ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2012, 09:54 PM   #841
Thanantos
Ride hard.
 
Thanantos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Michigan
Oddometer: 3,543
In all honestly, I still don't know WTF a track is, but I have a trip scheduled for June and I've created each days "routes" in Basecamp and confirmed my Garmin will give me turn by turn directions through each one.
__________________
1999 DR350SE

2013 V-Strom
Thanantos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 09:56 PM   #842
Thanantos
Ride hard.
 
Thanantos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Michigan
Oddometer: 3,543
And Google, as usual, knows all: http://gpstracklog.com/2005/12/tracks_and_rout.html
__________________
1999 DR350SE

2013 V-Strom
Thanantos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 05:12 AM   #843
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thanantos View Post
What he said.
Then the app can already do what you want. Wait till you have a GPS lock, then long click on a spot on the map. The Point on Map popup will display. Click on it. Then click "Route To" on the menu. Select "Follow" for turn by turn instructions with distance to turn and all that jazz.

What I was talking about is this same feature but based only on a track so that it works when there is no road database to rely on...That will be a cool feature.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 08:21 AM   #844
Thanantos
Ride hard.
 
Thanantos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Michigan
Oddometer: 3,543
What I want is between the two.

I created a winding route that already follows streets on DSM.com for an all pavement trip I have coming up on June. I want to pull that route up in the app (easily done) and have the app give me turn by turn directions through the route I already created.

And this is at the heart of how I would use the app. We don't have much open country here in Michigan so most DS riding is on marked dirt roads, and routes that tick tack around to stay on dirt. Would be nice if the app would give me audible info as I go instead of having to look at it to figure out where and more importantly when to turn.
__________________
1999 DR350SE

2013 V-Strom
Thanantos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 07:49 PM   #845
Thanantos
Ride hard.
 
Thanantos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Michigan
Oddometer: 3,543
Any one try this app on a Kyocera Echo, or know if it will work with the "tablet mode extension app"?
__________________
1999 DR350SE

2013 V-Strom
Thanantos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 07:17 PM   #846
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,728
Crafty - Controller Question

Hey Crafty, got a quick controller question. I haven't read this thread all the way through, but I've seen references to a controller and I watched a few you tube videos I think on your version 1.

I think you may still be working on it?

Anyway couple questions. How does it interact with the phone? BT? What profile(s) does it use?
Will the controller control the phone for other things and not just the maps? Would it be able to control my music, play, pause, FF, volume? Even if I'm already connected to an A2DP/AVCRP device, could the controller still connect?

If the controller can do more than just the maps, I would definitely be interested in a controller for more than just the map. Obviously one of the biggest issues with smart phones is gloves don't work that well (unless you add some capacitive thread) and winter/thick gloves just suck altogether. I've been using my music on my phone more while riding, but struggling with controlling it.

One of these days, I'm going to catch up on this thread. Your App looks awesome.
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R, 01 FZ1,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5: Y2l43o9LVBERU
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 07:24 PM   #847
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,173
It connects to the phone via USB (and not bluetooth) and provides power as well as instructions. The app currently will adjust music volume based on riding speed automatically if you want. The remote will also adjust audio volume by turning the knob. It doesn't pause, but you certainly can mute just by turning the volume all the way down. At present, Android doesn't have an API to control apps generically. The audio API has some hooks that I connected to for volume and it wont do anything for a random app. Did you have anything else specific in mind? I am always open to good ideas and if I can figure out how to do, it magically appears in the next version...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueLghtning View Post
Hey Crafty, got a quick controller question. I haven't read this thread all the way through, but I've seen references to a controller and I watched a few you tube videos I think on your version 1.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 07:41 PM   #848
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
It connects to the phone via USB (and not bluetooth) and provides power as well as instructions. The app currently will adjust music volume based on riding speed automatically if you want. The remote will also adjust audio volume by turning the knob. It doesn't pause, but you certainly can mute just by turning the volume all the way down. At present, Android doesn't have an API to control apps generically. The audio API has some hooks that I connected to for volume and it wont do anything for a random app. Did you have anything else specific in mind? I am always open to good ideas and if I can figure out how to do, it magically appears in the next version...
Hmm, okay wasn't thinking USB, but that works. So my next question if the controller is plugged into the phone via USB, can you still charge the phone while the controller is hooked to it? Maybe a pass through from the controller to the phone? The GPS and full back lighting definitely tend to eat phone batteries quick?

I was really just looking for a way to control the music on my phone with some sort of controller and I knew you had this one coming. Being able turn down the volume is definitely a plus. I was mostly after pause/play, FF, and volume controls.

