ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 252 votes, 4.89 average. Display Modes
Old 09-27-2013, 02:19 PM   #9481
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
One thing you didn't share with us is, what Map are you using?
Which map on the Montana, and which map in BaseCamp when you create the route?
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 02:21 PM   #9482
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
I don't mean to sound argumentative regarding your conclusion. It's your call. As for the routing issue, there is a lot of data in a route even one with only Start and End Points. If you're using Direct Routes, then I would agree it is the Unit at fault. If you are using Along-road Routes, the shaping data can cause lots of issues that can be the fault of the unit code, the map data or the shaping data created by the map data in BaseCamp. One thing you didn't share with us is, what Map are you using?
I have the latest City Nav whichever that one is.

I create a map by testing it out in BC using automobile routing. If it goes the way I want it to, I'll delete that route and change the profile to Direct, then create the route again. Then I put the Montana in Rec profile (uses Direct routing) and transfer the new route.

Here's what the screen looked like when it balked:







After several master resets, I called Garmin. Of course they have no idea why it's doing that and wanted me to send it in for repair. I was in the first week of a 5 week trip. Couldn't do it. And if I do end up sending it in, it's going to cost me the full charge for repair because it's now out of warranty. Since it works if I don't use BC, I'll save that money for when something happens that renders it totally unusable.


PS. It also did a white screen in that whole fiasco too.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 02:22 PM   #9483
johnpitts01
Studly Adventurer
 
johnpitts01's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Philly
Oddometer: 973
"Hunting" at stops

It's probably been posted here somewhere.....

The map screen on my Montana seems to "hunt" when I am stopped.
I have oreintation locked in landscape mode.
At a stop the map will rotate every second or so. anywhere from 5 degrees to as much as 90 degrees. My location arrow is the center of rotation. As soon as I begin moving the screen settles down and everything is fine. This is not really a problem, just annoying.

Curoius though that I dont see this in the car, on a bicycle, while walking or hiking. ONLY on the motorcycle.

Any thoughts from the collective?

I thought as an experiment I would change to Auto or Bicycle profile while on the motorcycle to see if it specific to some setting in the motorcycle profile or if it is due to being mounted on the motorcycle.

John
johnpitts01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 02:22 PM   #9484
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
Which map on the Montana, and which map in BaseCamp when you create the route?
Hold on and I'll go look up the exact version.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 02:25 PM   #9485
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 476
Both are CN North America NT 2013.4.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 02:25 PM   #9486
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsatyr View Post
I create a map by testing it out in BC using automobile routing. If it goes the way I want it to, I'll delete that route and change the profile to Direct, then create the route again.
Don't do this.

Just change the currently created route from 'Automotive' (or whatever you used) to 'Direct' and select 'Recalculate'. When it finishes, send the route to your Montana.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 02:29 PM   #9487
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnpitts01 View Post
It's probably been posted here somewhere.....

The map screen on my Montana seems to "hunt" when I am stopped.
I have oreintation locked in landscape mode.
At a stop the map will rotate every second or so. anywhere from 5 degrees to as much as 90 degrees. My location arrow is the center of rotation. As soon as I begin moving the screen settles down and everything is fine. This is not really a problem, just annoying.

Curoius though that I dont see this in the car, on a bicycle, while walking or hiking. ONLY on the motorcycle.

Any thoughts from the collective?

I thought as an experiment I would change to Auto or Bicycle profile while on the motorcycle to see if it specific to some setting in the motorcycle profile or if it is due to being mounted on the motorcycle.

John
Sounds like Bug 07 to me :)
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 02:31 PM   #9488
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 476
Oh yeah, meant to tell you that it did the shutdown-when-viewing-elevation-chart thing too. But I new that was an issue that others were having and was just waiting for an update to fix that. An update came out while I was on my trip and I'm just now updating it now.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 02:32 PM   #9489
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
Don't do this.

Just change the currently created route from 'Automotive' (or whatever you used) to 'Direct' and select 'Recalculate'. When it finishes, send the route to your Montana.

I was being extra cautious.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 02:35 PM   #9490
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsatyr View Post
Oh yeah, meant to tell you that it did the shutdown-when-viewing-elevation-chart thing too. But I new that was an issue that others were having and was just waiting for an update to fix that. An update came out while I was on my trip and I'm just now updating it now.
The current Montana firmware (v5.30) does not resolve the Landscape Elevation Crash.

The Oregon 6xx also experienced this same bug, and was just corrected today with firmware 3.20, which created so many new crashes that Garmin removed it from the server less than two hours after releasing it.

Who knows when Garmin will get around to fixing the Montana.... If ever.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 02:45 PM   #9491
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
The current Montana firmware (v5.30) does not resolve the Landscape Elevation Crash.

The Oregon 6xx also experienced this same bug, and was just corrected today with firmware 3.20, which created so many new crashes that Garmin removed it from the server less than two hours after releasing it.

Who knows when Garmin will get around to fixing the Montana.... If ever.


I think they may have already released a new one. I just updated to 5.4.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 02:56 PM   #9492
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 476
I was able to view the Elevation Plot with no issues.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 03:02 PM   #9493
klinquist
übergeek
 
klinquist's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Oddometer: 1,094
5.4 listed fixes:

Improved pairing behavior with cadence sensors
Fixed Latvian keyboard
Fixed issue with reordering the list of profiles in Setup > Profiles
Fixed possible shutdown when viewing the Elevation Plot in landscape orientation
Fixed possible shutdown when selecting a route in the Route Planner application
Fixed possible shutdown when exiting the Photo Viewer application
Fixed possible issue with the Geocaching dashboard
__________________
My 2013 Tiger 800 "Off-Roadie" (plate GETLOZT) - My 2003 DRZ (plate LV DRT RD) - My 2003 E350 Adventure Van (plate ADV VAN) - Amateur Radio W1ADV
klinquist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 03:02 PM   #9494
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsatyr View Post
I think they may have already released a new one. I just updated to 5.4.
How about that :)
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 03:04 PM   #9495
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
How about that :)

Luck o' the draw. I knew 5.3 came out while I was gone and I was just getting to downloading my tracks and pics and such off the Montana. Up popped 5.4 as the latest and greatest.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014