ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 64 votes, 4.58 average. Display Modes
Old 01-21-2014, 03:27 PM   #10291
SteveAZ
Beastly Adventurer
 
SteveAZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: AZ
Oddometer: 1,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickW909 View Post
Ok, thanks for info about having the same segments in different maps, wasn't aware if that and will check it.

I was aware of the 4000 segment limit, I doubt I have anymore than 4000 segments in any of the .img's.

Thanks,

Nick.
Try the javawa device manager if you haven't already. It identified the source of some of the problems I had...
SteveAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 04:34 PM   #10292
AugustFalcon OP
Studly Adventurer
 
AugustFalcon's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Waterford, Connecticut U.S.A.
Oddometer: 995
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickW909 View Post
...I was aware of the 4000 segment limit, I doubt I have anymore than 4000 segments in any of the .img's.

Thanks,

Nick.
That limit is for the TOTAL number of segments from all maps on the device

Sent from my Kindle Fire using Tapatalk 2
__________________
cheers... jack

04 BMW R1100S
02 KTM 250 Exc Racing


SmugMug referral code: jXF8ohDWlTm56
AugustFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 06:12 PM   #10293
kbroderick
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Vermont's Mad River Valley
Oddometer: 681
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickW909 View Post
OK, so I have loaded four OSM map files onto the SD card and renamed each of the files.

If I remove the map file that is working then one of the other map files works correctly, I can see the roads etc, but the others remaining only display the contour lines.....

I've tried editing the map name with a Hex editor, that doesn't help.
There's a map ID encoded separately from the name, and all OSM maps from the same source default to the same map family ID. The Javawa tools can change this, I believe.
kbroderick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 06:39 AM   #10294
True North
Adventurer
 
True North's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Savage,MN weekends in Park Rapids,MN
Oddometer: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
Please try this and report result:
I will try this and report back on Saturday.
True North is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 08:23 AM   #10295
NickW909
Gnarly Adventurer
 
NickW909's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: U.K.
Oddometer: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveAZ View Post
Try the javawa device manager if you haven't already. It identified the source of some of the problems I had...
OK, thanks for the info about javawa, it found the problem....

The problem is indeed a conflict in the name of the tiles.

All the regions created by osm2garmin share some tile names that are the same, in the format of 70000001.img etc

Can't see anywhere to change this within osm2garmin??



Nick.
NickW909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 12:32 PM   #10296
NickW909
Gnarly Adventurer
 
NickW909's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: U.K.
Oddometer: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickW909 View Post
OK, thanks for the info about javawa, it found the problem....

The problem is indeed a conflict in the name of the tiles.

All the regions created by osm2garmin share some tile names that are the same, in the format of 70000001.img etc

Can't see anywhere to change this within osm2garmin??



Nick.

Just in case someone else has this problem.......

Osm2garmin creates all maps with some of the map tiles using the same name sequence starting at 70000001.img, so having several maps loaded onto the GPS at the same time is not possible if you created them using osm2garmin.

The developer will look into changing this in a future release. I have used osm2garmin a few time now and it works well, a few teething probs getting it going, but I like it.

Solution: Have several map files in the root directory of the SD card and only one at a time in the /Garmin directory. Use a laptop or phone to move the map files around.

I suppose I should really get into the command line of splitter and mkgmap etc., but can't be arsed with that....

Thanks for the replies.


Nick.
NickW909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 04:10 PM   #10297
ramz
Professional Trail Rider
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Salida, CO
Oddometer: 1,880
Will OSM Combiner make maps correctly?

http://www.javawa.nl/osmcombiner_en.html


ramz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 12:41 AM   #10298
JD
Gnarly Adventurer
 
JD's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Canberra
Oddometer: 346
Question Sun visor?

Just wondering if anybody has found a sun visor that fits the Montana while it's in the rugged mount, or made one?

The last ride I did was a bit of a struggle to see the screen at times, so just looking for ideas to take off some of the glare.
JD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 04:41 AM   #10299
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Just wondering if anybody has found a sun visor that fits the Montana while it's in the rugged mount, or made one?

The last ride I did was a bit of a struggle to see the screen at times, so just looking for ideas to take off some of the glare.
Did you use one of the screen protectors which came with the Rugged Mount on your Montana? I find with the screen protector, there's very little glare most of the time.

I haven't seen a commercially produced shade for the Montana, though it wouldn't be hard to make one.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 05:46 AM   #10300
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 7,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
I haven't seen a commercially produced shade for the Montana, though it wouldn't be hard to make one.
For the simple fact that people use the Montana in both portrait and landscape modes, it would be a bit difficult to come up with a commercial shade that would be able to accomodate both and not look like ass.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 06:50 AM   #10301
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
For the simple fact that people use the Montana in both portrait and landscape modes, it would be a bit difficult to come up with a commercial shade that would be able to accomodate both and not look like ass.
I don't know about you but most people run their Montanas either in Landscape or Portrait, and not alternating between them, so making two different shades would make sense.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 10:32 AM   #10302
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 7,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
I don't know about you but most people run their Montanas either in Landscape or Portrait, and not alternating between them, so making two different shades would make sense.
That's what I mean someone would have to make two different shades. Having been in the manufacturing business I can tell you, I'd prefer NOT to have to make two items for something, when I can make one item for another. Much better ROI. I'm guessing that's the reason why no one is making em ATM.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 11:02 AM   #10303
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramz View Post
Will OSM Combiner make maps correctly?

http://www.javawa.nl/osmcombiner_en.html


I suppose that depends upon what your definition of "correctly" is.

The folks at JaVaWa have done a very nice job of creating an application that will enable you to combine OSM Garmin compiled map tiles into a single map. You still have the device limits as to how many tiles the device will support and total map file size. Combiner just eliminates duplicate map tiles (among other things) which can and usually do cause issues.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 11:05 AM   #10304
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Just wondering if anybody has found a sun visor that fits the Montana while it's in the rugged mount, or made one?

The last ride I did was a bit of a struggle to see the screen at times, so just looking for ideas to take off some of the glare.
The Montana display is highly optimized to use direct sunlight to brighten the display. If you are having glare issues, try using one of the Anti-glare screen protectors as Emmbeedee has suggested. Shading your display will just decrease visibility in direct sunlight.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 06:22 PM   #10305
JD
Gnarly Adventurer
 
JD's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Canberra
Oddometer: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Did you use one of the screen protectors which came with the Rugged Mount on your Montana? I find with the screen protector, there's very little glare most of the time.

I haven't seen a commercially produced shade for the Montana, though it wouldn't be hard to make one.
Yep, got one of the glare protectors fitted that came with the rugged mounts.

It's probably more pronounced at the moment because it's the height of summer here and very dry, so as a film of dust builds up on the display it gets even harder to read in the bright sunshine.

There doesn't seem to be anything commercially available so I might try reshaping a couple of old visors I have lying around from car GPS units.

Thanks for the replies.
JD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014