ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 192 votes, 4.86 average. Display Modes
Old 03-02-2014, 11:21 AM   #10516
advrdr
Mark
 
advrdr's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Oddometer: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmmEff View Post
I didn't go back in the thread far enough... yeah, I was able to click on it in Safari and the GPX file is saved. Not sure why his browser is trying to download PHP.
Ok so I put GPS down for a while and tried again, so now the waypoints are on the Montana. I was looking for a route or track...should I have a route or track on the device?

Thanks

Edit I found a route but its straight lines...

Edit again it show up now...Thanks again!!!!
__________________
'14 1200GSW
'06 KDX 200
MOA #111123
AMA Charter Life Member
advrdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 11:27 AM   #10517
SteveAZ
Beastly Adventurer
 
SteveAZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: AZ
Oddometer: 1,156
Try just clicking on:

LINK

Don't do anything else like a right click, just click on it....
SteveAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 11:45 AM   #10518
advrdr
Mark
 
advrdr's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Oddometer: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveAZ View Post
Try just clicking on:

LINK

Don't do anything else like a right click, just click on it....
I did and it opened as php. file and it wants to open in basecamp...
__________________
'14 1200GSW
'06 KDX 200
MOA #111123
AMA Charter Life Member
advrdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 12:29 PM   #10519
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 457
I'm using Chrome; it downloaded a gpx file for me.

advrdr, sounds like you need a different browser.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 10:41 PM   #10520
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,356
Does manually changing the .php in the file name to .gpx fix the problem?

Bruce
mcnut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 07:11 AM   #10521
SteveAZ
Beastly Adventurer
 
SteveAZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: AZ
Oddometer: 1,156
Oh well. You have issues. Make sure you save the file and then open it manually in bc instead of letting the browser try to open bc.

Every browser I tried (including exploder) will give me the option to save the .gpx when that link is clicked on.

Try a different browser?
SteveAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 07:22 AM   #10522
USAIR
picking and riding
 
USAIR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Northern Kentucky
Oddometer: 1,223
File worked just fine with Firefox.

Fred
__________________
2013 WR250R 2007 Wee
www.riverbendphotos.com
YouTube feed
Wallpaper for Montana GPSr
Beware of the Wallnut
USAIR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 08:53 AM   #10523
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,965
Probably an anti-virus issue. BitDefender or Symantec to the rescue.


Sent using strings and tin cans and Tapatalk.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 09:24 AM   #10524
advrdr
Mark
 
advrdr's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Oddometer: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by USAIR View Post
File worked just fine with Firefox.

Fred

I used firefox lastnight and it worked good so it must have been a IE problem.

Thanks for all your help!!!
__________________
'14 1200GSW
'06 KDX 200
MOA #111123
AMA Charter Life Member
advrdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 12:22 PM   #10525
Bonerov
Damned dirty ape
 
Bonerov's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Oddometer: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by advrdr View Post
I used firefox lastnight and it worked good so it must have been a IE problem.

Thanks for all your help!!!
Now, apologize to your poor little Montana. Its feelings are likely hurt and an apology will go a long way....
Bonerov is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 01:01 PM   #10526
srad600
Studly Adventurer
 
srad600's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Oakland, Kalli Fornia
Oddometer: 631
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
Garmin always instructs users to return defective devices with uSD cards, cables, etc removed. Only send the GPSr.

I have sent devices for repair/replacement more times than I can count, and every time they are very clear about this policy. I suspect the email they sent you with instructions and a Return Authorization Number were clear about this.

You have no reason to rant about Garmin.
There was no e-mail, I received the return instructions and RMA number over the telephone, and the guy never instructed me to remove anything.

To that end, I'm not going to worry myself over it, I spoke with Garmin today and they said basically "you're not getting it back", (much nicer than that of course), I'm going to consider it a $20 fee for a new device and move on.

Still sucks about losing the Bicimaps though.


EDIT: FYI, that was not a rant...that was more like "This sucks for me, don't do this". Browse around Jo Momma if you want to see a rant.
srad600 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 03:15 PM   #10527
rickypanecatyl
SE Asia adventure tours
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Oddometer: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
Garmin always instructs users to return defective devices with uSD cards, cables, etc removed. Only send the GPSr.

I have sent devices for repair/replacement more times than I can count, and every time they are very clear about this policy. I suspect the email they sent you with instructions and a Return Authorization Number were clear about this.

You have no reason to rant about Garmin.
Sounds like you have good cause to rant about Garmin though!
rickypanecatyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 01:12 PM   #10528
MJS
Beastly Adventurer
 
MJS's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Ventura, CA
Oddometer: 1,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by srad600 View Post

Still sucks about losing the Bicimaps though.
Send an email to Bicimaps. I had to replace my 376c (years ago) and they were willing to transfer the maps to my new unit. IIRC, I just sent them some proof of the replacement (Garmin email, RMA, etc) and they issued a new unlock code.

It's worth a try.
__________________
"You can follow me, but it's gonna hurt"
MJS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 09:41 PM   #10529
srad600
Studly Adventurer
 
srad600's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Oakland, Kalli Fornia
Oddometer: 631
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJS View Post
Send an email to Bicimaps. I had to replace my 376c (years ago) and they were willing to transfer the maps to my new unit. IIRC, I just sent them some proof of the replacement (Garmin email, RMA, etc) and they issued a new unlock code.

It's worth a try.
Yeah, I had the same thought. I e-mailed them last week, and again today, no response yet. I'm not holding my breath, but I can't see buying from them again.

EDIT: The folks at Bicimaps did eventually agree to get me a new unlock code for the maps to go with the new unit, so that was pretty cool.

srad600 screwed with this post 03-18-2014 at 05:09 PM
srad600 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 08:37 AM   #10530
MisterMR
But you can call me Mr.
 
MisterMR's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: El Dorado Hills, CA
Oddometer: 110
I think the title of this bundle is a bit misleading. Under "What's Included In The Box", you get:
•Garmin City Navigator North America NT DVD
•Garmin nuMaps North America Lifetime Updates
•DaneElec 4GB microSD Data Card with SD Adapter

Note that the SD card is not described as a pre-programmed map card.

The LMU is just a run-of-the-mill LMU for downloading future updates and installing them into your unit's internal memory.

Just like any other non-map SD card that you bought from a local dealer, it would appear that the SD card will only come into play during map updates (and the initial DVD download?) if your unit does not have sufficient memory to load the maps into the internal memory: Garmin Express and map updates

Even GPSCIty's answer to the 3rd Q&A ("Cheaper when components bought separately?") seems to indicate that this is nothing more than a bundle and not something special: "The package does not include anything extra. It is currently cheaper to purchase the items individually."
MisterMR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014