ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 147 votes, 4.82 average. Display Modes
Old 03-20-2014, 11:25 AM   #10636
rmcnelly
Adventurer
 
rmcnelly's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Oddometer: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveAZ View Post
The unit's data transfer speed is anemic. I get *much* faster transfer speeds with my integrated readers....

I went ahead and transferred them with the card in the Montana. Actually I was very surprised with how fast they transferred. It was fast enough for me.

But then City Navigator NT map upgrade became available and I didn't know how to transfer it over. So I deleted everything on the SD card from within BaseCamp and reinstalled all the tracks and waypoints with the new map.

Is there a way to just move over the new map set?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
--Rick
'12 Goldwing
rmcnelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 11:57 AM   #10637
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmcnelly View Post
I went ahead and transferred them with the card in the Montana. Actually I was very surprised with how fast they transferred. It was fast enough for me.
The Montana's USB port is actually relatively fast, for USB. If you were used to the port on a 60CSx, you would know what slow is.

Re: your map upgrade - you use MapInstall to send the map over. If you used Basecamp, it would have called MapInstall to do the work but it's easier to just use MapInstall on its own.

You should check out the Garmin Wiki for map installation info.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 04:36 PM   #10638
rmcnelly
Adventurer
 
rmcnelly's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Oddometer: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
The Montana's USB port is actually relatively fast, for USB. If you were used to the port on a 60CSx, you would know what slow is.

Re: your map upgrade - you use MapInstall to send the map over. If you used Basecamp, it would have called MapInstall to do the work but it's easier to just use MapInstall on its own.

You should check out the Garmin Wiki for map installation info.
Ha! Yes, I used to have a 60Cx and know what slow is ;-)

Thanks for pointing me to the link, it was very helpful!
__________________
--Rick
'12 Goldwing
rmcnelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 09:48 PM   #10639
SteveAZ
Beastly Adventurer
 
SteveAZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: AZ
Oddometer: 1,131
Relatively fast!

Funny guys......


SD in the floptana:




Internal floptana:




SD in cheap ass USB reader:

SteveAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 09:29 PM   #10640
bighopper
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Central Alberta Canada
Oddometer: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
5.70 is working well for me. Only you can decide if the changes listed below are necessary to you.

This is the changelog:

Firmware 5.70:

Added support for additional ActiveRouting cartography
Improved display of marine-specific lines in BlueChart g2 maps
Improved boot time when large amounts of photos are present
Fixed issue retrieving PLSS data in certain TOPO US 24k maps
Fixed possible issue with +/- buttons when using Sight N' Go
Fixed possible issue with the Distance to Destination data field in nuvi mode
Did they fix the problem with not being able to open installed registered maps?

Thanks
__________________
I Just Like To Ride
'03 BMW R1150GSA
'06 BMW K1200LT
bighopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 10:20 PM   #10641
Timmer
Beastly Adventurer
 
Timmer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Burien, WA
Oddometer: 2,269
Installed 5.70

A few days ago I downloaded and installed version 5.70 of the firmware as well as the latest maps (CNNT 2014.4). So far everything is going well, and this installation was the easiest of any of my recent ones. I even updated my 2595 and it went well also.
__________________
Tim in Burien, WA
'05 R1200GS '03 F650GS
'08 WR250R
'03 Wing
'01 ST1100
Timmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 02:58 AM   #10642
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by bighopper View Post
Did they fix the problem with not being able to open installed registered maps?

Thanks
Yes, Garmin took out the new map authentication software from version 5.70.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 08:20 AM   #10643
Ridin'nFishin
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Oddometer: 423
While learning my new 600 and Base Camp I noticed that I have to redraw everything in Base Camp. I have a micro sd card with 98 routes on it that I drew in Mapsourse and when I put it in the 600 it was all screwed up. Same with my routes in Mapsourse when I imported them to Base Camp, all screwed up.

Is this the case or am I doing something wrong?
__________________
Riding a Motorcycle is like flying like a Eagle without ever leaving the ground.
Ridin'nFishin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 08:22 AM   #10644
Yossarian™
Deputy Cultural Attaché
 
Yossarian™'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: the 'Ha
Oddometer: 9,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ridin'nFishin View Post
While learning my new 600 and Base Camp I noticed that I have to redraw everything in Base Camp. I have a micro sd card with 98 routes on it that I drew in Mapsourse and when I put it in the 600 it was all screwed up. Same with my routes in Mapsourse when I imported them to Base Camp, all screwed up.

