ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 231 votes, 4.88 average. Display Modes
Old 02-12-2014, 03:55 PM   #10411
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
There is no internal fuse. There is a Power Management circuit and firmware that will attempt to cut off the input voltage should it exceeds the specified range.
As stated above by AZ Steve, fuses are used to protect a down stream power distribution wire that is smaller then an up stream fuse.

Very few loads have built in fuses in these days. Possibly it was required at one time by the guys that certify 110 volt appliances. In the case of radios and things that are powered from a 20 amp fuse by #12 wire but only draw and amp or so and therefore have very small wire just inside the unit and could actually catch fire with a 18 Amp soft fault that did not open the 20 Amp supply fuse.

In the case of vehicle wiring, almost all faults are hard faults and should open any upstream fuse however for very small loads like a GPS that use a 20 or 22 AWG feed wire, the wire could get very hot before a large 5-10 Amp fuse opens and therefore should have a fuse to match the small wire or better 1.5x the load.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 04:33 PM   #10412
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
As stated above by AZ Steve, fuses are used to protect a down stream power distribution wire that is smaller then an up stream fuse.

Very few loads have built in fuses in these days. Possibly it was required at one time by the guys that certify 110 volt appliances. In the case of radios and things that are powered from a 20 amp fuse by #12 wire but only draw and amp or so and therefore have very small wire just inside the unit and could actually catch fire with a 18 Amp soft fault that did not open the 20 Amp supply fuse.

In the case of vehicle wiring, almost all faults are hard faults and should open any upstream fuse however for very small loads like a GPS that use a 20 or 22 AWG feed wire, the wire could get very hot before a large 5-10 Amp fuse opens and therefore should have a fuse to match the small wire or better 1.5x the load.
With degrees in EE, ME and Wildlife Ecology (I know, I know) and having worked in the DoD and Commercial Computing Industries for over 37yrs, it's only Jerry that I would allow to lecture me on circuit loads.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 05:09 PM   #10413
BruceWA
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Oddometer: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
With degrees in EE, ME and Wildlife Ecology (I know, I know) and having worked in the DoD and Commercial Computing Industries for over 37yrs, it's only Jerry that I would allow to lecture me on circuit loads.
Now that is funny!!
__________________
Figures don't lie, but liars can figure
BruceWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 06:44 AM   #10414
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,940
Vibration makes USB cord connections flaky. Avoid.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 02:03 PM   #10415
TEX5
n00b
 
Joined: Sep 2013
Oddometer: 4
Montana 600 Help

Does anybody know how to get this screen on the montana 600 ?







Thanks to all for making the learning curve easier.
TEX5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 02:13 PM   #10416
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by TEX5 View Post
Does anybody know how to get this screen on the montana 600 ?







Thanks to all for making the learning curve easier.
Open the Drawer and touch the Trip Computer Icon is one way.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 02:18 PM   #10417
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by TEX5 View Post
Does anybody know how to get this screen on the montana 600 ?
Setup>Map> Dashboard> Automotive

Have a look at http://garminmontanagpsr.wikispaces.com/Features

This may answer most of your questions.
__________________
2010 Yamaha TW200
2014 BMW R1200 GS WC
Rocky TFS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 05:50 PM   #10418
Cataract2
Where to?
 
Cataract2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: N. Charleston, SC
Oddometer: 1,545
Noooooooooooo!!!!!

Sigh, my Montana went nuts today when I connected it via USB to my computer. Had to perform a master reset to get it to connect at all and found out that I lost my garmin, profiles folder. So, base map is gone along with other languages, etc. Of course, I was dumb and didn't backup my unit. So, how to I recover the unit's base files? It fires up fine and works, just has missing pieces from the original setup.
__________________
People who get made because they're old, haven't lived.
Cataract2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 06:06 PM   #10419
ramz
Professional Trail Rider
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Salida, CO
Oddometer: 1,975
Buy a Montana on Amazon or REI.

Copy the files you need, or ALL of them.

Return the Montana for full refund. If its walk-in at REI, you won't have to pay shipping.


Put the files somewhere on DropBox and tell us so we can get them if we need to.

You could be up by tomorrow after lunch.....

ramz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 06:11 PM   #10420
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,114
I might be wrong but I think someone here (Atlas ???) has those files (or almost all of them) posted on the Internet someplace.

Hopefully they will chime in soon and you'll be up and running in no time.

Jon…
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 06:11 PM   #10421
TowPro
Getting there
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 2,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cataract2 View Post
Noooooooooooo!!!!!

Sigh, my Montana went nuts today when I connected it via USB to my computer. Had to perform a master reset to get it to connect at all and found out that I lost my garmin, profiles folder. So, base map is gone along with other languages, etc. Of course, I was dumb and didn't backup my unit. So, how to I recover the unit's base files? It fires up fine and works, just has missing pieces from the original setup.
I needed to reload stock profiles once, someone hear supplied them to me on a shared internet link.
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 06:41 PM   #10422
Cataract2
Where to?
 
Cataract2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: N. Charleston, SC
Oddometer: 1,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by TowPro View Post
I needed to reload stock profiles once, someone hear supplied them to me on a shared internet link.
Certainly wouldn't turn down the help. Wish I knew what went wrong. Unit is working fine again. Something got corrupted. Went ahead and updated to 5.7 since it was fubared already.
__________________
People who get made because they're old, haven't lived.
Cataract2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 10:18 AM   #10423
BobM
DualSport
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Burlington, ON or Tucson, AZ
Oddometer: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
I might be wrong but I think someone here (Atlas ???) has those files (or almost all of them) posted on the Internet someplace. …
The site you refer to Atlas's Montana Wiki and it's worth reminding new users here that it's really a first-stop for Montana Issues - it has everything you need related to a Montana - EXCEPT a backup copy of a new Montana internal memory, possibly for copywrite reasons.

Heres the link: http://garminmontanagpsr.wikispaces.com/

Bob
BobM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 10:46 AM   #10424
Cataract2
Where to?
 
Cataract2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: N. Charleston, SC
Oddometer: 1,545
Yeah, been through that site. Will call customer service today to see if there is a way to have them push down the data needed. I have no intention of sending the unit to them when it's just a small amount of files. (Not like I need other languages or the base map to have the unit just work.) Unless someone could push said files down to me.
__________________
People who get made because they're old, haven't lived.
Cataract2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 07:18 AM   #10425
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cataract2 View Post
Yeah, been through that site. Will call customer service today to see if there is a way to have them push down the data needed. I have no intention of sending the unit to them when it's just a small amount of files. (Not like I need other languages or the base map to have the unit just work.) Unless someone could push said files down to me.
The Montana wiki has many of the files you seek. The remaining files can be obtained via Garmin Express.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014