I wasn't sure there was any kind of Android API for this or not, but figured you had some sort of idea if there was.

I'm pretty close to pulling the trigger on the DSM app, I just need to catch up on this thread, but I think it will definitely suit my needs. And you have been top notch with supporting it as I have seen.
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R, 01 FZ1,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5: Y2l43o9LVBERU
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 07:47 PM   #849
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,173
The remote charges the phone. The entire reason it is USB is so it charges the phone. I could have done BT but then you would have to charge both your phone and the remote. That seemed lame to me so I wire the remote to the battery of the bike and it charges the phone (which is SUCKING JUICE with the screen on full and the GPS running).

I think a basic audio control function would be trivial to implement. I created one for the Nook (e-reader) once so I'm pretty sure it is possible. I'll add that to the list.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueLghtning View Post
Hmm, okay wasn't thinking USB, but that works. So my next question if the controller is plugged into the phone via USB, can you still charge the phone while the controller is hooked to it? Maybe a pass through from the controller to the phone? The GPS and full back lighting definitely tend to eat phone batteries quick?

I was really just looking for a way to control the music on my phone with some sort of controller and I knew you had this one coming. Being able turn down the volume is definitely a plus. I was mostly after pause/play, FF, and volume controls.

I wasn't sure there was any kind of Android API for this or not, but figured you had some sort of idea if there was.

I'm pretty close to pulling the trigger on the DSM app, I just need to catch up on this thread, but I think it will definitely suit my needs. And you have been top notch with supporting it as I have seen.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 01:15 PM   #850
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueLghtning View Post
I wasn't sure there was any kind of Android API for this or not, but figured you had some sort of idea if there was.
There is not a universal API for media players in Android. I'm think I can slave the default Music app but beyond that it going to be spotty. I'll work on a proof of concept.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 02:21 PM   #851
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,173
BlueLightning, this works well. I have next song, previous song, pause, play, and volume all working. What kind of phone do you have?

craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 04:32 PM   #852
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,728
Crafty,

I have (two) T-mobile HTC G2's running stock Android 2.3.

Man, that rocks. I'm going to go ahead and purchase the app. You have done a wonderful job on this. I look forward to that hopefully being implemented into the app. In the mean time, I need to start playing with it and get used to it.

Are the controllers for sale, or are you still working on them? They look pretty sweet too.
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R, 01 FZ1,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5: Y2l43o9LVBERU

BlueLghtning screwed with this post 01-30-2012 at 04:40 PM
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 05:01 PM   #853
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,173
On Thursday some parts for the second (and last) old style remote are coming in. I'm going to build it up. I've got $200 in it. It is yours at cost if you are interested and willing to come to ATL test it out before you take it home. It is the same one I have on my bike. I do not know if your phone is compatible with it in the stock configuration, but Cyanogenmod 7 for your phone does work according to the source code for the latest stable build I just parsed. I won't be certain until you have a chance to try it out on your hardware, but I'm confident that it will work for you if you install CM7. This model of remote was built as a test bed and is bigger and less refined than the final version will be.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueLghtning View Post
Crafty,

I have (two) T-mobile HTC G2's running stock Android 2.3.

Man, that rocks. I'm going to go ahead and purchase the app. You have done a wonderful job on this. I look forward to that hopefully being implemented into the app. In the mean time, I need to start playing with it and get used to it.

Are the controllers for sale, or are you still working on them? They look pretty sweet too.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 07:56 AM   #854
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,173
I tested the audio remote control with some other software on my phone. It works with the Amazon Cloud Player and Pandora (pause did not with with Pandora but skip and volume do) as well. These happen to be what I've got on my phone and they work so I'm thinking that while there is no universal media API what there there is widely used. I suspect it will work with most audio playing software.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 08:47 AM   #855
Mr. Fisherman
Ray soon to be AWAY!
 
Mr. Fisherman's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Packing the bus!
Oddometer: 10,451
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
On Thursday some parts for the second (and last) old style remote are coming in. I'm going to build it up. I've got $200 in it. It is yours at cost if you are interested and willing to come to ATL test it out before you take it home. It is the same one I have on my bike. I do not know if your phone is compatible with it in the stock configuration, but Cyanogenmod 7 for your phone does work according to the source code for the latest stable build I just parsed. I won't be certain until you have a chance to try it out on your hardware, but I'm confident that it will work for you if you install CM7. This model of remote was built as a test bed and is bigger and less refined than the final version will be.
It is a sucky time to be poor... I wanted that...
Mr. Fisherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014