a route, it constantly is zooming in and out.
I tried turning off Autozoom and it makes no difference.
You might save my life!
Sounds like you've tried the setting already but try it once more: Setup/Map/Advanced Setup/Auto Zoom/Off
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 05:55 PM   #9069
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
In case anyone thinks going back to 4.7 is necessary for any reason, I am on 5.10 and it's working just fine. And on my wife's 650 as well.

I didn't go to 5.20 as I doubt I'll need the Icelandic keyboard anytime soon.
I'm on v5.20...I couldn't resist checking out the Icelandic Keyboard - very cool!!!

Seriously, in 4000 miles of v5.20 the only issue I had was I tried to use a rather complex circular route with only three via points in 200mi. The Montana wouldn't use the route as sent to it - which did upset me but then I just used the via points in an onboard created route and it worked flawlessly. Garmin does need to pull a resource to fix some of these routing issues.

There was a simpler day when routing wasn't quite so high tech with all of this Activity stuff. I think we need to go back to that more reliable routing approach but Garmin seems to be committed to Activity-based Routing. In the mean time, I'll continue to plan my routes in BC and save them as Direct before transferring. Of course I also create Tracks of any Routes I plan.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 05:59 PM   #9070
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,908
Was a little worried just now... in the last couple of weeks I've noticed that selecting icons was getting a little touchy - looked like a Screen Calibration was going to be necessary so tonight after yet again selecting "Reset" when what I was trying to hit was "Setup Map", I bit the bullet and went to Setup/Display/Calibrate Screen. After clicking those calibration dots again and again, probably 20 times, my patience ran out, and I shut the unit off.

On reboot, all was well; it looks like I have the right screen calibration back.

But is that process supposed to terminate on its own somehow?
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 06:04 PM   #9071
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Was a little worried just now... in the last couple of weeks I've noticed that selecting icons was getting a little touchy - looked like a Screen Calibration was going to be necessary so tonight after yet again selecting "Reset" when what I was trying to hit was "Setup Map", I bit the bullet and went to Setup/Display/Calibrate Screen. After clicking those calibration dots again and again, probably 20 times, my patience ran out, and I shut the unit off.

On reboot, all was well; it looks like I have the right screen calibration back.

But is that process supposed to terminate on its own somehow?
It use to terminate when it saw good hits on all dots. I don't know why there should be any trepidation in using the Screen Calibration routine(?). Mine took six "dots" to calibrate.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 06:07 PM   #9072
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
It use to terminate when it saw good hits on all dots. I don't know why there should be any trepidation in using the Screen Calibration routine(?). Mine took six "dots" to calibrate.
Well mine is an early Montana, and didn't many of the early ones get recalled because they wouldn't calibrate? I had never calibrated it even once before now.

Just tried it again and it never completed calibration no matter how often I tried.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.

Emmbeedee screwed with this post 08-06-2013 at 06:14 PM
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 06:13 PM   #9073
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Well mine is an early Montana, and didn't many of the early ones get recalled because they wouldn't calibrate? I had never calibrated it even once before now.
Ohhhhhh....probably should have sent it back when it as still under warrantee. Maybe if you call Product Support and explain the circumstances of it being an early production unit that is just now failing Screen Cal, they might exchange it.

Would be worth a try.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 06:15 PM   #9074
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Ohhhhhh....probably should have sent it back when it as still under warrantee. Maybe if you call Product Support and explain the circumstances of it being an early production unit that is just now failing Screen Cal, they might exchange it.

Would be worth a try.
I'm going to try that.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 06:19 PM   #9075
BruceWA
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Oddometer: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
In case anyone thinks going back to 4.7 is necessary for any reason, I am on 5.10 and it's working just fine. And on my wife's 650 as well.

I didn't go to 5.20 as I doubt I'll need the Icelandic keyboard anytime soon.
I just recently reverted to 4.9 from 5.2. Is there a good reason for me to go back to 4.7? The issues I've had, so far, have been the losing reception in the FAST mode.
__________________
Figures don't lie, but liars can figure
BruceWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014