ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-21-2011, 04:04 PM   #751
Slopez22
skooter rider
 
Slopez22's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Paris, tn
Oddometer: 220
search

Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
Open the app and click search. Are the maps you are looking for there? I've never seen this so its hard to guess. Also can you tell me where you are searching as exactly as possible.
when I open the app, click on search, there is nothing there, my history, that is all, under the dsm there is nadda
__________________
TAT or parts of it
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showt...2#post10061942
Slopez22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 04:11 PM   #752
c.vestal
Rally On
 
c.vestal's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: COS
Oddometer: 4,866
Just downloaded the update for ICS. Running on Galaxy Nexus and on older Galaxy S. I downloaded the Argentina map and POI from the initial choices. (I am in BA for the start of the Dakar) I do not have data on the Galaxy Nexus so the offline capabilities has been very helpful.

I need to make adjustments to the Background services and Monitoring settings. Out of the box the tracking is spotty due to this and my gps turning off when I put the phone in Sleep mode. (all settings I need to do, not an issue with the app.)

Overall working great. I look forward to getting the time to fine tune the performance.
c.vestal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 04:15 PM   #753
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,260
If you can hit the back button, then it isn't frozen...
I've never seen this. I just verified that the latest version will load a track around Nashville on both my Gingerbread phone and my ICS phone. Things are looking good.

Verify that you have "Use Internet" checked in Settings=>General. Beyond that I've got no ideas at the moment and I'm about to hit the road so I'm checking out until tomorrow. Hope you figure it out. A reinstall wont hurt you... The Base Map is not relevant to this though, so don't worry about that.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 02:14 PM   #754
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,260
The ICS version is better, you will like it. Get a photo of DSM at Dakar and post it up. Also thank Ned for his great video s and suspension guide. I have and use all 3.

Quote:
Originally Posted by c.vestal View Post
Just downloaded the update for ICS. Running on Galaxy Nexus and on older Galaxy S. I downloaded the Argentina map and POI from the initial choices. (I am in BA for the start of the Dakar) I do not have data on the Galaxy Nexus so the offline caVBpabilities has been very helpful.

I need to make adjustments to the Background services and Monitoring settings. Out of the box the tracking is spotty due to this and my gps turning off when I put the phone in Sleep mode. (all settings I need to do, not an issue with the app.)

Overall working great. I look forward to getting the time to fine tune the performance.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 09:43 AM   #755
OhChet
n00b
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Oddometer: 7
It looks like the Samsung Note won't be in the states for a while. Im thinking of picking up one of these to mount on my bike. No contract or monthly fees. Just have to cache any extra tiles I want before heading off. Great looking 5" screen!

http://www.samsung.com/us/mobile/mp3...om_mobile=true

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
OhChet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 01:04 PM   #756
Thanantos
Ride hard.
 
Thanantos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Michigan
Oddometer: 3,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by OhChet View Post
It looks like the Samsung Note won't be in the states for a while. Im thinking of picking up one of these to mount on my bike. No contract or monthly fees. Just have to cache any extra tiles I want before heading off. Great looking 5" screen!

http://www.samsung.com/us/mobile/mp3...om_mobile=true

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
I've been checking CL for a reasonably priced Dell Streak with the same idea. No dice yet.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
__________________
2013 V-Strom
Thanantos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 03:33 PM   #757
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by OhChet View Post
It looks like the Samsung Note won't be in the states for a while. Im thinking of picking up one of these to mount on my bike. No contract or monthly fees. Just have to cache any extra tiles I want before heading off. Great looking 5" screen!

http://www.samsung.com/us/mobile/mp3...om_mobile=true

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
Don't forget about the vector maps. You can download entire states at once for offline rendering.

I am working on a kindle fire version. Its cheap and beautiful. It is not ready yet, but it will be before too long.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 04:07 PM   #758
Xcountry-Rider
Banned
 
Xcountry-Rider's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Pine Valley, California (San Diego County)
Oddometer: 912
I thought the fire didnt have gps?
Xcountry-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 04:08 PM   #759
Strega
Black is a color
 
Strega's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Oddometer: 484
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xcountry-Rider View Post
I thought the fire didnt have gps?
I believe the remote will :) woot!!
__________________
-Roger

Bikes: ['09 KTM 690 RR]['98 KTM 620 Adv]['07 WR 450F]['99 YAM R6]
Support: [Where Am I Riding][Dual Sport Moto][C.O.R.E.][Nomadic Racks][Dual Sport Maps]
Strega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 05:20 PM   #760
NordieBoy
Armature speller
 
NordieBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kiwiland
Oddometer: 7,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by OhChet View Post
It looks like the Samsung Note won't be in the states for a while. Im thinking of picking up one of these to mount on my bike. No contract or monthly fees. Just have to cache any extra tiles I want before heading off. Great looking 5" screen!

http://www.samsung.com/us/mobile/mp3...om_mobile=true

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
Love mine, but having problems getting a good case though.
I also want a case for my ZTE V9 7"
__________________
DR650 Wiki
NordieBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 06:26 PM   #761
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strega View Post
I believe the remote will :) woot!!
exactly.

merry Christmas y'all
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 07:36 PM   #762
beechum1
Beastly Adventurer
 
beechum1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Not home in Tijuana
Oddometer: 8,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
exactly.

merry Christmas y'all
if i'm pulling ~.5A just for the phone, (data,gps,nav,mp3) iis there enough power left over for the remote and is the onboard GPS, or can it be disabled if I don't need it? ORRR, is the onboard GPS going to be more efficient than the phone's GPS...
__________________
Rally Moto Kit /// Vendor Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingdutchman177 View Post
I used to say "one day" a lot. But then I got scared I would wait one day too long. So I am doing it all now
beechum1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 05:17 AM   #763
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by beechum1 View Post
if i'm pulling ~.5A just for the phone, (data,gps,nav,mp3) iis there enough power left over for the remote and is the onboard GPS, or can it be disabled if I don't need it? ORRR, is the onboard GPS going to be more efficient than the phone's GPS...
The charger I'm supplying can produce 1.5 amps @ 5V. Remember, the remote powers the phone, the phone does not power the remote.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 11:01 AM   #764
beechum1
Beastly Adventurer
 
beechum1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Not home in Tijuana
Oddometer: 8,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
The charger I'm supplying can produce 1.5 amps @ 5V. Remember, the remote powers the phone, the phone does not power the remote.
Awesome thank you.
__________________
Rally Moto Kit /// Vendor Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingdutchman177 View Post
I used to say "one day" a lot. But then I got scared I would wait one day too long. So I am doing it all now
beechum1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 07:09 PM   #765
tijuana
Farkling Around
 
tijuana's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Baja & Southern California
Oddometer: 204
My i1 Android 1.6 is not supported and the NEW Nextel Titanium with Andoid 2.1 is not either. I guess I am SOL until Nextel upgrades Android? Other than buy a Rhino, what are my alternatives?

Are there any services within dualsportmaps available to Android 1.6 or none at all?
__________________
2000 XR650R Dualsport
www.bajastarz.com
http://www.bikebandit.com Need parts or gear? Call me at 1-888-339-3888 ext 343
tijuana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014