Is this the case or am I doing something wrong?
Eschew use of Mapsource when interfacing with the Montana.
__________________
Successfully surviving motorcycling since 1976.
Yossarian™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 09:05 AM   #10645
team ftb
Befuddled Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Lost in the jungles of Thailand
Oddometer: 1,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ridin'nFishin View Post
While learning my new 600 and Base Camp I noticed that I have to redraw everything in Base Camp. I have a micro sd card with 98 routes on it that I drew in Mapsourse and when I put it in the 600 it was all screwed up. Same with my routes in Mapsourse when I imported them to Base Camp, all screwed up.

Is this the case or am I doing something wrong?
Not sure if it's the same but when converting tracks from mapsource to Basecamp I just copied and pasted from Mapsource to Basecamp, then saved the Basecamp file and all the Tracks saved fine.

With routes on thing you'll have to make sure is that your GPS, Maposource and Basecamp have all the routing commands programmed the same. Best of luck.
__________________
Cheers,
Team FTB
------------------
Team "Fingering The Bean"

Looking for the woman that takes the wheel when I'm seeing double.
team ftb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 09:52 AM   #10646
Ridin'nFishin
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Oddometer: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by team ftb View Post
Not sure if it's the same but when converting tracks from mapsource to Basecamp I just copied and pasted from Mapsource to Basecamp, then saved the Basecamp file and all the Tracks saved fine.

With routes on thing you'll have to make sure is that your GPS, Maposource and Basecamp have all the routing commands programmed the same. Best of luck.
My tracks worked great, but routes did not. Spent some time trying to set the routing commands and that worked somewhat, part of a route would correct it self and part did other stupid stuff (I could be the stupid stuff), that is when I figured out I have to redraw all my routes,.I have some work ahead of me. On the good side ,by time I get thru with a couple of hundred routes I should know how to work Base Camp without it pissing me off.
__________________
Riding a Motorcycle is like flying like a Eagle without ever leaving the ground.
Ridin'nFishin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 01:15 PM   #10647
bighopper
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Central Alberta Canada
Oddometer: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ridin'nFishin View Post
My tracks worked great, but routes did not. Spent some time trying to set the routing commands and that worked somewhat, part of a route would correct it self and part did other stupid stuff (I could be the stupid stuff), that is when I figured out I have to redraw all my routes,.I have some work ahead of me. On the good side ,by time I get thru with a couple of hundred routes I should know how to work Base Camp without it pissing me off.
I just got back from 16 days in Mexico (Baja, Copper Canyon etc) & I recorded my tracks everyday & saved them. On returning home copied them to my PC & Basecamp..looking at them & creating Routes from the Tracks a few of the Tracks when creating Routes were a mess..points way off the road we traveled or points were on the opposite side on a divided hwy a created a U turn for the Route . My guess is that the Mexico map of CNNA is very in accurate.
Really is a pain to fix as moving or deleting one point the system has to recalculate!
__________________
I Just Like To Ride
'03 BMW R1150GSA
'06 BMW K1200LT
bighopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 06:44 PM   #10648
Rydah
Remember the Night Rydah!
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Clear Lake, TX
Oddometer: 209
Windows 8 .php?

I've recently moved to Windows 8, but I notice that no matter what format people post gps links as (.gpx, .gdb, etc.), when I try to open or save, they show up as a .php file, and Basecamp can't open these. So each time, I have to do a file conversion (which is also a pain in the neck with Win8). Is there something I can do to not have to do this each time?
__________________
----------------------------
"The Night Rydah.. remember him, when you look at the night sky" - Toecutter
Rob
2006 Honda XR650R - Plated
2012 Suzuki 650 Vstrom
Rydah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 06:49 PM   #10649
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rydah View Post
I've recently moved to Windows 8, but I notice that no matter what format people post gps links as (.gpx, .gdb, etc.), when I try to open or save, they show up as a .php file, and Basecamp can't open these. So each time, I have to do a file conversion (which is also a pain in the neck with Win8). Is there something I can do to not have to do this each time?
Use Chrome or Firefox instead of IE.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 07:05 PM   #10650
Rydah
Remember the Night Rydah!
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Clear Lake, TX
Oddometer: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Use Chrome or Firefox instead of IE.
Wow, that was easy! Thanks. :
__________________
----------------------------
"The Night Rydah.. remember him, when you look at the night sky" - Toecutter
Rob
2006 Honda XR650R - Plated
2012 Suzuki 650 Vstrom
Rydah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014